Early periods: is this normal?

Having your period late is scary, but having it early can be surprising and make you wonder if everything is okay. In this article, we look at the possible causes of early periods and when medical advice may be useful.


Early periods: should you be concerned?

First of all, don't worry, there is nothing to worry about when your period comes early. It can happen to all women, and 30% of them will never have a regular period in their lives. If you notice variations in your cycle and your period is early, don't hesitate to note the dates to see how often it happens. This way, you can tell your gynecologist at your next appointment to get his or her opinion.

Why do periods come early?

A menstrual cycle that is shorter than usual can have many causes, in fact, the length of the period can vary from one month to another. Let's look at the most common ones.

A biological change

Over the course of her life, a woman will experience several biological changes. First of all, at the beginning of her period, it is often irregular. The quantity of hormones emitted in the body takes a little time to stabilize, which can lead to early or late periods. Menopause also affects the length of the menstrual cycle. Menstruation can be 10 or 15 days early at this time, alternating with very long cycles. Early periods are sometimes a sign of pregnancy, in which case they take the form of small amounts of bleeding called anniversary periods.

A change in body shape or lifestyle

Weight has a strong impact on menstruation. It is not uncommon for periods to become irregular or even stop altogether if you lose a lot of weight. Practicing sports can also be a factor. Exercise releases a lot of hormones, such as endorphins or dopamine, which can affect the cycle. A disruption in your routine, such as travel, can also disrupt your period because your biological clock is out of sync.

A major source of stress

Stress causes chemical changes in the body, again because of hormones. Cortisol, for example, can interrupt the secretion of reproductive hormones and thus disrupt the menstrual cycle. Note that stress can cause both early and late periods.

A chronic disorder or infection

Finally, an early period can be a sign of an STI (Sexually Transmitted Infection), or of diseases such as ovarian cysts or tumors. This is why you should not hesitate to ask your doctor's advice during your annual check-ups. If other symptoms accompany these disturbances, consult your doctor without delay.

How can you tell the difference between early periods and spotting?

Outside of the menstrual period, it is common to have a small discharge called spotting. These are often brown, because the blood is present in small quantities, it takes time to be evacuated and stagnates in the vagina. It then comes into contact with the air and oxidizes. Spottings generally last 1 or 2 days, unlike early periods, which last for the duration of a normal period.

Can I get my period early on the pill?

Periods on the pill are not "real" periods. In fact, the pill contains hormones and when it is stopped for a few days, discharge is caused by withdrawal bleeding. The body no longer receives the usual hormones and this causes blood loss. Early "periods" on the pill can happen if the pill is not taken regularly. This causes withdrawal bleeding to occur earlier than expected.

Women with very irregular cycles may be prescribed the pill to remedy this problem.

How can I prevent early periods?

If you are prone to early periods, you can use external protection a few days before your "usual" period starts. A panty liner, for example, will save your underwear, but it is not necessarily recommended to wear it too often during the month. Menstrual panties are ideal. They are comfortable and above all very practical to use, like a classic underwear. At Elia, we offer many different models to fit your needs. The panties for light flow will be moreover very indicated for this situation.

Not necessarily very pleasant, early periods are not serious and can have various causes. To avoid unpleasant surprises, trust Elia panties.

The FAQ of early periods

Is it possible to have your period 10 days early ?

Yes, it is possible, especially for women who are approaching menopause. Hormonal disturbances can cause delays of 10 or even 15 days.

What causes early periods?


You will also like:

Règles en avance : est-ce normal ?

Avoir ses règles en retard est angoissant, mais les avoir en avance peut être surprenant et on peut se demander si tout va bien. Revenons, dans cet article, sur les causes possibles des règles en avance et dans quels cas un avis médical peut s’avérer utile.


Règles en avance : faut-il s'en inquiéter ?

Tout d’abord, rassurez-vous, non, il n’y a rien d’inquiétant à avoir ses règles en avance. Ça peut arriver à toutes les femmes, d’ailleurs, 30 % d’entre elles n’auront jamais de leur vie des menstruations régulières. Si vous remarquez des variations dans votre cycle et que vos règles sont en avance, n’hésitez pas à noter les dates pour voir si cela se produit souvent. Vous pourrez ainsi en faire part à votre gynécologue lors de votre prochain rendez-vous pour avoir son avis.

Pourquoi les règles arrivent-elles en avance ?

Un cycle menstruel plus court que d’habitude peut avoir plein de causes, en effet, la durée des règles peut varier d'un mois à l'autre. Voyons les plus fréquentes.

Un changement biologique

Au cours de sa vie, une femme va vivre plusieurs changements biologiques. Tout d’abord, au début des règles, elles sont souvent irrégulières. La quantité d’hormones émises dans le corps met un peu de temps à se stabiliser, ce qui peut entraîner des menstruations en avance, ou des retards de règles . La ménopause a également une influence sur la durée du cycle menstruel. Les règles peuvent être en avance de 10 ou 15 jours à cette période, en alternance avec des cycles très longs. Des règles en avance sont parfois un signe de grossesse, elles se présentent alors sous la forme de petits saignements appelés règles anniversaires.

Un changement de morphologie ou de mode de vie

Le poids a un fort impact sur les règles. Il n’est pas rare, en cas de forte perte de poids, que les règles deviennent irrégulières, voire s’arrêtent complètement. La pratique d’un sport peut aussi être en cause. L’exercice physique permet de libérer plein d’hormones, notamment des endorphines ou de la dopamine, ce qui peut influer sur le cycle. Une perturbation dans sa routine comme un voyage peut aussi dérégler les menstruations, car l’horloge biologique est décalée.

Une grande source de stress

Le stress cause des changements chimiques dans le corps, encore une fois à cause des hormones. Le cortisol, par exemple, peut interrompre la sécrétion d’hormones reproductrices et donc perturber le cycle menstruel. Notez que le stress peut être à l’origine de règles en avance, mais aussi en retard.

Un trouble chronique ou une infection

Enfin, des règles en avance peuvent signaler une IST (Infection Sexuellement Transmissible), ou bien des maladies comme des kystes ovariens ou des tumeurs. C’est pourquoi il ne faut pas hésiter à demander l’avis de son médecin lors des rendez-vous de contrôle annuels. Si d’autres symptômes accompagnent ces dérèglements, consultez sans attendre.

Comment différencier les règles en avance des spottings ?

En dehors des périodes de règles, il est fréquent d’avoir des petites pertes appelées spottings. Ces dernières sont souvent marronnes, car le sang étant présent en faible quantité, il met du temps à être évacué et stagne dans le vagin. Il entre alors au contact de l’air et s’oxyde. Les spottings durent généralement 1 ou 2 jours, contrairement aux règles en avance qui s’étendront sur la durée des règles classiques.

Peut-on avoir ses règles en avance sous pilule ?

Les règles pendant la pilule ne sont pas de « vraies » règles. En effet, la pilule contient des hormones et lorsqu’on l’arrête pendant quelques jours, des pertes sont causées par des hémorragies de privation. Le corps ne reçoit plus les hormones habituelles et cela cause des pertes de sang. Les « règles » en avance sous pilule peuvent arriver si la pilule n’est pas prise de façon régulière. L’hémorragie de privation survient alors plus tôt que prévu.

Les femmes aux cycles très irréguliers peuvent se voir prescrire la pilule afin de remédier à ce problème.

Comment se prémunir des règles en avance ?

Si vous êtes sujette aux règles en avance, vous pouvez utiliser des protections externes quelques jours avant le début « habituel » de vos menstruations. Un protège-slip, par exemple, épargnera votre lingerie, mais il n’est pas forcément recommandé d’en porter trop souvent dans le mois. L’idéal sera la culotte menstruelle. Elle est confortable et surtout très pratique à utiliser, comme un sous-vêtement classique. Chez Elia, nous proposons plein de modèles différents pour s’adapter à votre besoin. Les culottes pour flux léger seront d’ailleurs tout indiquées pour cette situation.

Pas forcément très agréables, les règles en avance ne sont pourtant pas graves et peuvent avoir diverses causes. Pour éviter les mauvaises surprises, faites confiance aux culottes Elia.

La FAQ des règles en avance

Est-il possible d'avoir ses règles 10 jours en avance ?

Oui, c’est tout à fait possible, notamment pour les femmes arrivant à la ménopause. Les dérèglements hormonaux peuvent causer des retards de 10, voire 15 jours.

Quelles sont les causes des règles en avance ?


Vous aimerez aussi :