Menstruation: length of the menstrual cycle, disorders, symptoms and advice

Menstruation, menstrual cycle, ragnagnas, English women who land... They accompany most women in all stages of life: from adolescence, during their fertility period, their pregnancy and until menopause.



What is a period?

Menstruation occurs about 400 times in a woman's life, i.e. a little more than 3,600 days in total, 13 times a year. This bleeding corresponds to the breakdown of the endometrium within the uterus. Nowadays, women have many solutions to live with their periods: menstrual panties, tampon, towel, hormonal contraceptive, etc.

In order to better understand what menstruation is all about, we have detailed below all the information you need to know about the cycle and the menstrual flow. Unfortunately, even today and for generations, there is a taboo on menstruation and its social acceptance. It is therefore important to talk about this subject to democratize it and to free the word!

The color of menstruation

The color of men struation can vary depending on several factors. Blood tissue will change color depending on its exposure to oxygen in the air, its viscosity and its quantity.

  • Bright red bleeding is usually present at the time of heaviest menstrual flow around the second or third day of menstruation. It is blood that does not have time to oxidize since it flows quickly and abundantly.
  • Some blood flows can be very dark red or black when they take the form of blood clots.
  • Blood can be reddish or dark brown and very thick at the beginning of menstruation.
  • At the beginning and end of menstruation, you may see brown blood. Don't worry, this color is due to the fact that it took longer to detach from the wall of the uterus and to cross the vagina to arrive in your panties.
  • Spotting, ovulation bleeding or the use of a hormonal contraceptive can cause pink, light red or pinkish colored discharge.
  • If the color of your discharge is gray or grayish, it could be a sign of infection or miscarriage. Consider consulting a health care professional!

The length of the menstrual cycle

A "normal" cycle lasts about 28 days, but it can vary from 25 days to 33 days. This is different from the length of a period. The cycle begins when your period starts and ends the day before your next period. However, some variations in these average lengths can be a sign of a menstrual disorder.

How does the menstrual cycle work?

The female cycle is made up of different phases that are part of a pattern that is repeated from the young girl until the menopause.
Let's take the example of a 28-day cycle:

  • The beginning of the cycle will always begin with menstrual bleeding, which lasts an average of 5 to 6 days. This is called the follicular phase.
  • The ovulatory phase: 14 days after the menstrual period, ovulation takes place. This is the moment when the body is ready to receive sperm and create an embryo. At this time, the oocyte(s) released by the ovaries will become an egg.
  • This is followed by the post-ovulatory phase, also known as the luteal phase, when, under the influence of progesterone, the body prepares to eliminate the layer of the uterus that did not receive an embryo, the endometrium.

Is it possible to have a period twice in the same menstrual cycle?

It is possible to have vaginal discharge several times in the same month. You can have bleeding at the time of ovulation and have some spotting phases. However, having your period several times a month is a sign that you have short or irregular cycles.

The end of menstruation at the beginning of the pregnancy

It is not uncommon for a woman to have a period while pregnant, especially in early pregnancy. This phenomenon is called anniversary menstruation. But amenorrhea, at the end of the menstrual cycle, is normally one of the symptoms of pregnancy. Those who have a regular menstrual cycle will be able to guess the beginning of a pregnancy when menstruation is late or absent. In this case, don't hesitate to take a pregnancy test!

At what age do periods start?

The first menstrual period appears at puberty in girls, generally between 10 and 16 years old, although it is not unusual for it to arrive a little earlier or later. The average arrival of the first menstrual period is usually around 12 years, and often within 2 years of the appearance of the breast.

What are the effects of menstruation on my health and body?

Menstruation can have several impacts on your health and your body. Between premenstrual syndrome, which occurs a few days before, and menstruation itself, most of the classic symptoms are exacerbated fatigue and pelvic pain due to the contractions of the uterus to evacuate the endometrium!

Premenstrual syndrome: the symptoms of menstruation

Premenstrual syndrome or PMS is a sign that your period is imminent! Several symptoms of menstruation and its arrival can alert you:

  • extreme fatigue and/or insomnia
  • stomach pain, diarrhea due to uterine contractions and/or bloating
  • anxiety
  • a depressive state
  • a sore chest

Possible disorders due to menstruation

Menstrual disorders of varying degrees can also affect your menstrual cycle. Among these, we can mention the following main disorders:

  • Dysmenorrhea, painful periods
  • Hypermenorrhea, abnormally abundant and long periods, or its opposite,hypomenorrhea
  • Anemia, the well-known iron deficiency of menstruating women, if your blood loss is abundant or even hemorrhagic
  • amenorrhea, which is the absence of menstrual flow
  • Oligomenorrhea, very long cycles longer than 35 days, or its opposite, polymenorrhea, shorter than 25 days
  • Metrorrhagia, bleeding outside of the menstrual period

The case of endometriosis

Endometriosis, a gynecological condition that affects about 1 in 10 menstruating women, is due to a disruption of cells similar toendometrial tissue that are found in other places in the body. Because these endometrial cells and their reactions are closely linked to the hormone levels in the menstrual cycle, localized pain at these sites in the body can occur before, after or during each period.

How do contraceptives affect menstruation?

Contraception and menstruation are often linked because the various contraceptive methods have an impact on menstruation or the production of the uterine lining to prevent ovulation or implantation. Their format and mode of action differ but the result is the same: avoid pregnancy.

  • Hormonal contraceptives based onestrogen, such as the patch, the vaginal ring or the estrogen-progestin pill, or simply progesterone, such as the hormonal intrauterine device, the implant or the microdosed pill: under the action of hormones, they act on the thickness of the cervical mucus and limit the development of the endometrium and cause "false periods" called withdrawal bleeding.
  • Non-hormonal contraceptives, such as condoms, copper IUDs and spermicides: these are mechanical barriers to fertilization without hormones, so menstruation is natural and follows the woman's basic rhythm.

How to protect yourself from blood loss during the day and night?

When you are in this phase of your cycle, the first question that comes to mind is that of period protection to contain your period. There are a plethora of solutions to absorb or retain the blood flow and each woman must adapt her choice according to the abundance of her losses, her personal comfort and her sporting or non-sporting activities of the day. Sanitary protection can be disposable or reusable: at Elia, we have a particular weakness for menstrual panties, which are durable and can be adapted to the different flows of day and night, but there are also tampons, sanitary napkins, panty liners, cups, menstrual sponges... The choice is wide! There are also particular techniques such as free instinctive flow, which consists of retaining blood in the vagina, but which is more suitable for use during the day.

Are there any contraindications to use during my period?

There are no formal contraindications orforbidden sports activities, it is rather a very personal question of comfort and feeling at ease during this period. Sport during menstruation is for example recommended to relieve menstrual pain, but some women prefer to rest so as not to accumulate additional fatigue. Swimming or bathing also makes menstrual logistics a little more complex than usual, but there are now menstrual bathing suits, which in addition to the classic tampon at the pool, present an absorbent solution to not deprive yourself. Having your period should neither be a fate nor a handicap: live it as you wish, you have every right!

How to calculate the length of your period and menstrual cycle?

There are several ways to calculate the length of your menstrual cycle and your periods. These methods are effective to anticipate the sight of bleeding but also to avoid or promote the occurrence of a pregnancy:

  • Today the easiest way is to use the services of an application for menstruation on your smartphone that will give you alerts on the moment of ovulation and on the arrival of your blood loss. Some examples ofapps that might suit you: Clue, Flo, Glow, Menstrual Period Tracker, Eve
  • Period calendar. This method can be reliable and used only for women who have regular losses.
  • Use a female cycle necklace that will help track an ovulation and fertility period. Each bead on the necklace is color-coded to represent a day in the cycle.
  • The mucus method also called the ovulation method. By observing her vaginal secretions several times a day from the last day of menstruation, you can determine the stages of your menstrual cycle.
  • Symptothermia is a method that combines measurements of resting body temperature, a cervical mucus calendar and classical calendar methods.
  • Lactational amenorrhea can be used after childbirth if the mother is breastfeeding her baby. During the period of exclusive breastfeeding and especially during the first 6 weeks after delivery.

The FAQ of menstruation

What happens in the body when you have your period?

When a woman menstruates, she shedsendometrium, which detaches from the uterine wall, passes through the cervix and into the vagina, resulting in monthly bleeding. This is the result of hormonal variations, which trigger the thickening of the uterine lining at the beginning of the menstrual cycle, and then when the ovum that has matured during ovulation is not fertilized, the endometrium disintegrates, forming the bloody discharge.

What should I do if my period worries me?

When a woman has her period, she evacuates theendometrium, which detaches from the uterine wall, passes through the cervix and then the vagina, resulting in monthly bleeding. This is the result of hormonal variations, which trigger at the beginning of the menstrual cycle the thickening of this uterine lining, then when the egg matured during ovulation is not fertilized, the endometrium disintegrates, forming the bloody discharge.

Règles : durée du cycle menstruel, troubles, symptômes et conseils

Les règles, les menstruations, le cycle menstruel, les ragnagnas, les anglaises qui débarquent… Elles accompagnent la plupart des femmes dans toutes les étapes de la vie : dès l’adolescence, pendant leur période de fertilité, leur grossesse et jusqu’à la ménopause.



Qu'est-ce que les règles ?

Les règles c’est environ 400 fois dans une vie d’une femme soit un peut plus de 3 600 jours au total, 13 fois par an. Ces saignements correspondent à la dégradation de l'endomètre au sein de l'utérus. De nos jours, les femmes ont à leurs dispositions de nombreuses solutions pour vivre avec leurs règles : culotte menstruelle, tampon, serviette, contraceptif hormonal, etc.

Pour mieux comprendre à quoi correspondent les règles, nous vous détaillons-ci dessous l'ensemble des informations à connaître sur le cycle et le flux menstruel. Malheureusement, encore aujourd’hui et depuis des générations il existe un tabou sur les règles et leur acceptation sociale. Il est ainsi important de parler de ce sujet pour le démocratiser et libérer la parole !

La couleur des règles

La couleur des règles peut varier en fonction de plusieurs facteurs. Les tissus sanguins vont changer de couleur en fonction de leur exposition à l’oxygène de l’air, de la viscosité, de leur quantité.

  • Les saignements de couleur rouge vif sont généralement présents au moment où les règles sont les plus abondantes vers le deuxième ou troisième jour des menstruations. C’est un sang qui n’a pas le temps de s’oxyder puisqu’il coule vite et en abondance.
  • Certains écoulements sanguins peuvent être rouge très foncé ou noir quand ils prennent la forme de caillots sanguins
  • Le sang peut être rougeâtre ou brun foncé en étant très épais en début de règles.
  • Au début et à la fin des menstruations, on peut observer du sang de couleur marron. Pas d’inquiétude, cette couleur est due au fait qu’il à mis plus de temps à se détacher de la paroi de l’utérus et à traverser le vagin pour arriver dans votre culotte.
  • Le spotting, des saignement d’ovulation ou l’utilisation d’un contraceptif hormonal peut entrainer des pertes de sang de couleur rose, rouge clair ou rosâtre.
  • Si la couleur de vos pertes est grise ou grisâtre, ca pourrait être le signe d’une infection ou d’une fausse couche. Pensez à consulter un professionnel de la santé !

La durée du cycle menstruel

Un cycle dit “normal” dure environ 28 jours mais il peut varier de 25 jours à 33 jours. C’est différent de la durée des règles. Le cycle commence au moment de l’arrivée des menstruations et se termine la veille des suivantes. Certaines variations trop importantes de ces durées moyennes peuvent cependant être le signe d’un trouble menstruel.

Comment fonctionne le cycle menstruel ?

Le cycle féminin comporte différentes phases qui s’inscrivent dans un schéma qui se reproduira de la jeune fille jusqu’à la ménopause.
Prenons l’exemple d’un cycle de 28 jours :

  • Le début du cycle commencera toujours par les saignements des règles qui durent en moyenne 5 à 6 jours. Cela s’appelle la phase folliculaire.
  • La phase ovulatoire : 14 jours après les règles à lieu l’ovulation, c’est le moment où le corps est prêt à accueillir des spermatozoïdes et a créer un embryon. En effet, à ce moment-là, le ou les ovocytes libérés par les ovaires se transformeront en ovule.
  • S’ensuit la phase post-ovulatoire aussi appelée la phase lutéale, sous l’influence de la progestérone, le corps se prépare à éliminer la couche de l’utérus qui n’aura pas accueilli d’embryon, l'endomètre

Est-il possible d'avoir ses règles deux fois lors du même cycle menstruel ?

Il est possible d’avoir des pertes vaginales plusieurs fois dans le même mois. Vous pouvez avoir des saignements au moment de l’ovulation et avoir quelques phases de spotting. Néanmoins, avoir ses menstruations plusieurs fois dans le mois est le signe que vous avez des cycles courts ou irréguliers.

La fin des règles dès le début de la grossesse

Il n’est pas rare que la femme puisse avoir des règles enceinte surtout en début de grossesse. On appelle ce phénomène des règles anniversaires. Mais l'aménorrhée, au moment de la fin du cycle menstruel, est normalement un des symptômes de la grossesse. Celles qui ont un cycle menstruel régulier pourront deviner un début de grossesse dès lors que les menstruations seront en retard ou absentes. Dans ce cas, il ne faut pas hésiter à faire un test de grossesse !

À partir de quel âge les règles commencent-elles ?

Les premières règles font leur apparition au moment de la puberté chez les filles, généralement entre 10 et 16 ans, sans qu’il soit anormal qu’elles arrivent un peu avant ou plus tardivement. La moyenne de l’arrivée des premières menstruations est en général autour de 12 ans, et souvent dans les 2 ans qui suivent l’apparition de la poitrine.

Quels sont les effets des règles sur la santé et le corps ?

Elles peuvent avoir plusieurs impacts sur la santé et le corps. Entre le syndrome prémenstruel qui intervient quelques jours avant et les menstruations elles-mêmes, la plupart des symptômes classiques sont une fatigue exacerbée et des douleurs pelviennes dues aux contractions de l’utérus pour évacuer l’endomètre !

Syndrome prémenstruel : les symptômes des règles

Le syndrome prémenstruel ou SPM est le signe que vos menstruations sont imminentes ! Plusieurs symptômes des règles et de leur arrivée peuvent vous alerter :

  • une grande fatigue et/ou des insomnies
  • des douleurs de ventre, des diarrhées à cause des contractions utérines et/ou des ballonnements
  • une anxiété
  • un état dépressif
  • une poitrine douloureuse

De possibles troubles dus aux règles

Des troubles des règles plus ou moins importants peuvent aussi rythmer votre cycle menstruel. Parmi ces derniers, on peut citer ces troubles principaux :

  • Les dysménorrhées, des règles douloureuses
  • Les hyperménorrhées, ces menstruations anormalement abondantes et longues, ou son inverse l’hypoménorrhée
  • L’anémie, cette carence en fer bien célèbre des femmes menstruées, si vos pertes de sang sont abondantes voir hémorragiques
  • l’aménorrhée, qui est l’absence de flux menstruel
  • L'oligoménorrhée, des cycles très longs supérieurs à 35 jours, ou son opposé, la polyménorrhée, inférieur à 25 jours
  • Les métrorragies, les saignements en dehors des périodes menstruelles

Le cas de l'endométriose

L'endométriose, cette affection gynécologique qui touche environ 1 personne menstruée sur 10 est due à un dérèglement de cellules semblables au tissu de l’endomètre qui se retrouvent à d’autres endroits dans le corps. Comme ces cellules endométriales et leurs réactions sont intimement liées aux taux d’hormones dans le cycle menstruel, des douleurs localisées au niveau de ces lésions dans le corps peuvent apparaître avant, après ou pendant chaque période de règles.

Comment les moyens de contraception agissent sur les règles ?

La contraception et les règles entretiennent une relation souvent liées car les différentes méthodes contraceptives vont avoir un impact sur les menstruations ou la production de la muqueuse utérine pour éviter l’ovulation ou la nidation. Leur format et leur mode d’action diffèrent mais le résultat est le même : éviter la grossesse.

  • Les contraceptifs hormonaux à base d'œstrogène, comme le patch, l’anneau vaginal ou encore la pilule oestroprogestative, ou simplement de progestérone, comme le dispositif intra-utérin hormonal, l’implant, ou la pilule microdosée : sous l’actions d’hormones, ils agissent sur l’épaisseur de la glaire cervicale et limitent le développement de l’endomètre et provoquent des “fausses règles” appelées hémorragies de privation.
  • Les contraceptifs non-hormonaux, comme les préservatifs, les DIU en cuivre, les spermicides : ce sont des barrières mécaniques et sans hormones de la fécondation, les menstruations sont donc naturelles et suivent le rythme de base de la femme

Comment se protéger des pertes de sang la journée et la nuit ?

Lorsqu’on se trouve dans cette phase de son cycle, la première question qui nous vient en tête est celle de la protection périodique pour contenir ses règles. Il existe pléthore de solutions pour absorber ou retenir le sang du flux et chaque femme doit adapter son choix en fonction de l’abondance de ses pertes, de son confort personnel et ses activités sportives ou non de la journée. Les protections sanitaires peuvent être jetables ou réutilisables : nous avons chez Elia un faible particulier pour la culotte menstruelle, durable, qui sait s’adapter aux différents flux de jour comme de nuit, mais il existe également les tampons, les serviettes hygiéniques, le protège-slip, la cup, l’éponge menstruelle... Le choix est large ! Il existe aussi des techniques particulières comme le flux instinctif libre, qui consiste à retenir dans le vagin le sang, mais qui sera plus adapté à une utilisation en journée.

Existe-t-il des contre-indications à suivre pendant les règles ?

Il n’y a pas de contre-indications formelles ou d’activités sportives interdites, c’est plutôt une question très personnelle de confort et de se sentir à l’aise pendant cette période. Le sport pendant les règles est par exemple recommandé pour soulager les douleurs menstruelles, mais certaines femmes préféreront au contraire se reposer pour ne pas accumuler de fatigue supplémentaire. La baignade ou la natation rendent également la logistique menstruelle un peu plus complexe qu’à l’accoutumée mais il existe désormais des maillots de bain menstruels, qui en plus du classique tampon à la piscine, présentent une solution absorbante pour ne pas se priver. Avoir ses règles ne devrait être ni une fatalité, ni un handicap : vivez-les comme vous l’entendez, vous avez tous les droits !

Comment calculer la durée de ses règles et du cycle menstruel ?

Il existe plusieurs façons de calculer la durée de son cycle menstruel et de ses menstruations. Ces méthodes sont efficaces pour anticiper la vue des saignements mais aussi pour éviter ou favoriser la survenue d’une grossesse :

  • Aujourd'hui le plus simple sera d'utiliser les services d’une application pour règles sur votre smartphone qui vous donnera des alertes sur le moment d’ovulation et sur l’arrivée de vos pertes de sang. Quelques exemple d’apps qui pourraient vous convenir : Clue, Flo, Glow, Menstrual Period Tracker, Eve
  • Le calendrier des règles. Cette méthode peut être fiable et utilisée uniquement pour des femmes qui ont des pertes régulières.
  • Utilisez un collier de cycle féminin qui va aider à suivre une ovulation et une période de fertilité. Chaque perle du collier à un code couleur qui représente un jour du cycle.
  • La méthode de la glaire aussi appelée méthode de l’ovulation. En observant ses sécrétions vaginales plusieurs fois par jour à partir du dernier jour des menstruations, on pourra déterminer les étapes de son cycle menstruel.
  • La symptothermie est une méthode qui associe des mesures sur la température corporelle au repos, un calendrier de glaire cervicale et des méthodes calendaires classiques.
  • L’aménorrhée lactationnelle peut être utilisée après un accouchement si la maman nourrit son bébé au lait maternel. Pendant la durée d’un allaitement exclusif et notamment pendant les 6 premières semaines après l’accouchement.

La FAQ des règles

Que se passe-t-il dans le corps lorsque l'on a ses règles ?

Lorsqu’une femme a ses règles, elle évacue l’endomètre qui se détache de la paroi utérine, passe à travers le col de l’utérus puis le vagin, ce qui donne ces saignements mensuels. C’est le résultat de variations hormonales, qui déclenchent en début de cycle menstruel l'épaississement de cette muqueuse utérine, puis lorsque l’ovule arrivé à maturité durant l’ovulation n’est pas fécondé, l’endomètre se désagrège, formant les pertes sanguines.

Que faire si mes règles m'inquiètent ?

Lorsqu’une femme a ses règles, elle évacue l’endomètre qui se détache de la paroi utérine, passe à travers le col de l’utérus puis le vagin, ce qui donne ces saignements mensuels. C’est le résultat de variations hormonales, qui déclenchent en début de cycle menstruel l'épaississement de cette muqueuse utérine, puis lorsque l’ovule arrivé à maturité durant l’ovulation n’est pas fécondé, l’endomètre se désagrège, formant les pertes sanguines.