Sick leave for painful periods: is it possible?

Menstruation is still a taboo subject in the professional worldand as a result, many women feel obliged to go to work despite to go to work despite painful, heavy or even bleeding periods. However, it is difficult to work under these conditions, especially if you experience other symptoms related to menstruation: fatigue, headaches, stomach aches, etc. Can I go see my doctor to get a work stoppage? How do you manage your period on company premises? Let's see the answers to these questions together!


Can I miss work because of my period?

Yes ! The painful periods (dysmenorrhea) or heavy menstrual flow do not always allow you to be at your best, and may require a few days off work. However, you can't decide to miss work overnight. You will need to to see a doctor or a gynecologist to obtain a sick leave. to obtain a sick leave.

This document certifies to your employer that you are not able to work. To compensate for the loss of salary, stopping work during your period gives you the payment of daily allowances (IJ) by the national health insurance fund. The allowances represent 50% of your daily salary. Please note that there is a waiting period of 3 days applies from the first day of absence, unless your employer covers the costs related to your professional absence. For example, if you are off work for 5 days, you will only get 2 days of benefits.


How to get sick leave for painful periods?

To obtain a sick leave for painful periods, you will have to go through a doctor. The doctor will decide if a sick leave is necessary according to your health condition. We detail below all the steps to follow to obtain the medical certificate.

Consult a general practitioner or a specialist

The first step is to consult a doctor to be examined. We recommend that you go to a general practitioner. Less expensive and faster to get an appointmentIt is the best way to diagnose your health condition, and if you go to see your general practitioner ! At the end of the consultation, the doctor will give you a sick leave certifying your inability to work.

However, if your symptoms are chronic or very intense, the doctor will send you to see a specialist for further specialist to carry out more in-depth examinations and to discover the and discover the cause of the dysmenorrhea. Your painful or heavy periods can be a sign of several pathologies: the'endometriosis, l'adenomyosisa uterine fibroid, uterine endometrial polyps, etc. Only a gynecologist can make this diagnosis!

Send your leave to your employer and to the social security

To take advantage of your days off, thework stoppage related to your period must be sent to the primary health insurance fund and to your employer. The sick leave form is made up of three parts, and you have two options:

  • You receive only part n°3 You receive only part 3: your doctor is in charge of sending it to the health insurance. All you have to do is send the document to your employer;
  • You receive all three parts You receive the three parts: it is up to you to send each part to the right person. The first part is to be sent to the primary health insurance fund, the second to the administrative services of your CPAM and the third to your employer.


You must send it within maximum 48 hours after your visit to the doctor. For your information, the document sent to your employer does not include any medical data. Therefore, you do not have to justify why you are absent if you do not want to!

How to deal with menstrual problems at work?

Very often, menstruation arrives when you least expect it, unless you have foresight and use a menstrual calendar application. In any case, if you are not able to get time off work, you will have to manage your menstrual disorders and associated symptoms during work hours.

Painful periods

Painful periods are not pleasant to experience when you have to concentrate on a task or perform manual actions. The goal is to reduce the pain as much as possible to make it bearable. You can for example:

  • Take ibuprofen This non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drug (NSAID) is particularly recommended for menstrual pain. Ibuprofen acts directly on the prostaglandinsa molecule that causes pain. Be careful to follow the daily dosage and not to use this medication for more than three days in a row. Otherwise, taking an antispasmodic medication can help you reduce the pain of menstrual cramps ;
  • Using a hot water bottle Use a hot water bottle: by applying a hot water bottle to your lower abdomenimprove your blood circulation, relax your muscles and reduce period pains. If you do not have one, you can make a dry period hot water bottle at home ;
  • Get some fresh air and take a walk Getting fresh air and walking: sitting all day does not help to calm painful periods! As soon as you feel the pain coming on, take a short break and walk take a short break and walk to ease the discomfort.

Heavy periods or bleeding

The heavy periods mean that you need to changing your sanitary protection regularlyespecially if you wear sanitary napkins or tampons. Don't be embarrassed to take several breaks during the day to put on a new pad as soon as you feel that the one you are wearing is no longer absorbing. To remedy this problem, consider an external sanitary protection such as menstrual panties ! By purchasing a model adapted to your flow, one period panty is enough per day.

To reduce the abundance of your periods, you can also ask your doctor for advice on hormonal contraception such as the contraceptive pill, the contraceptive implant or the hormonal IUD. This is an option if you prefer not to wear sanitary protection during your period or if you suffer from bleeding periods.

Should I tell my employer if I have chronic dysmenorrhea?

Do you regularly suffer from painful periods? We recommend that you with your employer or a trusted person in the company (manager, director in the company (manager, director, human resources manager, etc.). In this way, you can ask to benefit from adjustment of your workstation ! Here are different solutions that can be considered with your company:

  • Set up telecommuting Telecommuting: at home, you can take breaks when your period becomes too painful without fear of your colleagues' gaze. It will be easier for you to manage your day and you will also reduce the stress linked to travel;
  • Lighten or adjust your workload during your period It is preferable to avoid all uncomfortable situations where it will be difficult to manage painful periods: business trips, long meetings, etc. Talk to your company to find arrangements, and focus on tasks and assignments that will allow you to take breaks when necessary!

What about menstrual leave?

In France, the code does not oblige companies to offer menstrual leave to employees. As a reminder, menstrual leave allows women to be absent during their menstruation, without justification! Currently in Europe, only Spain has proposed a bill in 2022 to grant three days of leave for women suffering from painful periods, with a possible extension of two days upon presentation of a medical certificate.

However, some French companies have chosen to implement a menstrual leave for the benefit of their employees. Do not hesitate to your superiors to find out if such a to know if such a system exists, or why not propose it!


FAQ about sick leave for painful periods

How to justify an absence for painful periods ?

You must consult a general practitioner or a gynecologist to obtain a work stoppage, to be communicated to your employer within 48 hours. If your company offers menstrual leave, you can be absent without medical justification, but check with your human resources manager first.

How to relieve period pain at work?

To effectively relieve your period pain during your working hours, here's what you can do: take ibuprofen or an antispasmodic (do not mix without medical advice), drink ginger or chamomile tea, use a hot water bottle and take a break as soon as necessary.

You will also like:

Les informations issues des articles présents sur le site www-elia-lingerie.com sont des informations générales. Bien qu’elles aient été relues par des professionnels de santé, ces informations ne sont pas exemptes d’erreurs, ne constituent pas des conseils de santé ou des consultations et n’ont pas vocation à fournir un diagnostic ou proposer un traitement. Ces informations ne peuvent, en aucun cas, se substituer à un avis médical et ne peuvent pas remplacer une consultation auprès d’un professionnel de santé. Pour toute question, nous vous invitons à consulter votre médecin.

Arrêt maladie pour règles douloureuses : est-ce possible ?

Les règles sont encore un sujet tabou dans le monde professionnel, et de ce fait, de nombreuses femmes se sentent obligées de se rendre au travail malgré des règles douloureuses, abondantes, voire hémorragiques. Il est cependant difficile de travailler dans ces conditions, surtout si vous ressentez d’autres symptômes liés aux menstruations : fatigue, maux de tête, maux de ventre, etc. Peut-on aller voir son médecin pour obtenir un arrêt de travail ? Comment gérer ses règles dans les locaux de l’entreprise ? Voyons ensemble les réponses à ces questions !


 

Peut-on manquer le travail à cause de ses règles ?

Oui ! Les règles douloureuses (dysménorrhées) ou les flux menstruels abondants ne permettent pas toujours d’être au top de sa santé, et peuvent nécessiter quelques jours de congé. Cependant, vous ne pouvez pas décider vous-même de manquer le travail du jour au lendemain. Vous devrez obligatoirement voir un médecin traitant ou un gynécologue pour obtenir un arrêt maladie.

Ce document atteste auprès de votre employeur que vous n’êtes pas en capacité de travailler. Pour pallier la perte de salaire, l’arrêt de travail pendant vos règles vous octroie le versement d’indemnités journalières (IJ) par la caisse nationale d’Assurance Maladie. Les indemnités représentent 50% de votre salaire journalier. Attention, un délai de carence de 3 jours s'applique à partir du premier jour d’arrêt, sauf si votre employeur prend en charge les frais liés à votre absence professionnelle. Par exemple, si votre arrêt de travail dure 5 jours, vous n’obtiendrez que 2 jours d'indemnités.


Comment obtenir un arrêt maladie pour des règles douloureuses ?

Pour obtenir un arrêt de travail pour cause de règles douloureuses, vous devrez passer par la case médecin. Ce dernier décidera si un arrêt maladie s’impose en fonction de votre état de santé. Nous vous détaillons ci-dessous toutes les démarches à suivre pour obtenir l’attestation médicale.

Consulter un médecin généraliste ou spécialisé

La première étape est de consulter un médecin pour se faire ausculter. Nous vous recommandons d’aller chez un médecin généraliste. Moins coûteux et plus rapide pour obtenir un rendez-vous, c’est l’interlocuteur privilégié pour faire un diagnostic de votre état de santé, de plus si vous allez voir votre médecin traitant ! À l’issue de la consultation, le médecin vous remettra un arrêt maladie attestant de votre incapacité à travailler.

Cependant, si vos symptômes sont chroniques ou très intenses, ce dernier vous enverra voir un spécialiste pour effectuer des examens plus approfondis et découvrir la cause des dysménorrhées. Vos règles douloureuses ou abondantes peuvent être le signe de plusieurs pathologies : lendométriose, l’adénomyose, un fibrome utérin, des polypes de l’endomètre utérin, etc. Seul un gynécologue pourra faire ce diagnostic ! 

Transmettre l’arrêt à son employeur et à la sécurité sociale

Pour profiter de vos jours de congé, l’arrêt de travail lié à vos règles doit être transmis à la caisse primaire d’assurance maladie et à votre employeur. Le papier d’arrêt maladie se compose de trois volets, deux possibilités se présentent à vous : 

  • Vous ne recevez que le volet n°3 : c’est votre médecin qui se charge de la transmission à l’assurance maladie. Il ne vous reste qu’à envoyer le document remis à votre employeur ;
  • Vous recevez les trois volets : c’est à vous de transmettre chaque volet au bon interlocuteur. Ainsi, le 1er est à envoyer à la caisse primaire d’assurance maladie, le 2ème aux services administratifs de votre CPAM et le 3ème à votre employeur.

L’envoi doit se faire au maximum 48h après votre visite chez le médecin. Pour information, le document envoyé à votre employeur ne comporte aucune donnée médicale. De ce fait, vous n’avez pas à justifier pourquoi vous êtes absentes si vous ne le souhaitez pas !

Comment gérer ses troubles de règles au travail ?

Bien souvent, les règles arrivent quand on s’y attend le moins, sauf si vous êtes prévoyantes et que vous utilisez une application de calendrier menstruel. Dans tous les cas, si vous n’avez pas la possibilité d’obtenir un arrêt de travail, vous devrez gérer vos troubles de règles et les symptômes associés pendant vos heures de travail.

Règles douloureuses

Les règles douloureuses ne sont pas agréables à vivre lorsque l’on doit se concentrer sur une tâche ou effectuer des actions manuelles. Le but est de réduire au plus la douleur pour que cela soit supportable. Vous pouvez par exemple : 

  • Prendre de l’ibuprofène : cet anti-inflammatoire non stéroïdien (AINS) est particulièrement recommandé pour les douleurs de règles. L’ibuprofène agit directement sur les prostaglandines, une molécule provoquant les douleurs. Faîtes attention à bien respecter le dosage quotidien et à ne pas utiliser ce médicament plus de trois jours d'affilée. Autrement, prendre un antispasmodique peut vous aider à réduire les douleurs de crampes menstruelles
  • Utiliser une bouillotte chauffante : en appliquant une bouillotte sur votre bas-ventre, vous améliorez votre circulation sanguine, détendez vos muscles et réduisez les douleurs de règles. Si vous n’en possédez pas une, vous pouvez fabriquer une bouillotte sèche de règles à la maison ;
  • Prendre l’air et marcher : se tenir en position assise toute la journée n’aide pas à calmer les règles douloureuses ! Dès que vous sentez les douleurs revenir, prenez une brève pause et marchez pour atténuer les gênes.

Règles abondantes ou hémorragiques

Les règles abondantes impliquent de changer régulièrement de protection périodique, notamment si vous portez des serviettes hygiéniques ou des tampons. Ne soyez pas gênée de prendre plusieurs pauses dans la journée pour mettre une nouvelle protection, dès que vous sentez que celle que vous portez n’absorbe plus rien. Pour remédier à ce problème, pensez à une protection hygiénique externe comme la culotte menstruelle ! En achetant un modèle adapté à votre flux, une culotte de règles suffit par jour.

Pour réduire l’abondance de vos règles, vous pouvez aussi demander conseil à votre médecin sur les moyens de contraception hormonaux comme la pilule contraceptive, l'implant contraceptif ou le stérilet hormonal. C’est une option si vous préférez ne pas porter de protection hygiénique pendant vos règles ou si vous souffrez de règles hémorragiques.

Faut-il prévenir son employeur en cas de dysménorrhées chroniques ?

Vous souffrez régulièrement de règles douloureuses ? Nous vous recommandons alors d’en discuter avec votre employeur ou une personne de confiance dans l’entreprise (manager, directeur, responsable des ressources humaines, etc.). Ainsi, vous pourrez demander à bénéficier d’un aménagement de votre poste de travail ! Voici différentes solutions envisageables avec votre entreprise : 

  • Mettre en place du télétravail : à la maison, vous pouvez prendre des pauses quand vos règles deviennent trop douloureuses sans avoir peur du regard de vos collègues. Il vous sera plus simple de gérer votre journée et vous réduirez aussi le stress lié aux déplacements ;
  • Alléger ou aménager votre charge de travail pendant vos règles : il est préférable d’éviter toutes les situations inconfortables où il sera difficile de gérer des règles douloureuses : déplacements professionnels, longues réunions, etc. Discutez-en avec votre entreprise pour trouver des arrangements, et vous concentrez sur des tâches et missions qui vous permettront de prendre des pauses si nécessaires !

Qu’en est-il du congé menstruel ?

En France, le code du travail n’oblige pas les entreprises à proposer aux salariées un congé menstruel. Pour rappel, le congé menstruel permet aux femmes de s’absenter pendant leurs menstruations, et ce, sans justificatif ! Actuellement en Europe, seul l’Espagne a proposé en 2022 un projet de loi pour octroyer trois jours de congé pour les femmes souffrant de règles douloureuses, avec une prolongation possible de deux jours sur présentation d’un certificat médical.

Certaines entreprises françaises ont cependant fait le choix de mettre en place un congé menstruel pour le bien de leurs collaboratrices. N’hésitez donc pas à vous renseigner auprès de vos supérieurs pour savoir si un tel dispositif existe, ou pourquoi pas le proposer !


FAQ de l’arrêt maladie pour règles douloureuses

Comment justifier une absence pour des règles douloureuses ?

Vous devez consulter un médecin généraliste ou un gynécologue pour obtenir un arrêt de travail, à communiquer sous 48h à votre employeur. Si votre entreprise propose le congé menstruel, vous pouvez vous absenter sans justificatif médical, mais renseignez-vous auprès de votre responsable des ressources humaines avant.

Comment soulager les douleurs de règles au travail ?

Pour soulager efficacement vos douleurs de règles pendant vos heures de travail, voici ce que vous pouvez faire : prendre de l’ibuprofène ou un antispasmodique (ne pas mélanger sans avis médical), boire du thé au gingembre ou à la camomille, utiliser une bouillotte chauffante et prendre une pause dès que nécessaire.

 

Vous aimerez aussi :

Les informations issues des articles présents sur le site www-elia-lingerie.com sont des informations générales. Bien qu’elles aient été relues par des professionnels de santé, ces informations ne sont pas exemptes d’erreurs, ne constituent pas des conseils de santé ou des consultations et n’ont pas vocation à fournir un diagnostic ou proposer un traitement. Ces informations ne peuvent, en aucun cas, se substituer à un avis médical et ne peuvent pas remplacer une consultation auprès d’un professionnel de santé. Pour toute question, nous vous invitons à consulter votre médecin.