Stomach ache and period: how to get over the pain?

Many women experience discomfort related to menstruation, dysmenorrhea. Among the various disorders that a menstruating person may experience is period stomach pain. Pain in the lower abdomen. How to stop having these uterine pains during the period?


Why does my stomach hurt during my period?

The menstrual cycle is the source of many disorders and in particular of period symptoms. It is quite normal to have small pains and discomforts during the period. The menstrual cycle is a sea ofhormones that influence our body in many ways. The cause of stomach ache during menstruation is directly related to the more or less strong contractions that the uterus will perform to expel the endometrium. These contractions are caused by an excess of a hormone called prostaglandin.

What are the different types of stomach pain during menstruation?

During menstruation, it is not uncommon to have different types of pain. Many women wonder how to stop having pain in their lower abdomen during their period. To find solutions, it is important to identify and understand your period pain. Belly pain during menstruation is commonly referred to by the medical profession as dysmenorrhea.

Repeated bloating

During the menstrual period, and especially just before the arrival of your period, you may be subject to premenstrual syndrome and your stomach ache may be a symptom of bloating. Indeed, under the effect of progesterone, the digestive system will slow down, relax and no longer do its work. Progesterone can then lead to gas accumulation and constipation, often synonymous with a bloated belly during menstruation. If bloating becomes chronic, we recommend that you see a doctor. Some signs that you may be suffering from bloating during your period:

  • a swollen abdomen
  • water retention
  • stomach pain
  • flatulence, gurgling in your digestive tract
  • an unpleasant smell when gas is expelled

Cramps of varying severity

Menstrual cramps are the most common disorder of menstruating women. 80% of women suffer from pain in the lower abdomen, back, legs and thighs at the time of their period. 15% of women suffering from uterine pain during their period are handicapped in their daily life. These cramps are often associated with dizziness, diarrhea, migraines or nausea during the period.


Dysmenorrhea, or menstrual cramps and spasms of the uterus, can appear as early as adolescence or adulthood. If the pain appears in adulthood, it is a sign of an imbalance or an underlying pathology.


Abdominal cramps during menstruation can be painful and violent and have several causes:

  • If there is too high a peak of prostaglandins and therefore too many contractions of the uterus
  • If the cause of the pain is related to a pathology such as endometriosis, adenomyosis, PCOS or uterine fibroids. It is then important to consult a doctor.

How to relieve stomach ache during menstruation?

In some cases, menstrual pain can be unbearable and force menstruating women to change their activities or to stay in bed. There are several methods to relieve discomfort in the abdomen during menstruation. However, beware of self-medication, always seek the advice of a health professional!

Taking medication

There are several medications on the market that are available in pharmacies or by prescription to relieve period pain.
Doctors recommend non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs and ibuprofen as the first line of treatment. Some medications, such as Antadys or Ponstyl, are specific to the treatment of abdominal pain during menstruation. Spasfon and Doliprane can also help reduce spasms and uterine contractions during menstruation when the pain becomes generalized. Be careful not to take aspirin, which will increase menstrual bleeding!
Some doctors will prescribe the use of birth control pills to regulate hormones, control the menstrual cycle, blood flow and pelvic pain during menstruation.

Natural methods

To naturally relieve this type of pain during your period, you can also try the following natural methods.

  • Use a hot water bottle or cherry pit hot water bottle to relieve abdominal pain
  • Take a hot bath to relax
  • Get enoughsleep and take time to rest during the day
  • Acupuncture and osteopathy can help you limit period pain, especially for those with adhesions related to endometriosis or a gynecological disease
  • Practice a gentle sport activity such as yoga or walking
  • Limit the consumption of coffee, tea and salt
  • Use an essential oil (or several!) adapted to uterine contractions during your period. Ask your pharmacist for advice!
  • Avoid stressfulsituations
  • Use appropriate sanitary protection so as not to add to your discomfort
  • Avoidtobacco and alcohol.

Who to consult in case of painful stomach ache?

If your abdominal pain is chronic during your period, whether it is accompanied by heavy bleeding or not, it is recommended to make an appointment for a diagnosis with your general practitioner, a gynecologist or a midwife who will be able to diagnose you and propose an appropriate treatment.
If the pain is frequent and increases in intensity, you may be suffering from endometriosis, a fibroid or another disease. If you have dysmenorrhea but your period does not come, you probably have a developing pregnancy. The doctor or health care provider will then order a checkup to find the cause.

The FAQ of stomach ache during menstruation

What causes stomach ache during menstruation?

Uterine pain during menstruation is related to the hormonal changes that our bodies go through. Its hormones will impact and create more or less violent cramps to expel the blood of the period. You may also suffer from bloating or constipation before your period, or diarrhea during your period.

How to get over period stomachache?

You will also like:

Mal au ventre et règles : comment faire passer la douleur ?

Beaucoup de femmes connaissent des inconforts liés aux règles, les dysménorrhées. Parmi les différents troubles qu’une personne menstruée peut rencontrer, il y a les maux de ventre des règles. Des douleurs en bas du ventre. Comment ne plus avoir ces douleurs utérines pendant les règles ?


Pourquoi a-t-on mal au ventre pendant les règles ?

Le cycle menstruel est la source de beaucoup de troubles et notamment de symptômes des règles. Il est tout à fait normal d’avoir de petites douleurs et des petits inconforts pendant la période des règles. Le cycle menstruel est un océan d’hormones qui influencent à bien des aspects notre corps. La cause du mal de ventre pendant les règles est directement lié aux contractions plus ou moins fortes que va effectuer l’utérus pour expulser l’endomètre. Ces contractions sont provoquées par un excès d’une hormone qui s’appelle la prostaglandine.

Quelles sont les différentes douleurs au ventre lors des règles ?

Pendant les menstruations, il n’est pas rare d’avoir différents types de douleurs. Beaucoup de femmes se demandent comment ne plus avoir mal au bas-ventre pendant les règles. Pour trouver des solutions, il est important de bien identifier et comprendre ses douleurs de règles. Les maux de ventre pendant les règles sont communément appelés par le corps médical les dysménorrhées.

Les ballonnements à répétition

Pendant la période des règles, et notamment juste avant l’arrivée de celles-ci, vous pouvez être sujette au syndrome prémenstruel et votre mal de ventre peut être le symptôme de ballonnements. En effet, sous l’effet de la progestérone, le système digestif va se ralentir, se décontracter et ne plus faire son travail. La progestérone peut alors entraîner une accumulation des gaz et une constipation, souvent synonyme de ventre gonflé lors des règles. Si les ballonnements deviennent chroniques, nous vous recommandons de consulter un médecin. Quelques signes que vous souffrez de ballonnements pendant vos règles :

  • un abdomen gonflé
  • de la rétention d’eau
  • mal d’estomac
  • des flatulences, des gargouillis dans votre tube digestif
  • une odeur désagréable quand les gaz sont expulsés

Les crampes plus ou moins violentes

Les crampes menstruelles sont le trouble le plus fréquent de la femme qui a ses règles. 80% des femmes subiraient des douleurs dans le bas ventre, dans le dos , les jambes, les cuisses au moment de leurs règles. 15% des femmes atteintes de douleurs utérines pendant les règles sont handicapées dans leur quotidien. Ces crampes s’associent souvent avec des vertiges, des diarrhées, des migraines ou des nausées pendant les règles.

Les dysménorrhées ou crampes et spasmes menstruels de l'utérus peuvent apparaître dès l’adolescence ou à l'âge adulte. Si les douleurs apparaissent à l'âge adulte, ça sera le signe de l’apparition d’un déséquilibre ou d’une pathologie sous-jacente.

Les crampes abdominales pendant les règles peuvent être douloureuses et violentes et ont plusieurs causes:

  • En cas d’un pic trop élevé de prostaglandines et donc de contractions de l’utérus trop importantes
  • Si la cause des douleurs est liée à une pathologie comme l’endométriose, l’adénomyose, un SOPK, un fibrome utérin. Il est alors important de consulter un médecin traitant.

Comment soulager le mal de ventre durant les règles ?

Dans certains cas, les douleurs des règles peuvent-être insupportables et obligent les femmes personnes menstruées à changer leurs activités ou à rester couchés. Il existe plusieurs méthodes pour soulager un inconfort à l’abdomen pendant les règles. Attention cependant à l’auto médication, privilégiez toujours l’avis d’un professionnel de la santé !

La prise de médicaments

Il existe plusieurs médicaments sur le marché accessibles en pharmacie ou sous ordonnance pour soulager les douleurs de règles.
Les médecins préconisent en première intention des anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens et de l’ibuprofène. Certains médicaments comme l’Antadys ou le Ponstyl sont spécifiques au traitement des douleurs abdominales pendant les règles. Le Spasfon et le Doliprane peuvent aussi aider à diminuer les spasmes et les contractions utérines des règles lorsque la douleur se généralise. Attention de ne pas consommer d'aspirine qui augmentera les saignements des règles !
Certains médecins prescriront la prise de la pilule contraceptive qui aura pour effet de réguler les hormones, contrôler le cycle menstruel, les écoulements de sang et la douleur pelvienne pendant les règles.

Les méthodes naturelles

Pour soulager naturellement ce type de douleurs pendant les règles, vous avez aussi la possibilité d’essayer des méthodes naturelles suivantes.
  • Utilisez une bouillotte d’eau chaude ou noyaux de cerisiers en bouillotte pour soulager les douleurs abdominales
  • Prenez un bain chaud pour vous relaxer
  • Dormez suffisamment et prenez le temps de vous reposer en journée
  • L’acupuncture et l’ostéopathie peuvent vous aider à limiter les douleurs de règles notamment celles qui ont des adhérences liées à l’endométriose ou une maladie gynécologique
  • pratiquez une activité sportive douce comme le yoga ou la marche
  • Limitez la consommation de café, de thé et de sel
  • Utilisez une huile essentielle (ou plusieurs !) adaptée aux contractions utérines pendant les règles. Demandez conseil à votre pharmacien !
  • Évitez les situations de stress
  • Utilisez des protections hygiéniques adaptées pour ne pas rajouter à votre inconfort
  • Évitez le tabac et l’alcool.

Qui consulter en cas de maux de ventre douloureux ?

Dans le cas ou vos douleurs abdominales sont chroniques pendant vos règles, qu’elles soient accompagnées de saignements importants ou pas, il est recommandé de prendre rendez-vous pour un diagnostic avec votre médecin généraliste, un gynécologue ou une sage-femme qui seront en mesure de vous diagnostiquer et vous proposer un traitement adapté.
Si les douleurs sont fréquentes et augmentent en intensité, il se peut que vous souffrez d’endométriose, d’un fibrome ou d’une autre maladie. Si vous avez des dysménorrhées mais que les règles ne viennent pas, vous avez probablement une grossesse en cours de développement. Le médecin ou le professionnel de la santé vous prescrira alors un bilan pour trouver la cause.

 

La FAQ du mal de ventre pendant les règles

D'où vient le mal de ventre durant les règles ?

La douleur utérine pendant les règles est liée aux variations hormonales que notre corps subit. Ses hormones vont impacter et créer des crampes plus ou moins violentes pour expulser le sang des règles. Vous pouvez également souffrir de ballonnement ou de constipation avant les règles, de diarrhées pendant les règles.

Comment faire passer le mal de ventre des règles ?

 

Vous aimerez aussi :

Les informations issues des articles présents sur le site www-elia-lingerie.com sont des informations générales. Bien qu’elles aient été relues par des professionnels de santé, ces informations ne sont pas exemptes d’erreurs, ne constituent pas des conseils de santé ou des consultations et n’ont pas vocation à fournir un diagnostic ou proposer un traitement. Ces informations ne peuvent, en aucun cas, se substituer à un avis médical et ne peuvent pas remplacer une consultation auprès d’un professionnel de santé. Pour toute question, nous vous invitons à consulter votre médecin.