Black periods: should you be concerned? Causes and solutions

Have you noticed changes in the color of your blood loss during your period? Are you wondering about this unusual black discharge? Although they can be impressive, black periods are not uncommon. We explain what causes them.

Why can menstrual blood be black?

If the blood of the body is originally red, it can happen that the color of the period changes. When it turns black, it may be dried or oxidized blood. This happens when it has stagnated in the body, in the vagina, and has come into contact with air. It is the air that oxidizes the blood. This can happen when the flow is light, such as at the beginning or end of your period. If you don't notice any other symptoms, there's no need to worry.

What causes dark period blood?

All women can experience black periods in their lifetime. The causes vary widely.

Hormonal contraception

Sometimes black discharge is caused by hormonal contraception. This color variation can occur when the contraception is changed or if it is not adapted. Slight oxidative bleeding occurs outside of the period.

The first or last day of the period

At these times, the flow is usually light. The blood therefore takes longer to drain from the vagina. It then takes on a darker color when it is in the presence of air. Like a cut, the fresh blood is red, but will be brown when it has dried on a bandage, for example.

During the ovulation period

During ovulation, the level of hormones in the body fluctuates. This can cause small amounts of bleeding called spotting. Since they are not very abundant, they can also oxidize and become darker.

Medical causes: inflammation or stress

In some cases, the color of menstruation can be altered by stress or inflammation. A medical consultation may be useful to relieve these problems.

Brown or black discharge: is it the same thing?

When the flow is less abundant, the degree of oxidation can vary. Brown or black periods are then due to the same phenomenon, but at a different level. There is no need to worry.

Periodic protection to choose in case of black periods

The menstrual panties are perfectly indicated in case of black periods. They let the blood flow naturally, so the blood does not stagnate. You can choose a light level of protection in case of weak flow. The panties offer you an optimal comfort. Period panties are also ecological since they are reusable, but also economical.

Avoid using tampons

As mentioned above, black periods are often a sign of light discharge. It is therefore not advisable to use a tampon, as it is more suitable for heavy flow. If there is not enough blood, it may be difficult or even painful to remove the tampon.

Do I need to see a doctor if I have black blood?

While in most cases black periods are not a cause for concern, it may be helpful to seek medical attention if they are accompanied by other symptoms, such as those listed below.

Black periods and stomach aches

Moderate pain is normal during your period, but if it becomes too intense and is associated with black discharge, you should seek medical attention. This may be a sign of endometriosis or inflammation.

Black smelly periods

During menstruation, the odor of the intimate flora can vary, but the discharge is not supposed to smell bad. This can mean a vaginal infection such as a fungus, an STD, vaginosis...

Heavy black periods

When the menstrual cycle is disturbed, the flow can be less abundant or on the contrary stronger. This can happen because of a new hormonal contraception, or at the time of the menopause. The discharge is no longer regular and can therefore fluctuate between light and heavy flow.

Dark periods during pregnancy

At the beginning of pregnancy, it is not uncommon to experience some small bleeding. They are light, and therefore tend to turn black as they oxidize. This is what is known as "anniversary bleeding". They are not serious, but can surprise the mother-to-be. In any case, bleeding during pregnancy must be monitored. It is best to inform your doctor. Sometimes these black periods during pregnancy can be a sign of a miscarriage, often before the pregnancy is even known.

What are the treatments for this?

As previously mentioned, if your black period is accompanied by other symptoms such as pain or foul-smelling discharge, you should consult a doctor. The latter will direct you to the appropriate treatment according to your situation. To have the most complete picture possible, he will begin by prescribing :

  • A secretion sample;
  • A smear test;
  • Or an ultrasound.

This will allow him to make the most accurate diagnosis. Sometimes, a simple adjustment of the hormonal contraception will be enough to avoid spotting, thus black bleeding. In case of infections, an oral or topical antibiotic treatment will be prescribed. Whatever the reason for black periods, careful intimate hygiene with suitable products will be useful to limit them as much as possible.

Black periods are quite surprising, but they are not indicative of a problem. If you do not observe any other symptoms, there is no reason to worry.

Black Period FAQs

Why is my period blood black?

This is due to oxidation of the blood. When the discharge is not very heavy, the blood tends to stagnate in the vagina before flowing out. It is then in contact with air and changes color to become darker.

Is it normal to have a dark period?

Yes, it's completely normal. It can happen to any woman. In particular at the beginning or end of the period, when the flow is less abundant. But also in case of spottings, small bleedings outside the period due to a new or not totally adapted hormonal contraception. Black periods can also occur at the time of the menopause, because the flow is very changeable, or at the beginning of pregnancy.

Are black periods an anniversary period?

You may also like:

Règles noires : faut-il s’inquiéter ? Causes et solutions

Vous avez remarqué des changements de couleur de vos pertes de sang lors de vos règles ? Vous vous posez des questions sur ces pertes noires inhabituelles ? Même si elles peuvent être impressionnantes, les règles noires ne sont pas rares. Nous vous expliquons à quoi elles sont dues.

Pourquoi le sang des règles peut-il être noir ?

Si le sang du corps est à l’origine rouge, il peut arriver que la couleur des règles change. Lorsqu’il prend une teinte noire, il peut s’agir de sang séché ou bien oxydé. Cela se produit quand il a stagné dans le corps, au niveau du vagin, puis est entré en contact avec de l’air. C’est ce dernier qui oxyde le sang. Cela peut arriver au moment où le flux est peu abondant, au début ou à la fin des règles notamment. Si vous ne notez aucun autre symptôme, il n’y a pas de raison de s’inquiéter.

Quelles sont les causes du sang noir des règles ?

Toutes les femmes peuvent expérimenter des règles noires au cours de leur vie. Les causes sont très variables.

La contraception hormonale

Parfois, les pertes noires sont dues à la contraception hormonale. Cette variation de couleur peut survenir en cas de changement de contraception ou bien si celle-ci n’est pas adaptée. De faibles saignements s’oxydant se produisent en dehors des règles.

Le premier ou le dernier jour des règles

À ces moments, le flux est généralement peu abondant. Le sang met donc plus de temps à s’écouler du vagin. Il prend alors une teinte plus foncée quand il est en présence d’air. Comme une coupure dont le sang frais est rouge, mais sera plutôt brun quand il aura séché sur un pansement par exemple.

Durant la période d’ovulation

Lors de l’ovulation, le taux d’hormones dans le corps fluctue. Cela peut causer des petits saignements appelés spottings. Étant peu abondants, ils peuvent aussi s’oxyder puis devenir plus foncés.

Les causes médicales : inflammation ou stress

Dans certains cas, la couleur des règles peut être modifiée par le stress ou une inflammation. Une consultation médicale pourra être utile pour soulager ces maux.

Pertes marron ou noires : est-ce la même chose ?

Quand le flux est moins abondant, le degré d’oxydation peut varier. Les règles marron ou noires sont alors dues au même phénomène, mais à un niveau différent. Il n’y a pas lieu de s’inquiéter.

Les protections périodiques à choisir en cas de règles noires

La culotte menstruelle est parfaitement indiquée en cas de règles noires. Elle laisse le sang s’écouler naturellement, ainsi le sang ne stagne pas. Vous pouvez choisir un niveau de protection léger en cas de faible flux. La culotte vous offre un confort optimal. Les culottes de règles sont également écologiques puisqu’elles sont réutilisables, mais aussi économiques.

Évitez l’utilisation de tampon

Comme nous vous le disions plus haut, les règles noires sont souvent le signe de pertes peu abondantes. Il sera donc déconseillé d’utiliser un tampon, car celui-ci est plus adapté en cas de fort flux. S’il n’y a pas assez de sang, il pourra être difficile, voire douloureux d’enlever le tampon.

Faut-il consulter un médecin en cas de pertes de sang noires ?

Si dans la plupart des cas les règles noires ne sont pas inquiétantes, il peut être utile de se tourner vers un médecin si elles sont accompagnées d’autres symptômes, notamment ceux ci-dessous.

Règles noires et maux de ventre

Les douleurs modérées sont normales durant les règles, mais si elles deviennent trop intenses et sont associées à des pertes noires, il faut consulter. Cela peut être le signe d’une endométriose ou d’une inflammation.

Règles noires odorantes

Pendant les règles, l’odeur de la flore intime peut varier, mais les pertes ne sont pas supposées dégager de mauvaises odeurs. Cela peut signifier une infection vaginale comme une mycose, une MST, une vaginose…

Règles noires abondantes

Quand le cycle menstruel est perturbé, le flux peut être moins abondant ou à l’inverse plus fort. Cela peut se produire à cause d’une nouvelle contraception hormonale, ou bien au moment de la ménopause. Les pertes ne sont plus régulières donc peuvent osciller entre flux faible et abondant.

Règles noires lors de la grossesse

En début de grossesse, il n’est pas rare d’expérimenter quelques petits saignements. Ils sont légers, donc ont tendance à noircir en s’oxydant. C’est ce qu’on appelle les « règles anniversaires ». Elles ne sont pas graves, mais peuvent surprendre la future maman. Dans tous les cas, des saignements durant une grossesse doivent être suivis. Il vaut mieux en informer son médecin. Parfois, ces règles noires pendant une grossesse peuvent être le signe d’une fausse couche, souvent avant même d’avoir connaissance de la grossesse.

Quels sont les traitements pour y remédier ?

Comme dit précédemment, si vos règles noires s’accompagnent d’autres symptômes tels que des douleurs ou des pertes malodorantes, il faut consulter un médecin. Ce dernier vous orientera vers le traitement adapté selon votre situation. Pour avoir une visibilité la plus complète possible, il commencera par prescrire :

  • Un prélèvement de sécrétions ;
  • Un frottis ;
  • Ou encore une échographie.

Cela lui permettra de poser le diagnostic le plus précis. Parfois, un simple ajustement de la contraception hormonale suffira pour éviter les spottings, donc les saignements noirs. En cas d’infections, un traitement antibiotique par voie orale ou en application locale sera prescrit. Quelle que soit la raison des règles noires, une hygiène intime soignée avec des produits adaptés sera utile pour les limiter au maximum.

Assez surprenantes, les règles noires ne sont pourtant pas indicatrices d’un problème. Si vous n’observez aucun autre symptôme, il n’y a pas de raison de s’inquiéter.

La FAQ des règles noires

Pourquoi le sang de mes règles est noir ?

Cela est dû à l’oxydation du sang. Quand les pertes sont peu abondantes, le sang a tendance à stagner dans le vagin avant de s’écouler. Il est alors en contact avec de l’air donc change de couleur pour devenir plus foncé.

Est-ce normal d’avoir des règles noires ?

Oui, c’est tout à fait normal. Cela peut arriver à n’importe quelle femme. Notamment en début ou fin de règles, lorsque le flux est moins abondant. Mais aussi en cas de spottings, des petits saignements en dehors des règles dus à une contraception hormonale nouvelle ou pas totalement adaptée. Les règles noires peuvent également survenir au moment de la ménopause, car le flux est très changeant, ou encore en début de grossesse.

Les règles noires sont-elles des règles anniversaires ?

Pendant les premières semaines de la grossesse, quelques pertes légères de sang peuvent arriver. Ce dernier en petite quantité s’écoule lentement donc s’oxyde. Il change de teinte pour se transformer en règles marron-noir. Les règles noires peuvent donc être des règles anniversaires, mais aussi des règles normales pour des femmes n’étant pas enceintes.

 

Vous aimerez aussi :