Painful periods: how to relieve them? Causes and advice

It's common knowledge: periods hurt! But why? What are the reasons for these menstrual pains affecting 50 to 80% of women? How can they be relieved? Are they a sign of a more serious problem? We will try to answer all your questions in this article.

What is a painful period?

Periods last between 2 and 7 days each month for several decades. This is not a small amount of time. During all these years, the sensations felt during each cycle can vary and be more or less unpleasant.

Also called dysmenorrhea, painful periods are caused by contractions of the uterus. It is an abnormal menstrual disorder, to better understand it, let's quickly go back to the way menstruation works:

  • During the cycle, the uterus is preparing to receive an embryo. The inner lining, the endometrium, thickens;
  • If there is no fertilization, the endometrium is expelled, it is the blood of the period;
  • To allow the expulsion of the endometrium, the uterus contracts. These contractions are painful. They are caused by hormones: prostaglandins.

Painful periods can be primary or secondary:

  • Primary: they occur during adolescence. At the time of the first cycles, the quantity of prostaglandins secreted by the body can be too high, which causes strong pains. This phenomenon is unpleasant, but generally not serious;
  • Secondary: menstrual pain appears later, after several cycles. This can be a sign of a problem, so it is necessary to consult a doctor or gynecologist to find the cause of these painful periods.

My period is painful: is it normal?

As explained above, period pain is not uncommon. It is caused by the contraction of the uterus to eliminate the endometrium. So it's normal... to a certain extent. If the pain is so intense that it becomes disabling, it is not normal. You should see your gynecologist.

What are the symptoms of painful periods?

In addition to pain during your period, there areother symptoms to watch out for. If you experience them, see your doctor to make sure they are not a sign of a more serious problem:

  • Severe pelvic pain in the lower abdomen, which may radiate to the back, perineum, abdomen or rectum;
  • Nausea;
  • Vomiting;
  • Very severe cramping;
  • Spasms ;
  • Headaches;
  • Iron anemia.

    What causes painful periods?

    Painful periods are caused by the contractions of the uterus thanks to prostaglandins, but they can haveother more worrying sources.

    It can be a sign ofgenital infections, such as fungus, or ofinappropriate hormonal contraception.
    It can also be caused by polyps in the uterus or ovarian disorders.

    In the most serious cases, painful periods can be caused by endometriosis. This disease is characterized by a development of uterine mucous membrane where it should not be: the fallopian tubes, the ovaries, the vagina, the bladder or the abdominal cavity.

    How can painful periods be relieved?

    In most cases, there are solutions to relieve painful periods. You can even choose between medicated or natural methods.

    Natural methods

    A hot water bottle can greatly ease the pain, as the heat relaxes the muscles of the uterine wall, which are particularly strained. You can also try relaxation or meditation exercises to work on your breath. Contrary to what you might think, sport is an ally. It helps to maintain mobility, but also the elasticity of tissues. Finally, diet plays a key role. We recommendavoiding refined sugar, caffeine oralcohol during menstruation. It is important to take vitamins, magnesium and calcium.

    Taking medication

    To soothe period-related pain, you can take non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs such as paracetamol or ibuprofen. We recommendavoiding aspirin. It thins the blood and therefore promotes bleeding. Another solution is to take or change pills. Some pills are uninterrupted and "suppress" the period. There are no more contractions of the uterus, so no more pain.

    When should I see a doctor about painful periods?

    When your period becomes very painful even though you have been menstruating for several years, you should consult a doctor. The same applies if these pains are accompanied by other symptoms. Listen to your body and do not wait too long if you have the slightest doubt.

    We remind you that you should go to your gynecologist once a year fora check-up. Even if there is no problem, an examination will confirm that everything is fine.

    What is the difference between painful periods and endometriosis

    Endometriosis affects about 10% of women in France. Learning to recognize the different symptoms is the key to making a diagnosis as quickly as possible in order to treat endometriosis as well as possible.

    The symptoms of endometriosis

    Although pain during your period does not necessarily have to worry you, there are certain signs that can point you towards endometriosis:

    • Cyclical or even systematic pain;
    • They are resistant to painkillers;
    • They prevent you from going about your daily life normally (getting up, going to work, going to school, seeing your family, etc.).

    Endometriosis isoften accompanied by very heavy periods. There may also be bleeding outside of the period.

    Diagnosing endometriosis with a gynecologist

    To find out if you have endometriosis, you need to see a gynecologist. He or she will perform several tests to find out. In particular, he or she may prescribe an ultrasound or an MRI for a complete assessment. It is often by eliminating all other possible causes that the diagnosis of endometriosis is confirmed.

    It is a condition that is frequently detected late. If there is no definitive treatment for endometriosis, the same methods of relief used for painful periods are valid. Sometimes surgery is performed to remove excess uterine lining.

    How to manage blood loss during painful periods?

    Painful periods are common, at least during part of the period. However, if the pain is particularly severe or worsens, you should consult your doctor. It may be a sign of an infection or a disease such as endometriosis.

    To gain maximum comfort during painful periods, trust menstrual panties. They offer optimal comfort so as not to accentuate the pain. Moreover, several models are available in various sizes and come in 3 flows, light, intermediate or heavy.

    For each Elia menstrual panty purchased, we donate a portion of the profits to an association fighting against endometriosis.

    The FAQ of painful periods

    What causes painful periods?

    Painful periods are caused by the contractions of the uterus to evacuate blood from the uterine wall.

    How can I relieve painful periods?

    To relieve the pain, you can take painkillers. You can also use a hot water bottle to relax the muscles. In some cases, the pill can be prescribed or changed.

    Why are my periods getting more painful?

    Periods are not supposed to get more painful. It may be a sign of a problem. In this case, see your gynecologist right away.



    You may also like:

Règles douloureuses : comment les soulager ? Causes et conseils

C’est de notoriété publique : les règles, ça fait mal ! Mais pourquoi ? Quelles sont les raisons de ces douleurs menstruelles touchant 50 à 80 % des femmes ? Comment peut-on les soulager ? Sont-elles le signe d’un problème plus grave ? Nous tâcherons de répondre à toutes vos questions dans cet article.

Qu'est-ce que les règles douloureuses ?

Les règles durent entre 2 et 7 jours chaque mois pendant plusieurs décennies. Ce n’est pas rien. Durant toutes ces années, les sensations ressenties à chaque cycle peuvent varier en étant plus ou moins désagréables.

Aussi nommées dysménorrhées, les règles douloureuses sont causées par les contractions de l’utérus. C'est un trouble des règles anormal, pour mieux le comprendre, revenons rapidement sur le fonctionnement des règles :

  • Pendant le cycle, l’utérus se prépare à accueillir un embryon. La paroi interne, l’endomètre, s’épaissit ;
  • S’il n’y a pas de fécondation, l’endomètre est expulsé, c’est le sang des règles ;
  • Pour permettre l’expulsion de l’endomètre, l’utérus se contracte. Ces contractions sont douloureuses. Elles sont provoquées par des hormones : les prostaglandines.

Les règles douloureuses peuvent être primaires ou secondaires :

  • Primaires : elles surviennent durant l’adolescence. Au moment des premiers cycles, la quantité de prostaglandines sécrétée par le corps peut être trop élevée, cela cause de fortes douleurs. Ce phénomène est désagréable, mais sans gravité généralement ;
  • Secondaires : les douleurs de règle apparaissent plus tard, au bout de plusieurs cycles. Cela peut être le signe d’un problème, il est donc nécessaire de consulter un médecin ou gynécologue pour trouver la cause de ces menstruations douloureuses.

Mes règles sont douloureuses : est-ce normal ?

Comme expliqué plus haut, les douleurs pendant les règles ne sont pas rares. Elles sont causées par la contraction de l’utérus pour éliminer l’endomètre. C’est donc normal… dans une certaine mesure. Si les douleurs sont intenses au point de devenir handicapantes, ce n’est pas normal. Il faut aller voir son gynécologue.

Quels sont les symptômes des menstruations douloureuses ?

Outre les douleurs durant les règles, d’autres symptômes sont à surveiller. Si vous les ressentez, allez voir votre médecin pour vous assurer qu’ils ne sont pas le signe d’un problème plus grave :

  • Douleurs pelviennes fortes dans le bas du ventre, pouvant irradier dans le dos, le périnée, l’abdomen ou le rectum ;
  • Nausées ;
  • Vomissements ;
  • Très grosses crampes ;
  • Spasmes ;
  • Maux de tête ;
  • Anémies en fer.

    Quelles sont les causes des règles douloureuses ?

    Les menstruations douloureuses sont donc causées par les contractions de l’utérus grâce aux prostaglandines, mais elles peuvent avoir d’autres sources plus préoccupantes.

    Elles peuvent être le signe d’infections génitales, comme une mycose par exemple, ou encore d’une contraception hormonale non adaptée.
    Ces douleurs peuvent aussi provenir de polypes de l’utérus ou de troubles ovariens.

    Dans les cas les plus sérieux, les règles douloureuses peuvent être provoquées par une endométriose. Cette maladie se caractérise par un développement de muqueuse utérine là où elle ne devrait pas être : les trompes de Fallope, les ovaires, le vagin, la vessie, ou encore la cavité abdominale.

    Comment soulager les règles douloureuses ?

    Dans la plupart des cas, il y a des solutions pour soulager les règles douloureuses. Vous avez même le choix entre des méthodes médicamenteuses ou naturelles.

    Les méthodes naturelles

    Incontournable, la bouillotte peut grandement apaiser les douleurs, car la chaleur permet de détendre les muscles de la paroi utérine, particulièrement sollicités. Vous pouvez également essayer des exercices de relaxation ou de méditation pour travailler sur votre souffle. Contrairement à ce que l’on pourrait croire, le sport est un allié. Il aide à maintenir la mobilité, mais aussi l’élasticité des tissus. Enfin, l’alimentation joue un rôle clé. Nous recommandons d’éviter le sucre raffiné, la caféine ou l’alcool pendant les règles. Il faut privilégier les apports en vitamines, magnésium ou calcium.

    La prise de médicaments

    Pour apaiser les douleurs liées aux règles, vous pouvez prendre des anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens comme du paracétamol ou de l’ibuprofène. Nous conseillons d’éviter l’aspirine. Elle fluidifie le sang donc favorise les hémorragies. Une autre solution médicamenteuse est la prise ou le changement de pilule. Certaines sont ininterrompues et « suppriment » les règles. Il n’y a donc plus de contractions de l’utérus, donc plus de douleurs.

    Quand faut-il consulter un médecin pour des règles douloureuses ?

    Lorsque vos règles deviennent très douloureuses alors que vous êtes réglée depuis plusieurs années, il convient de consulter. Idem si ces douleurs s’accompagnent d’autres symptômes. Soyez à l’écoute de votre corps, n’attendez pas trop si vous avez le moindre doute.

    Nous vous rappelons qu’il faut aller chez le gynécologue une fois par an afin d’effectuer une visite de contrôle. Même s’il n’y a pas de souci, un examen permettra de confirmer que tout va bien.

    Quelle est la différence entre règles douloureuses et endométriose

    L’endométriose touche environ 10 % des femmes en France. Apprendre à reconnaître les différents symptômes est la clé d’un diagnostic le plus rapide possible afin de traiter l’endométriose au mieux.

    Les symptômes de l’endométriose

    Si des douleurs lors des règles ne doivent pas forcément vous inquiéter, il faut repérer certains signes pouvant vous orienter vers l’endométriose :

    • Douleurs cycliques, voire systématiques ;
    • Elles résistent aux antalgiques ;
    • Elles empêchent de vivre normalement le quotidien (se lever, aller au travail, aller en cours, voir ses proches…).

    L’endométriose s’accompagne souvent de règles très abondantes. Il peut également y avoir des saignements en dehors des règles.

    Diagnostic de l’endométriose auprès d’un gynécologue

    Pour savoir si vous êtes atteinte d’endométriose, il faut vous rendre chez un gynécologue. Il effectue alors plusieurs examens pour vous renseigner. Il pourra notamment vous prescrire une échographie ou une IRM pour un bilan complet. C’est souvent en éliminant toutes les autres causes possibles que le diagnostic sur l’endométriose est confirmé.

    C’est un mal fréquemment détecté tardivement. S’il n’y a pas de traitements définitifs contre l’endométriose, les mêmes méthodes de soulagements utilisées pour les règles douloureuses sont valables. Parfois, des interventions chirurgicales sont pratiquées pour éliminer les excédents de muqueuse utérine.

    Comment gérer la perte de sang lors de règles douloureuses ?

    Les règles douloureuses sont fréquentes, au moins durant une partie des menstruations. Il convient toutefois de se tourner vers son médecin si les douleurs sont particulièrement fortes ou si elles évoluent en s’aggravant. Elles peuvent être le signe d’une infection ou d’une maladie comme l’endométriose.

    Pour gagner au maximum en confort lors de règles douloureuses, faites confiance aux culottes menstruelles. Elles offrent un confort optimal pour ne pas accentuer les douleurs. De plus, plusieurs modèles sont disponibles en divers formats et se déclinent en 3 flux, légers, intermédiaires ou abondants.

    Pour chaque culotte de règles Elia achetée, nous versons une partie des bénéfices à une association luttant contre l'endométriose.

     

    La FAQ des règles douloureuses

    Qu’est-ce qui provoque les règles douloureuses ?

    Les douleurs lors des règles sont dues aux contractions de l’utérus pour évacuer le sang de la paroi utérine.

    Comment calmer des règles douloureuses ?

    Pour soulager la douleur, vous pouvez prendre des antalgiques. Vous pouvez également utiliser une bouillotte pour détendre les muscles. Dans certains cas, la pilule peut être prescrite ou changée.

    Pourquoi mes règles sont-elles de plus en plus douloureuses ?

    Les règles ne sont pas supposées être de plus en plus douloureuses. Cela peut être le signe d’un problème. Dans ce cas, consultez votre gynécologue sans tarder.



    Vous aimerez aussi :