Period colors: what do they mean?

Depending on the cycle, and sometimes even within the same cycle, the color of your period can vary. This can be a little confusing and if it happens to you, you may have questions. This in itself is not a cause for concern, but it is helpful to know and understand why menstrual colors can change.

Period colors: why are there multiple colors?

The first thing to remember is that it is normal for periods to change color. During the cycle, the flow of menstruation is not constant and women do not lose the same amount of blood throughout their period. At the beginning and at the end, there is less blood flowing and it may take longer to drain. It will then stagnate in the vagina and oxidize as it comes into contact with air. On the other hand, it is necessary to know in more detail what each color of period can correspond to. We will explain it to you.

What is the meaning of each color of the period?

Periods can change color during a cycle. Let's see what each shade means.

Bright red or dark blood: the usual color of menstruation

This is the classic color of menstruation. If your period is bright or dark red, there's no need to worry - it's normal. The flow is abundant and the discharge does not stagnate in the body, so it does not have time to oxidize and change color.

Pink period

If your period is pink in color, it can mean several things:

  • An early pregnancy: in the first few days after the fertilized egg implants on the mucous membrane, small bleeding may be observed. They are light in color and do not cause any concern;
  • The beginning of menstruation: blood mixes with the vaginal discharge and stains it slightly;
  • Infection or cancer of the cervix: if this pink bleeding occurs completely outside the cycle, and is not related to the beginning of a pregnancy, it may be a sign of a problem. They should be monitored.

Black or brown periods

At the beginning or end of the period, the flow is usually light. The blood flows more slowly and becomes oxidized. It is the iron in the discharge that will change color and stain the discharge. You can then have a brown or even black period. This phenomenon is not at all worrying, even if it can be surprising. At the beginning of pregnancy, women can experience " anniversary periods ". These are also small, very light bleeding periods that oxidize quickly.

Grey periods

In some cases, menstruation is slightly gray. This is not a normal color for a period and deserves your full attention. It can indicate the beginning of an infection, so it is very important to identify if it is accompanied by other symptoms. In particular, the appearance of the discharge should be monitored. Gray periods can also indicate a miscarriage. If you ever experience them, you should seek advice from your doctor or gynecologist promptly.

Sometimes periods can be orange. This can be a sign of the beginning of an infection. Don't wait to seek advice, especially if you find that your discharge has a different smell than usual.

Is it normal for the color of my period to change?

As you can see, it is common for the color of your period to change. As long as your period is brown, red or black, it is not a cause for concern. If you notice pink or grey periods, do not hesitate to consult your gynecologist for advice. Whatever the color of your period, you can use our Elia panties to absorb the discharge while maintaining maximum comfort in your daily life.

What are the symptoms to watch out for when my period changes color?

If a change in the color of the discharge is normal, for example a black period, it can be worrying if it is accompanied by other symptoms. The following are some of the symptoms to watch out for:

  • intense and unusualpain;
  • change in the consistency of the discharge, which is, for example, thicker or sticky;
  • the duration is also different, with notably longer periods;
  • the discharge is smelly.

In this case, it is strongly recommended to consult a gynecologist quickly for advice.

Like the flow, the color of the period can vary from one cycle to another, or even during the same cycle. If you don't notice any other symptoms, there's no reason to be concerned. If you are unsure, make an appointment with your gynecologist.

FAQs about the color of your period

What does a red period mean?

A red period is normal. They usually turn red in the middle of the cycle, when the discharge is heavy and does not have time to oxidize. These are the most common.

What does a pink period mean?

Pink periods can occur at the very beginning of a period, if blood is mixed with vaginal discharge. They can also occur at the beginning of a pregnancy. Be careful, if they occur outside of the cycle, they may indicate a cancer or a problem. If in doubt, it's best to consult a doctor.

What does a light-colored period mean?

At the beginning of the period, the blood can mix with the vaginal discharge and be lighter in color. It becomes redder as the flow increases.

What does it mean if my period is dark in color?

You may also like :

Couleurs des règles : qu’est-ce que cela signifie ?

Selon les cycles, et parfois même au cours d’un même cycle, la couleur des règles peut varier. Cela peut être un peu déroutant et si ça vous arrive, vous pouvez vous poser des questions. Ce phénomène n’est en lui-même pas inquiétant, mais il est utile de savoir et comprendre pourquoi les couleurs des menstruations peuvent changer.

 

Couleurs des règles : pourquoi sont-elles multiples ?

La première chose à retenir, c’est qu’il est tout à fait normal que les règles changent de couleurs. Durant le cycle, le flux des menstruations n’est pas constant et les femmes ne perdent pas la même quantité de sang tout au long de leurs règes. Au début et à la fin, il y a moins de sang qui s’écoule et celui-ci peut mettre plus de temps à s’évacuer. Il va alors stagner dans le vagin et s’oxyder, car il entre en contact avec de l’air. En revanche, il convient de savoir plus en détail à quoi peut correspondre chaque couleur de règles. Nous allons vous l’expliquer.

Quelle est la signification de chaque couleur des règles ?

Les règles peuvent changer de couleur au cours d’un cycle. Voyons à quoi correspond chaque teinte.

Sang rouge vif ou foncé : la couleur habituelle des règles

C'est la couleur classique des menstruations. Si vos règles sont rouge vif ou foncé, il n’y a pas de raison de s’inquiéter, tout est normal. Le flux est abondant et les pertes ne stagnent pas dans le corps, elles n’ont donc pas le temps de s’oxyder et de changer de couleur.

Règles de couleur rose

Si vos menstruations sont de couleur rose, cela peut signifier plusieurs choses :

  • Un début de grossesse : dans les premiers jours après l’implantation de l’œuf fécondé sur la muqueuse, de petits saignements peuvent être observés. Ils sont de couleur claire et ne sont pas inquiétants ;
  • Le commencement des règles : le sang se mélange alors aux pertes vaginales et les teinte légèrement ;
  • Une infection ou un cancer du col de l’utérus : si ces saignements roses surviennent complètement en dehors du cycle, et ne sont pas liés à un début de grossesse, ils peuvent être le signe d’un problème. Ils méritent donc d’être surveillés.

Règles noires  ou brunes

Au début ou à la fin des règles, le flux est en général peu abondant. Le sang s’écoule moins vite et s’oxyde. C’est le fer présent dans les pertes qui va alors changer de couleur et teinter les pertes. Vous pourrez alors avoir des règles marron, voire noires. Ce phénomène n’est pas du tout inquiétant, même s’il peut surprendre. Au début de la grossesse, les femmes peuvent expérimenter les « règles anniversaire ». Ce sont, là aussi, de petits saignements très peu abondants, qui s’oxydent donc vite.

Règles de couleur grise

Dans certains cas, les menstruations sont légèrement grises. Cette teinte n’est pas normale pour des règles et mérite donc toute votre attention. Elle peut vous indiquer un début d’infection, il est donc très important d’identifier si elles s’accompagnent d’autres symptômes. L’aspect des pertes est notamment à surveiller. Des règles grises peuvent également indiquer une fausse couche. Si vous les expérimentez un jour, il faut aller demander conseil à votre médecin ou gynécologue rapidement.

Parfois, les règles peuvent être orangées. Cela peut être le signe d’un début d’infection. N’attendez pas pour consulter, surtout si vous trouvez que vos pertes ont une odeur différente de celle de d’habitude.

Est-ce normal que la couleur des règles change ?

Vous l’aurez donc compris, il est fréquent que la couleur des règles évolue. Tant que les règles sont marron, rouges, ou noires, cela n’est pas inquiétant. Si vous observez des menstruations roses ou grises, n’hésitez pas à consulter votre gynécologue pour avoir son avis. Quelle que soit la couleur de vos règles, vous pouvez utiliser nos culottes Elia pour absorber les pertes tout en conservant un maximum de confort au quotidien.

Quels sont les symptômes à surveiller lors d'un changement de couleur des règles ?

Si un changement de couleur des pertes est a priori normal, par exemple des règles noires, il peut être inquiétant s’il s’accompagne d’autres symptômes. Les suivants sont notamment à surveiller :

  • douleurs intenses et inhabituelles ;
  • changement dans la consistance des pertes qui sont, par exemple, plus épaisses ou gluantes ;
  • la durée est également différente, avec notamment des règles plus longues ;
  • les pertes sont malodorantes.

Dans ce cas, il est vivement recommandé de consulter un gynécologue rapidement pour avoir son avis.

Tout comme le flux, la couleur des règles peut varier d’un cycle à l’autre, voire durant le même cycle. Si vous n’observez pas d’autres symptômes, il n’y a pas de raison de vous en inquiéter. Si vous avez un doute, prenez rendez-vous chez votre gynécologue.

La FAQ de la couleur des règles

Que signifie des règles de couleur rouge ?

Les règles de couleur rouge sont normales. Elles prennent cette couleur généralement vers le milieu du cycle, lorsque les pertes sont abondantes et n’ont pas le temps de s’oxyder. Ce sont celles qu’on observe en majorité.

Que signifie des règles de couleur rose?

Des règles de couleur rose peuvent survenir au tout début des règles, si le sang est mélangé aux pertes vaginales. Elles peuvent aussi apparaître en début de grossesse. Attention, si elles surviennent en dehors du cycle, elles peuvent signaler un cancer ou un problème. Dans le doute, mieux vaut consulter.

Que signifie des règles de couleur claire ?

Au début des règles, le sang peut se mélanger aux pertes vaginales et être plus clair. Il redevient plus rouge quand le flux s’intensifie.

Que signifie des règles de couleur foncée?

Vous aimerez aussi :