Periodic protection: which one to choose for your period?

There are many types of sanitary protection on the market. Which one should you choose?



What is a periodical protection?

In the minds of women, they are the friends and enemies of daily life, and are intimately linked to the menstrual cycle, periods, white discharge, pregnancy and also to gynaecological diseases such as endometriosis.
On average, a woman will menstruate nearly 400 times in her life, i.e. nearly 2,400 days. On average, around 1,500 disposable pads are used every second in the world, which means that nearly 45 billion are used every year.
Brands and manufacturers offer durable, disposable alternatives with various compositions. Protecting oneself during one's menstrual flow is a societal issue that guarantees well-being and confidence for menstruating women. They have not been a matter of course throughout history and still today!

The history of sanitary protection: from the Middle Ages to today

We propose you a small historical frieze of thehistory of the hygienic protections to evaluate the evolution of our choices. Before theindustrialization of sanitary protection, women have always found "home-made" solutions to protect themselves from menstruation. Generally, women, in a situation of menstrual precariousness, made them themselves with fabrics, wood or other more or less hygienic materials.

The first traces of sanitary protection go back to Antiquity:

  • Premises of the tampon are found in 1950 before Jesus-Christ
  • The Egyptians used rolled up wadded strips to be introduced into the vaginal canal
  • As for the Romans, they used papyrus, grass or wool compresses wrapped around pieces of wood.


Finally, it was not until the beginning of the 19th century that the work of Pasteur showed the importance ofintimate hygiene. From then on, it was recommended to use underwear and adapted hygienic devices, and the first menstrual panties appeared! Modern tampons were not introduced until 1929.

What are the different types of menstrual protection?

There are various types on the market: we propose you a small panorama of the most widespread.

The menstrual panties

The menstrual panties are our favorite choice at Elia! It is a real revolution that has touched the feminine hygiene sector for a few years. It is a hygienic lingerie with a very simple use which will replace or come in complement of a traditional hygienic device. The menstrual panties are put on like a classic lingerie and will absorb and dry the blood of menstruation during nearly 12 hours. Thanks to theingenious assembly of fabrics which makes only a few millimetres of thickness! It is a soft, healthy, non-intrusive protection which is very economic for the woman since a menstrual panties keeps nearly 7 years. The menstrual panties are an ideal hygienic system for the night, in particular for those which have abundant bleedings. Of an unequalled comfort, it is common that their users almost forget their period!

The tampon

The tampon is the absorbent protection that has created a real revolution in the lives of women and menstruating people. It is an intra-vaginal system that slipsinside the vagina to absorb the menstrual flow. Menstrual blood is absorbed and retained inside for a few hours. Very practical, tampons can be used at any time during the period. It is a good intimate solution for the practice of the sport and in particular of the swimming pool or the bathe, on the other hand much less easy of use for the first periods. Some recommendations are nevertheless to be taken into account at all costs to avoid infections and TSS, the toxic shock syndrome, like the duration of wearing and the washing of the hands before and after.

Sanitary napkins and panty liners (washable or disposable)

Sanitary napkins are solutions that absorb menstrual blood. As with tampons, there are different levels of absorption: pads for medium to heavy bleeding, panty liners for lighter bleeding or spotting. Very practical, pads are placed at the bottom of the panties and ensure absorption for a few hours. The sanitary napkin is a good solution for all those who wish to avoid internal sanitary protection. It is the most widely used option in the world today. It can be washable or disposable, and in any case it should be made of the most natural and least processed materials possible.

The menstrual cup

The menstrual cup is anintravaginal protection , like the tampon but with different properties. It is a biomedical silicone cup that will collect and not absorb menstrual blood. Once the cup is full, you have to remove it from your vagina, empty the blood, clean it and replace it. This is a low-cost and sustainable solution that has gained many followers, especially in precarious student situations. Putting on and taking off the cup requires time to adapt. There are different sizes of cups that adapt to the abundance of menstruation. Nevertheless, be careful to respect some rules: do not wear your cup more than 4 hours, wash your hands and above all sterilize it every day!

The menstrual sponge

Themenstrual sponge is a periodical protection very little used in France. It is a sponge of sea that one will place as the tampon and the cupinside the vagina. It will absorb and retain menstruation for a few hours. It is a durable solution by its manufacture but also by its longevity. This small sponge is changed every 3 to 5 months. Be careful not to keep it more than 4 hours and to wash it well after each use. This absorbent protection could be at the origin of infections and irritations.

The instinctive flow

The free instinctive flow is not a protection in the strict sense of the term. It is a technique that allows you to hold your menstrual period in the back of your vagina while you flush it downthe toilet. The instinctive flow consists in controlling the flow of menstruation thanks to the muscles of her perineum in particular. Few women practice it: in fact, it is easier to apply the instinctive flow method if your perineum is muscular and if you have light losses than the opposite. Beware of running to the bathroom or staining your pants for those who have not yet mastered the technique!Learning the free instinctive flow is done over several cycles. Do not hesitate to use periodical protections like menstrual panties to prevent small inconveniences.

How to choose your periodical protections?

Today there are different protections to collect bleeding and each menstruating person can easily make a choice. However, not all intimate solutions are equal in terms ofabsorption, durability and resistance over time. It is important to know the differences and the composition of the products in order to avoid disappointment during use and potentially endangering your health.

To avoid: polluting sanitary products

Today, we have a responsibility towards theenvironment andecology. We recommend that, whatever your choice, you do not use polluting sanitary protection. Both for your body but also for our planet! They are a source of enormous waste and take between 500 and 800 years to decompose in nature.
Here are some examples of toxic substances to avoid because of the risk to your health:

  • Pesticides, dioxins, phthalates, halogen derivatives
  • Non-OEKO-TEX dyes or colorants
  • Perfumes or other additives
  • Silver or copper nanoparticles
  • Non-breathable synthetic materials


All of these polluting substances contain endocrine disruptors that can be carcinogenic to the body. Some intravaginal solutions such as tampons can also shed fibers during use and especially during removal. This can causeirritation, repeated infections and even fungus!

Healthy and natural protection is the way to go

Choose healthy and natural options for your underwear and sanitary protection! A few criteria to keep in mind when making your choice:

  • Natural materials such as cotton (organic if possible)
  • As soon as possible external devices and not internal ones
  • Products with clear labels and composition
  • Products with external certifications
  • Transparency of the brand towards its consumers
  • Price and long term savings, especially if you are a student on a budget

FAQ's about menstrual hygiene protection

How to choose your sanitary protection?

Choosing your sanitary protection has never been easier. Consumers have a choice of different solutions to protect themselves during their period. Choose what suits you best according to your budget, your sensitivity, your comfort or theabundance of your periods. You can also choose a sustainable solution to make a significant impact on your budget, the environment and move towards the healthiest organic cotton periodical option possible.

What is the best periodic protection?

The best option is the one in which we feel the best and with which we are the most in adequacy on the budget, the composition and the manufacture! Depending on your needs (night, sport, swimming pool, active day...) and your flow, the most suitable protection will not be the same!

Why choose Elia Lingerie's menstrual panties as periodical protection?

Elia menstrual panties are a real revolution and tick all the economic, ethical, environmental and health boxes!

What are chemical-free menstrual protections?

Chemical-free menstrual protection does not contain endocrine disruptors, pesticides, glysophates, chemical dyes or chlorine. Favored to buy with GOTS, OEKOTEX certifications that guarantee traceability and harmlessness of the product towards the body and the environment.



You will also like :

Protection périodique : laquelle choisir pour ses règles ?

Les protections périodiques sur le marché sont nombreuses. Vers laquelle s’orienter ?



Qu'est-ce qu'une protection périodique ?

Elles sont dans l’esprit des femmes des amies ou ennemies du quotidien, et intimement liées au cycle menstruel, aux règles, aux pertes blanches, à la grossesse mais aussi aux maladies gynécologiques comme l’endométriose.
En moyenne une femme aura ses menstruations près de 400 fois dans sa vie soit près de 2 400 jours. Il est consommé en moyenne chaque seconde dans le monde environ 1 500 protections jetables, c’est près de 45 milliards par an qui sont consommées.
Les marques et industriels proposent des alternatives durables, jetables et avec des compositions variées. Bien se protéger pendant son flux menstruel est un enjeux sociétal qui garantit un bien être, une confiance pour les femmes menstruées. Elles n’ont pas été une évidence au travers de l’histoire et encore aujourd'hui !

L'histoire des protections hygiéniques : du Moyen- Âge à aujourd'hui

Nous vous proposons une petite frise historique de l’histoire des protections hygiéniques pour évaluer l’évolution de nos choix. Avant l’industrialisation de ces dernières, les femmes ont toujours trouvé des solutions “maison” pour se protéger des règles. Généralement, les femmes, en situation de précarité menstruelle, les fabriquaient elles-mêmes avec des tissus, du bois ou d’autres matériaux plus ou moins hygiéniques.

Les premières traces des protections hygiéniques remontent à l’Antiquité :

  • Des prémices du tampon sont retrouvés en 1950 avant Jésus-Christ
  • Les Égyptiennes utilisaient des bandes ouatées enroulées à introduire dans le conduit vaginal
  • Quant aux Romaines, elles utilisaient des compresses de papyrus, d’herbe ou de laine enroulées autour de morceaux de bois.


Finalement, ce n’est qu’au début du 19ème siècle que les travaux de Pasteur montrent l’importance de l’hygiène intime. Dès lors, il est recommandé d’utiliser des sous-vêtements et des dispositifs hygiéniques adaptés, et les premières culottes menstruelles apparaissent ! Les tampons modernes n'ont d'ailleurs vu le jour qu’en 1929.

Quels sont les différents types de protections périodiques ?

Il en existe différents types sur le marché : nous vous proposons un petit panorama des plus répandues.

La culotte menstruelle

La culotte menstruelle est notre choix de prédilection chez Elia ! C’est une vraie révolution qui a touché le secteur de l’hygiène féminine depuis quelques années. C’est une lingerie hygiénique avec un usage très simple qui va remplacer ou venir en complément d’un dispositif hygiénique classique. Les culottes menstruelles s’enfilent comme une lingerie classique et vont absorber, sécher le sang des menstruations pendant près de 12 heures. Merci l’assemblage de tissus ingénieux qui ne fait que quelques millimètres d’épaisseur ! C’est une protection douce, saine, non-intrusive qui est très économique pour la femme puisqu’une culotte menstruelle se garde près de 7 ans. La culotte de règles est un système hygiénique idéal pour la nuit, notamment pour celles qui ont des saignements abondants. D’un confort inégalé, il est courant que leurs utilisatrices en oublient presque leurs règles !

Le tampon

Le tampon est la protection absorbante qui a créé une vraie révolution dans la vie des femmes et des personnes menstruées. C’est un système intra vaginal qui se glisse à l’intérieur du vagin pour absorber le flux menstruel. Le sang des menstruations est absorbé et retenu à l’intérieur pendant quelques heures. Très pratique, les tampons peuvent être utilisés à n’importe quel moment des règles. C’est une bonne solution intime pour la pratique du sport et notamment de la piscine ou de la baignade, en revanche beaucoup moins facile d’utilisation pour les premières règles. Quelques recommandations sont néanmoins à prendre en compte à tout prix pour éviter des infections et le SCT, le syndrome du choc toxique, comme la durée de port et le lavage des mains avant et après.

La serviette hygiénique et le protège-slip (lavable ou jetable)

Les serviettes hygiéniques sont des solutions qui absorbent le sang des règles. Il existe, comme pour les tampons, différents niveaux d’absorption : les serviettes pour les pertes moyennes à abondantes, les protège-slips pour les saignements plus légers ou le spotting. Très pratiques, les serviettes se placent au fond de la culotte et assurent une absorption pendant quelques heures. La serviette hygiénique est une bonne solution pour toutes celles qui souhaitent éviter les protections hygiéniques internes. C’est l’option la plus utilisée dans le monde aujourd’hui. Elle peut être lavable ou jetable, et il faut quoi qu’il arrive la choisir dans les matières les plus naturelles et les moins traitées possibles.

La coupe menstruelle

La coupe menstruelle est une protection intravaginale, comme le tampon mais avec des propriétés différentes. C’est une coupe en silicone biomédical qui va recueillir et non absorber le sang menstruel. Une fois que la coupe est pleine, il faut la retirer de son vagin, vider le sang, la nettoyer et la replacer. C’est une solution durable et à bas prix qui a fait beaucoup d’adeptes, notamment en situation de précarité étudiante. La mise en place et le retrait de la cup nécessitent un temps d’adaptation. Il existe différentes tailles de coupes qui s’adaptent à l’abondance des menstruations. Attention néanmoins à respecter quelques règles : ne pas porter sa cup plus de 4h, se laver les mains et surtout bien la stériliser tous les jours !

L'éponge menstruelle

L’éponge menstruelle est une protection périodique très peu utilisée en France. C’est une éponge de mer que l’on va placer comme le tampon et la cup à l’intérieur du vagin. Elle va absorber et retenir les menstruations pendant quelques heures. C’est une solution durable par sa fabrication mais aussi par sa longévité. Cette petite éponge se change tous les 3 à 5 mois. Attention à ne pas la garder plus de 4h et à bien la laver après chaque utilisation. Cette protection absorbante pourrait être à l’origine d’infections et d’irritations.

Le flux instinctif

Le flux instinctif libre n’est pas une protection au sens strict du terme. C’est une technique qui permet de retenir les menstruations au fond de son vagin le temps de l’écouler dans les toilettes. Le flux instinctif consiste à contrôler l’écoulement des règles grâce aux muscles de son périnée notamment. Peu de femmes le pratiquent : en effet, il est plus simple d’appliquer la méthode du flux instinctif si votre périnée est musclé et si vous avez des pertes légères que l’inverse. Attention à la course aux toilettes ou à la tâche sur le pantalon pour celles qui ne maîtrisent pas encore la technique ! L’apprentissage du flux instinctif libre se fait sur plusieurs cycles. N'hésitez pas à utiliser des protections périodiques comme la culotte menstruelle pour prévenir des petits désagréments.

Comment choisir ses protections périodiques ?

Il existe aujourd’hui différentes protections pour recueillir les saignements et chaque personne menstruée peut faire un choix facilement. Cependant, toutes les solutions intimes ne se valent pas en termes d'absorption, de durabilité et de résistance dans le temps. Il est important de bien connaître les différences et la composition pour ne pas avoir de déconvenues à l’usage et potentiellement mettre en danger sa santé.

À éviter : les protections périodiques polluantes

Nous avons aujourd’hui une responsabilité envers l’environnement et l’écologie. Nous vous recommandons, quel que soit votre choix, de ne pas utiliser de protections hygiéniques polluantes. A la fois pour votre corps mais aussi pour notre planète ! Source de déchets énormes, elles mettent entre 500 et 800 ans pour se décomposer dans la nature.
Voici quelques exemples de traces de substances toxiques à éviter face au risque pour la santé :

  • Les pesticides, les dioxines, les phtalates, les dérivées halogènes
  • Les colorants ou teintures non OEKO-TEX
  • Les parfums ou autres additifs
  • Les nanoparticules d’argent ou de cuivre
  • Les matières synthétiques non respirantes


Toutes ces substances polluantes contiennent des perturbateurs endocriniens qui peuvent s’avérer cancérigènes pour le corps. Certaines solutions intravaginales comme les tampons peuvent aussi perdre des fibres dans l’utilisation et notamment lors du retrait. Cela peut causer un risque d’irritations, des infections à répétition et même des mycoses !

À privilégier : les protections saines et naturelles

Privilégiez des options saines et naturelles pour vos sous-vêtements et votre protection hygiénique ! Quelques critères à garder en tête dans votre choix :

  • Les matières naturelles comme le coton (si possible bio)
  • Dès que possible les dispositifs externes et non internes
  • Les produits avec des étiquettes et une composition claire
  • Les produits avec des certifications externes
  • La transparence de la marque envers ses consommateurs
  • Le prix et les économies sur le long terme, surtout si vous êtes étudiante avec un petit budget

La FAQ des protections hygiéniques pour règles

Comment choisir sa protection hygiénique ?

Le choix de sa protection hygiénique n’a jamais été aussi facile. Les consommatrices ont le choix de différentes solutions pour se protéger pendant leurs menstruations. Choisissez ce qui vous convient le mieux en fonction de votre budget, de votre sensibilité, de votre confort ou de l’abondance de vos règles. Vous pourrez également choisir une solution durable pour avoir un impact significatif sur votre budget, sur l’environnement et vous orienter vers une option périodique en coton biologique la plus saine possible.

Quelle est la meilleure protection périodique ?

La meilleure option est celle dans laquelle on se sent le mieux et avec laquelle nous sommes le plus en adéquation sur le budget, la composition et la fabrication ! En fonction de ses besoins (nuit, sport, piscine, journée active…) et de son flux, la protection la plus adaptée ne sera pas la même !

Pourquoi opter pour les culottes menstruelles Elia Lingerie comme protections périodiques ?

Les culottes menstruelles Elia sont une vraie révolution et cochent toutes les cases économiques, éthiques, environnementales et sanitaires !

Quelles sont les protections périodiques sans produits chimiques ?

Les protections périodiques sans produits chimiques ne comportent pas de perturbateurs endocriniens, de pesticides, de glysophates, de colorants chimiques, de chlore. Favorisez l’achat avec des certifications bios, OEKOTEX qui garantissent une traçabilité et une innocuité du produit vis-à-vis du corps et de l’environnement.



Vous aimerez aussi :