a little-known disease

Endometriosis, a chronic gynecological disease

At the launch of Elia and our organic period panties, we wanted to tell the story of Marion, the founder of the brand, to as many people as possible. To inform but also to allow thousands of people to understand their body, their pains, their periods and finally to potentially put words on their evils.



Qu’est-ce que l’endométriose ?

The fight against endometriosis is a cause that is dear to us. Over the past 3 years, things have evolved but no treatment has yet been found and clinical research on the disease is rare. Marion's visceral desire to fight against endometriosis in order to accelerate awareness of this disease and therefore its treatment is part of the genesis and DNA of the Elia brand.

This is why we support associations that fight against endometriosis and particularly the Foundation for Research and Fight against Endometriosis. Because there are no small contributions, there are only big commitments, we give back a part of our profits and all the people of the team are invested in this fight!

What is endometriosis?

Endometriosis is a chronic gynecological disease that affects an average of 1 in 10 women, or approximately 176 million people worldwide. This inflammatory condition is caused by the presence of endometrial-like tissue outside the uterus in regulated women. There is evenadenomyosis, a form of the disease where the endometrium infiltrates the myometrium and creates intense pain.

The location and depth of endometriosis lesions vary from one woman to another. The feeling, pain and impact on quality of life also vary from one person to another. The symptoms are therefore varied and difficult to understand for the medical staff but also for the patients who suffer from painful periods or chronic pain outside of their periods.

The impact of endometriosis is gynecological pain, infertility... Today, it is unfortunately common for a diagnosis to be made late: up to ten years can pass between the discovery of the first symptoms and the confirmation of the disease.

The chronicity of endometriosis and the menstrual cycles contribute to the growth of endometriosis lesions each month. It is a vicious circle that feeds itself more or less rapidly, depending on the woman. The growth of these endometriosis cells over time leads to the appearance of increasingly large lesions which then cling to and migrate towards the fallopian tubes, vagina, ovaries, colon, ureters and diaphragm. Sometimes, it can even happen that the endometriosis attaches itself to the sacral nerves or the sciatic nerves.

The story of Marion, founder of elia
A personal story

A long-lasting, silent inflammatory disease that gives signs of life for a while without ever really revealing itself...

Then one day, sometimes after months or years of pelvic pain, heavy periods, urinary discomfort, disturbed sexual relations, aborted pregnancy plans, you finally manage to find a cause, to put a name to what you have:endometriosis. It is a long road: very long delays in diagnosis and endless waiting for painful examinations.

This is the story of Marion, the founder of Elia, but it may also be yours, that of your daughter, your mother, or a loved one in your circle.

Elia gives back 10% of its profits
The fight against endometriosis, a cause we care about

Women suffering from endometriosis can go through several stages (hysteroscopy, laparoscopy, removal of the ovaries, tubes, artificial menopause, continuous pill...). However, no treatment has yet been found and clinical research is rare around the disease.

Marion's visceral desire to fight against endometriosis in order to accelerate the awareness of this disease and therefore its treatment is part of the genesis and DNA of the Elia brand.

This is why we support associations fighting against endometriosis. 10% of Elia's profits are donated to research projects and to support women facing this disease. In this way, each of your purchases contributes to making endometriosis known to the general public. Because there are no small contributions, there are only big commitments.

What are the main symptoms of endometriosis?

The symptoms and pain of endometriosis vary for each woman:

- Very painful periods, pain that prevents you from living your day normally. Endometriosis is a disease that is totally linked to hormonal activity and therefore to menstrual cycles. The pain is therefore accentuated when you have your period and your body produces inflammation! Approximately 70% of women who have endometriosis have disabling pain in their daily lives. Even outside of menstruation.

- Heavy periods, which exceed 80 ml of fluid loss - you can do the Higham test

- Pain during and after sex! It is not normal to have pain during sex. Endometriosis are cells that are lodged all over the place and in this case, they will come to the vagina or create cysts around the uterus, making certain sexual positions complicated. A large majority of women who suffer from pain during sexual intercourse have pain in the depths but also by reflex contraction of the perineum and the vagina during penetration.

- Pain during defecation or urination! When endometriosis adhesions settle in the digestive tract, some women have digestive problems and regularly experience diarrhea or constipation.

- Lower back pain or lumbar pain

- Chronic and lasting fatigue that does not go away after resting or taking magnesium or iron

- Difficulty having a natural pregnancy with endometriosis, usually after at least 12 months of trying for a baby. It is estimated that 30 to 50% of women with endometriosis suffer from infertility. This is due to ovulation disorders, endometriosis lesions on the reproductive system, a decrease in ovarian reserve, difficulties in having an embryonic implantation, obstruction of the fallopian tubes.

Is endometriosis benign?

Endometriosis lesions can behave like real tumors but rest assured, they are benign. The lesions infiltrate and deform the organs and disrupt their normal functioning, which makes the disease very complicated to manage for people with endometriosis.

What causes endometriosis?

Endometriosis is a very complex disease. It is a Trojan horse that fascinates many researchers and doctors. The various studies explain and agree that endometriosis appears 50% for genetic reasons and 50% for environmental reasons.

Certain mechanisms in the body also play a role in the development of the disease. Among these mechanisms we can distinguish

- Retrograde periods or retrograde menstruation. These are women who do not eliminate their periods correctly. The menstrual blood ends up implanting itself in the uterine cavity, the organs to create endometriosis lesions.

- Heredity - The French National Authority for Health (HAS) and the French National College of Gynecologists and Obstetricians (CNGOF) explain that the risk of developing endometriosis for first-degree relatives is 5 times higher than in the general population.

- The transformation of peritoneal cells into endometriosis. These are membranes that support the organs of the abdomen.

- The passage of uterine endometrial cells into the bloodstream at the time of menstruation causes the endometrium to migrate to other organs. This is also why endometriosis is sometimes associated with cancers or tumors. The mode of migration is essentially the same

- Endocrine disruptors are not innocent in the appearance of the disease. In fact, the WHO describes endocrine disruptors as substances or mixtures that alter the functions of the endocrine system. This system is itself a set of tissues and interactions that communicate with the rest of the body. Certain persistent organic pollutants such as polychlorinated biphenyls, organochlorine pesticides, dioxins, etc. have an impact on the endometrium.

How is endometriosis treated?

To date, there is no treatment for endometriosis, as this disease is incurable. It is very complex to diagnose and has various forms. However, various treatments are possible to reduce the proliferation of cells and limit the impact on daily life, sometimes with varying degrees of success:

1- Prevent the coming of menstruation with a hormonal treatment! By taking the pill, the body will be deprived of estrogen. This will prevent the woman from having her period. In fact, the endometriosis lesions on the organs will bleed at the same time as the periods and create microhemorrhages, which will create adhesions and cysts.

2- Artificial menopause which suppresses ovulation and menstruation for a certain period of time.

3- Surgical treatment is an abrasive and complex procedure. Endometriosis surgery must be performed by endometriosis experts.

Tell us about your background

This story is also yours?

Does this disease affect you in any way? Be assured of our full support in your fight against the disease. Do not hesitate to contact us to tell us about your experience.

Speaking up
How is endometriosis diagnosed?

As explained above, endometriosis has as many facets as there are menstruating women. Some symptoms of endometriosis may be striking for you and should prompt you to consult a specialized doctor, a gynecologist or a midwife.

There are several techniques for diagnosing endometriosis. Not all of them are 100% reliable.

1-Pelvic ultrasound, which allows the internal organs to be visualized, particularly the cervix. To do this, an endo-vaginal ultrasound must be performed by introducing a probe into the vagina. This examination is very useful for detecting the presence of ovarian cysts.
2-MRI provides 2 or 3D views. It gives an observation of soft tissues such as internal organs. MRI can detect cysts, lesions or nodules of endometriosis. MRI is used to complement and confirm an ultrasound report.
3-Hysterography or hysterosalpingography is an examination of the uterus and fallopian tubes to look for uterine malformations and adhesions in the fallopian tubes. It is particularly practiced when there are additional examinations in the exploration of fertility.
4 -Endorectal ultrasound is an ultrasound performed with a probe that is introduced into the rectum in order to detect deep lesions that could affect the rectum.
5 - Virtual colonoscopy, uroscanner or air colonoscanner allows a fine exploration of the entire rectum and colon and ureters. It is indicated in the search for very deep endometriosis!
6- Laparoscopy, also called laparoscopy, is a surgical procedure that consists of introducing a small camera via the navel and various instruments. Laparoscopy allows a complete assessment of endometriosis to be made because the surgeon will be able to have a global view of all the lesions. Laparoscopy is most generally indicated in the event of the need for surgery and is no longer really used as a diagnostic tool as it is considered too abrasive.

une maladie méconnue

L’endométriose, une maladie gynécologique chronique

Au lancement d’Elia et de notre culotte de règles bio, nous avons voulu raconter l’histoire de Marion, la fondatrice de la marque, au plus grand nombre. Pour informer mais aussi pour permettre à des milliers de personnes de comprendre leur corps, leurs douleurs, leurs règles et enfin de potentiellement mettre des mots sur leurs maux.



Qu’est-ce que l’endométriose ?

La lutte contre l'endométriose est une cause qui nous est chère. Depuis 3 ans, les choses ont évolué mais aucun traitement n'a encore été trouvé à ce jour et les recherches cliniques sont rares autour de la maladie. L'envie viscérale de Marion de lutter contre l'endométriose pour accélérer la prise de conscience de cette maladie et donc sa prise en charge fait partie de la genèse et l'ADN de la marque Elia.

C’est pour cela que nous soutenons des associations qui luttent contre l’endométriose et particulièrement la Fondation de Recherche et de lutte contre l’Endométriose. Car il n'y a pas de petites contributions, il n'y a que de grands engagements, nous reversons une partie de nos bénéfices et toutes les personnes de l’équipe sont investies dans cette lutte !

L'endométriose, c'est quoi ?

L’endométriose est une maladie gynécologique chronique qui touche en moyenne 1 femme sur 10, soit environ 176 millions de personnes dans le monde. Cette affection inflammatoire est causée par la présence d'un tissu semblable à l’endomètre en dehors de l’utérus chez les femmes réglées. Il existe même l'adénomyose, une forme de la maladie où l'endomètre infiltre le myomètre et crée d'intenses douleurs.

La localisation et la profondeur des lésions de l’endométriose sont différentes d’une femme à l’autre. Le ressenti, les douleurs et les impacts sur la qualité de vie sont aussi variables d’une personne à une autre. Les symptômes sont donc variés et difficiles à appréhender pour le personnel médical mais aussi pour les patientes qui souffrent de règles douloureuses ou de douleurs chroniques en dehors des règles. 

Les impacts de l’endométriose sont des douleurs gynécologiques, une infertilité... Aujourd’hui il est malheureusement fréquent qu’un diagnostic soit tardif : une dizaine d'années peut s'écouler entre la découverte des premiers symptômes et la confirmation de la maladie.

La chronicité de l’endométriose et les cycles menstruels participent à la croissance des lésions de l’endométriose chaque mois. C’est un cercle vicieux qui s’alimente plus ou moins rapidement différemment en fonction des femmes. La croissance de ces cellules d’endométriose au fil du temps conduit à l’apparition de lésions de plus en plus volumineuses qui vont ensuite s’accrocher et migrer vers les trompes, le vagin, les ovaires, le côlon, les uretères, le diaphragme. Parfois, il peut même arriver que l’endométriose s’accroche dans les nerfs sacrés ou les nerfs sciatiques.

L'histoire de Marion, fondatrice d'elia
Une histoire personnelle

Une maladie inflammatoire durable, silencieuse qui donne des signes de vie pendant un temps sans jamais vraiment se dévoiler...

Puis un jour, parfois après des mois, des années, de douleurs pelviennes, de règles abondantes, d'inconforts urinaires, de rapports sexuels perturbés, de projets de grossesse avortés, on arrive enfin à trouver une cause, à mettre un nom sur ce que l'on a : l'endométriose. Le chemin est de longue haleine : des délais de diagnostics très longs et une attente interminable pour des examens douloureux.

Cette histoire, c'est celle de Marion, la fondatrice d'Elia, mais c'est peut être aussi la vôtre, celle de votre fille, votre mère, ou d'une femme chère de votre entourage.

Elia reverse 10% de son bénéfice
La lutte contre l'endométriose, une cause qui nous est chère

Les femmes atteintes d’endométriose peuvent passer par plusieurs étapes (hystéroscopie, cœlioscopie, ablations des ovaires, des trompes, ménopause artificielle, pilule en continue...). Pourtant aucun traitement n'a encore été trouvé à ce jour et les recherches cliniques sont rares autour de la maladie.

L'envie viscérale de Marion de lutter contre l'endométriose pour accélérer la prise de conscience de cette maladie et donc sa prise en charge fait partie de la genèse et l'ADN de la marque Elia.

C’est pour cela que nous soutenons des associations qui luttent contre l’endométriose. 10% du bénéfice d'Elia est reversé pour des projets de recherche et soutien des femmes face à cette maladie. Ainsi, chacun de vos achats contribue à ce que l'endométriose soit connue du grand public. Car il n'y a pas de petites contributions, il n'y a que de grands engagements.

Quels sont les principaux symptômes de l’endométriose ?

Les symptômes et douleurs de l'endométriose varie pour chaque femme :

- Des règles très douloureuses, des douleurs qui vous empêchent de vivre votre journée normalement. L’endométriose est une maladie qui est totalement liée à l’activité hormonale et donc aux cycles menstruels.  Les douleurs sont donc accentuées quand vous avez vos règles et que votre corps produit une inflammation ! Environ 70 % des femmes qui ont de l’endométriose ont des douleurs invalidantes dans leur quotidien. Même en dehors des règles. 

- Des règles abondantes, qui dépassent 80 ml de liquide perdu - vous pouvez faire le test de Higham

- Des douleurs pendant et après les rapports sexuels ! Ce n’est pas normal d’avoir des douleurs pendant les rapports sexuels. L’endométriose sont des cellules qui se logent un peu partout et dans ce cas précis, elles vont venir se placer dans le vagin ou créer des kystes autour de l’utérus, rendant certaines positions sexuelles compliquées.  Une grande majorité des femmes qui souffrent de douleurs pendant les rapports sexuels  ont des douleurs en profondeur mais aussi par réflexe de contraction du périnée et du vagin à la pénétration. 

- Des douleurs à la défécation ou pendant la miction ! Quand les adhérences de l’endométriose s’installent dans la sphère digestive, certaines femmes ont des troubles digestifs et vont régulièrement avoir des diarrhées ou des constipations.   

- Des douleurs dans le bas du dos ou des douleurs lombaires 

- Une fatigue chronique et durable qui ne passe pas après un repos ou une prise de magnésium, de fer

- Des difficultés à avoir naturellement une grossesse avec l'endométriose, généralement après au moins 12 mois d’essais bébé. Il est estimé que 30 à 50 % des femmes qui ont de l’endométriose souffrent d’infertilité. Cela s’explique par des troubles de  l’ovulation, des lésions d’endométriose sur  le système reproducteur, une diminution de la réserve ovarienne, des difficultés à avoir une implantation embryonnaire, une obstruction des trompes de Fallope. 

L’endométriose est-elle bénigne ?

Les lésions d’endométriose peuvent se comporter comme de véritables tumeurs mais rassurez-vous, elles sont bénignes.  Les lésions infiltrent et déforment les organes et perturbent leur fonctionnement normal ce qui rend la maladie très compliquée à gérer pour les personnes atteintes d’endométriose.

Quelles sont les causes de l’endométriose ?

L’endométriose est une maladie très complexe. C’est un cheval de Troie qui passionne beaucoup de chercheurs et de médecins. Les différentes études expliquent et s’accordent à dire que l’endométriose apparaît à 50% pour des raisons génétiques et 50% pour des raisons environnementales. 

Certains mécanismes du corps vont aussi être des terrains pour le développement de la maladie. Parmi ces mécanismes on va distinguer :

- Les règles rétrogrades ou les menstruations rétrogrades. Ce sont des femmes qui ne vont pas éliminer correctement leurs règles. Le sang menstruel finit par s’implanter dans la cavité utérine, les organes pour créer des lésions d’endométriose.

- L’hérédité - La Haute Autorité de Santé (HAS) et le Collège National des Gynécologues et Obstétriciens Français (CNGOF) expliquent que le le risque de développer une endométriose pour les apparentées au premier degré est 5 fois plus élevé que dans la population générale.

- La transformation des cellules de péritoine en endométriose. Ce sont des membranes qui soutiennent les organes de l’abdomen. 

- Le passage des cellules de l’endomètre utérin dans le sang au moment des règles fait migrer l'endomètre vers d’autres organes. C’est aussi pour cela que l’endométriose est parfois associée à des cancers ou tumeurs. Le mode de migration est sensiblement le même

- Les perturbateurs endocriniens ne seraient pas innocents dans l’apparition de la maladie. En effet, les perturbateurs endocriniens sont qualifiés par l’OMS comme des substances ou mélanges qui altèrent les fonctions du système endocrinien. Ce système est lui-même un ensemble de tissus, d’interactions qui communiquent avec le reste de l’organisme. Certains polluants organiques persistants comme les polychlorobiphényles, les pesticides organochlorés, les dioxines qui impacteraient l’endomètre.

Comment soigner l'endométriose ?

Il n'existe à ce jour pas de traitements pour l'endométriose, cette maladie est incurable. Très complexe à diagnostiquer, elle a des formes variées. Cependant, différents traitements sont tout de même possibles pour réduire la prolifération des cellules et limiter les impacts sur la vie du quotidien, parfois avec plus ou moins de succès :

1- Empêcher la venue des règles avec un traitement hormonal ! Par la prise de la pilule, le corps va être privé d’œstrogène. On empêchera ainsi la femme d’avoir ses règles. En effet, les lésions d’endométriose sur les organes vont saigner en même temps que les règles et créer de micros hémorragies ce qui va créer des adhérences et kystes. 

2- La ménopause artificielle qui supprime l’ovulation et les règles pendant un certain temps.

3- Le traitement chirurgical est un acte abrasif et complexe. Une chirurgie de l’endométriose doit être réalisée par des experts de l’endométriose. 

Racontez-nous votre parcours

Cette histoire est aussi la vôtre ?

Cette maladie vous touche de près ou de loin ? Soyez assurée de tout notre soutien dans votre combat contre la maladie. N'hésitez pas à nous contacter pour nous raconter votre vécu.

Prendre la parole
Comment se diagnostique l’endométriose ?

Comme expliqué plus haut, l’endométriose a autant de facettes que de personnes menstruées. Quelques symptômes de l’endométriose peuvent être frappants pour vous et doivent vous pousser à consulter un médecin spécialisé, un gynécologue ou une sage femme.

Il existe plusieurs techniques pour effectuer un diagnostic de l’endométriose. Toutes ne sont pas fiables à 100%. 

1- L’échographie pelvienne qui permet de visualiser les organes internes notamment le col de l’utérus. Pour cela, il faut pratiquer une échographie endo-vaginale par l’introduction d’une sonde dans le vagin. Cet examen est très utile pour détecter la présence de kystes ovariens.
2- L’IRM permet d’obtenir des vues en 2 ou 3D. Il donne une observation des tissus mous comme les organes internes. L’IRM permet de détecter des kystes, des lésions ou des nodules d’endométriose. L’IRM vient en complément et confirme un compte rendu d’échographie.
3- L’hystérographie ou hystérosalpingographie est un examen de l’utérus et des trompes et permet de rechercher des malformations utérines, des adhérences dans les trompes. Il est notamment pratiqué dès lors qu’il y a des examens complémentaires dans l’exploration de la fertilité. 
4 - L’échographie endorectale est une échographie réalisée grâce à une sonde que l’on introduit dans le rectum afin de détecter des lésions profondes qui pourraient toucher le rectum. 
5 - La coloscopie virtuelle, uroscanner ou le coloscanner à l’air permet une exploration fine de l’ensemble du rectum et du côlon et des uretères. Il est indiqué dans la recherche d’une endométriose très profonde !
6- La cœlioscopie aussi appelée la laparoscopie est une intervention chirurgicale qui consiste à l'introduction d’une petite caméra via le nombril et de différents instruments. La coelioscopie permet d’établir un bilan complet d’endométriose car le chirurgien va pouvoir avoir une vision globale de toutes les lésions. La coelioscopie est le plus généralement indiquée en cas de besoin d’intervention chirurgicale et n’est plus vraiment utilisée comme outil de diagnostic car jugée trop abrasive.