Everything you need to know about the history of sanitary protection!

In the past, the issue of sanitary protection during menstruation was not a priority at all and one had to resort to makeshift solutions. Since then, things have changed: let's discover the history of feminine hygiene and the different inventions that led to the modern solutions we know today.

Hygienic protection from prehistory to antiquity

In 1550 B.C., there is evidence of the use of menstrual protection. During the Antiquity, the techniques used are different according to the countries: for the Egyptian women, they will make a kind of tampon, with softened papyrus. In Ancient Greece, during their periods, women protected themselves as best they could: with pieces of cloth or small sticks rolled up with linen.

Protections in the Middle Ages

But with religion, in the Middle Ages, it became inconceivable that women could introduce anything into their vagina to protect themselves during their period. So they had period petticoats to wipe the flow that ran down their thighs. In the more affluent families, they had menstrual cloths, called "chauffoirs" and held in place by cloth belts... Most of their protection was "homemade". All this was very impractical.

Some historians even think that at that time menstruating people were forced to isolate themselves during their period, which is called the rite of menstrual seclusion. Many practiced a bit of free instinctive flow, which they were forced to do.

At that time, the knowledge of the menstrual cycle was also less (ovulation was only discovered in the 19th century). The lack of knowledge meant fear and mistrust: in the Middle Ages and all the beliefs in witches etc., menstrual discharge could be seen as evil, especially heavy periods or gynecological diseases (such as endometriosis). Others thought that menstruation was a sign of life and fertility.

The appearance of the first modern menstrual protection in the 20th century

It was at the end of the 19th century that sanitary belts appeared to retain strips of fabric. It is in particular the work of Louis Pasteur with the theory of germs, which contributed to show the importance of the intimate hygiene. During the industrial revolution, the cotton spinning machine made fabric much more accessible to everyone. Sanitary belts were a much more absorbent and comfortable method for users. With this invention, the towels are washable and reusable.

The first sanitary napkin in 1920

During the First World War, nurses experimented with the idea of absorbent cotton wrapped in gauze pads. Indeed, they realize that what is used to look after the wounds of the soldiers and in particular what absorbs their blood, would be also very useful to absorb the menstrual flow. These were the beginnings of disposable towels.

It is the company Kimberly Clark which will develop the first disposable cotton sanitary towel. They were held by belts at the size.

The Tampax disposable tampon in 1930

In the 1930s, the doctor Carl Cleveland Haas developed the first disposable tampons, which were marketed under the Tampax brand. At the beginning of this invention, certain myths persisted, many were persuaded that by using tampons, one was going to lose his virginity: it was thus still rather badly seen by the society to introduce something in its vagina.

Reusable sanitary protection in 1960

It is after the second world war that the tampon will really be democratized. From 1960 onwards, menstruating people could buy their disposable protection without worrying, and it became more and more practical. It is a true revolution. But in 1979, there were tragedies due to toxic shock syndrome and the use of tampons. This will not prevent the progression of this method, but rather reinforce the controls.

Even if the word seems to be gradually freed on the subject of the female cycle in the popular culture with the arrival of disposable sanitary protections, the brands continued to make reign the taboo around the menstruations for a long time: indeed, in the publicity, the blood was replaced by a blue liquid.

The panty liner in the 2000s

In the early 2000s, variations of the sanitary napkin appeared, with the panty liner, a lighter variant adapted to the low-cut underwear fashion of the moment (tanga, thong...).
Washable and reusable methods of classic protection are starting to appear timidly: cup, reusable pads...

In 2022, a wide range of sanitary protection for women

For some time now, there is a real awareness of the toxicity and dangerousness of some chemicals used in disposable protection. In particular, in 2018, the National Agency for Food, Environmental and Occupational Health Safety published a report presenting the chemical substances found in most conventional pads and tampons. These substances, even in small doses, are important endocrine disruptors and have carcinogenic effects. As a result, several alternatives have been democratized: the cup, washable pads and menstrual panties. The composition of the latter is much healthier, and at Elia, it has obviously become our alternative of choice!

The advantages of the menstrual panties are numerous: when it is in organic cotton and Oeko-Tex, it is respectful of our health, of the environment, and super comfortable! Moreover, according to your flow, you can keep it up to 12 hours: 12 hours of comfort and peace, without risks of leakage nor bad smells! Indeed, our Elia panties are certified Oeko-Tex, organic, and Origine France Garantie, to guarantee you the best for your feminine hygiene.

The FAQ of the history of the sanitary protections

How did women do it before sanitary napkins?

Before the invention of sanitary napkins, they had makeshift solutions, such as rolled up strips of fabric to absorb menstrual blood loss.

How did women in the Middle Ages deal with menstruation?

In those days, they let their periods flow, and wiped what dripped down their thighs with their petticoats. The more affluent had the luxury of attaching a cloth with a strip of fabric to their belt.

Who invented sanitary napkins?

The Kimberly Clark company markets the first sanitary napkins, inspired by the nurses' home-made solutions during the First World War.

Who invented the tampon?

The modern tampon is born in the 30s, thanks to the American doctor Carl Cleveland Haas, inspired by a friend who absorbed the menstrual flow by putting a sponge in her vagina. Tampax will market it thereafter.


You will also like :

Comment ont évolué les protections hygiéniques au cours de l'histoire ?

Autrefois, la question de la protection des femmes pendant les règles n’était absolument pas abordée. C’était même un sujet tabou dont il ne fallait pas parler.

Sommaire

  • Les protections hygiéniques et menstruations pendant l'Antiquité
  • Les règles au Moyen-Âge
  • La révolution industrielle
  • De quand date le début des protections jetables ?


Les protections hygiéniques et menstruations pendant l'Antiquité

C’est en 1550 avant Jésus Christ que vont être confectionnées les premières protections périodiques. Pendant l'Antiquité, les techniques utilisées sont différentes en fonction des pays : pour les Égyptiennes, elles vont fabriquer les premiers tampons, avec du papyrus ramolli. En Grèce Antique, pendant leurs règles, les femmes se protégeaient un peu comme elles le pouvaient : avec des bouts de tissus ou des petits bâtonnets enroulés de lin.

Les règles au Moyen-Âge

Mais avec la religion, au Moyen-Âge, il est devenu inconcevable que les femmes puissent introduire quoi que ce soit dans leur vagin pour se protéger pendant leur règles. Elles avaient donc des jupons de règles pour essuyer le sang qui s’écoulait le long des cuisses. Dans les familles les plus aisées, les femmes avaient des chiffons pour leur règles, appelés chauffoirs maintenus grâce à des ceintures de tissus… La majorité de leur protection étaient “faites maison”. Tout cela était très peu pratique. 

Certains historiens pensent même qu’à cette époque les personnes menstruées étaient contraintes de s’isoler pendant leur règles, ce qui est appelé le rite de réclusion menstruelle. Beaucoup de femmes pratiquaient un peu de façon contrainte d’ailleurs, le flux instinctif libre.

À cette période, les connaissances du cycle menstruel sont également très moindres (l’ovulation n’a été découverte qu’au 19ème siècle). Qui dit méconnaissance, dit peur et méfiance : à l’époque du Moyen-Âge et de toutes les croyances dans les sorcières etc., les règles pouvaient être vus comme maléfique, en particulier pour les femmes qui avaient des règles abondantes ou des maladies gynécologiques (comme l’endométriose) et donc étaient mise à l’écart. D’autres pensaient que les règles étaient en revanche un signe de fertilité. 

La révolution industrielle

C’est à la fin du 19ème siècle que sont apparus les premières ceintures sanitaires pour retenir des bandes de tissus. Ce sont notamment les travaux de Louis Pasteur avec la théorie des germes, qui a contribué à montrer l’importance de l’hygiène intime. Pendant la révolution industrielle, la machine à filer le coton permet de rendre le tissu beaucoup plus accessible pour tout le monde. Les ceintures sanitaires étaient des méthodes d'absorption beaucoup plus absorbante et confortable pour les femmes. Avec cette invention, les serviettes sont donc lavables et réutilisables.

De quand date le début des protections jetables ?

C’est pendant la première guerre mondiale que des infirmières vont expérimenter l’idée de la ouate enroulées dans des compresses de gaze. En effet, elles se rendent compte que ce qui sert à soigner les blessures des soldats et notamment ce qui absorbe leur sang, serait aussi très utile pour absorber le sang menstruel. 

Ce seront les débuts des serviettes jetables. 

C’est l’entreprise Kimberly Clark qui va mettre au point la première serviette hygiénique jetable en coton. Elles étaient tenues par des ceintures à la taille.

Dans les années 1930, le médecin Carl Cleveland Haas va mettre au point les premiers tampons hygiéniques jetables qui seront commercialisés sous la marque Tampax. Au début de cette invention, certains mythes persistaient, beaucoup étaient persuadés qu’en utilisant des tampons, les femmes allaient perdre leur virginité, il était donc encore plutôt mal vu socialement que des femmes introduisent quelque chose dans leur vagin. 

C’est après la seconde guerre mondiale que le tampon va réellement être démocratisé. À partir des années 1960, les femmes peuvent acheter sans soucis leurs protections hygiéniques jetables, qui par ailleurs deviennent de plus en plus pratiques. C’est une vraie révolution. Mais, c’est dans les années 1979, que surviennent les premiers drames dus au syndrome du choc toxique et l’utilisation de tampon. Ce qui ne va pas empêcher la progression de cette protection hygiénique, mais plutôt renforcer les contrôles. 

Même si la parole semble peu à peu se libérer aux sujets des règles avec l’arrivée des protections hygiéniques jetables, les marques ont continué à faire régner le tabou autour des règles pendant longtemps : en effet, dans les publicités, le sang était remplacé par un liquide bleu. 

Depuis plusieurs années déjà, on assiste à une vraie prise de conscience de la toxicité et dangerosité de certains produits chimiques utilisés dans les protections hygiéniques jetables. C’est notamment en 2018, que l’Agence nationale de sécurité sanitaire de l’alimentation, de l’environnement et du travail a publié un rapport présentant les substances chimiques retrouvées dans la plupart des serviettes et tampons hygiéniques jetables conventionnels. Ces substances, même à faible doses, sont d’importants perturbateurs endocriniens et ont des effets cancérigènes. Résultat, plusieurs alternatives se sont démocratisées : la cup, les serviettes lavables et les culottes menstruelles. La composition de ces dernières est beaucoup plus saine.

Depuis le début des années 2000, les méthodes lavables et réutilisables des protections hygiéniques réapparaissent et de plus en plus de femmes les adoptent ! Cup, serviettes réutilisables, culottes menstruelles…. Les avantages de ce type de protections sont nombreux : choisi bio et Oeko-Tex (pour les serviettes et culottes) elles sont respectueuses de notre santé, de l’environnement, et super confortables ! En plus, selon votre flux, vous pouvez la garder jusqu’à 12h ! 12h de confort et de tranquillité, sans risques de fuites ni de mauvaises odeurs !

En effet, nos culottes Elia sont certifiés Oeko-Tex, bio, et Origine France Garantie, pour vous garantir le meilleur pour votre santé. 

Vous pouvez découvrir tous nos modèles de culottes menstruelles !

 


Vous aimerez aussi :