Bleeding periods: causes, treatment and advice

One third of women would have heavy periods. Up to 15% of them suffer from bleeding periods. The causes can be numerous. Fortunately, there are solutions to regulate your menstrual flow. Elia gives you more details about this phenomenon, which is disabling to say the least.

What is a bleeding period?

Haemorrhagic periods are characterized by a very abundant flow of blood, which is therefore difficult to controlwith conventional sanitary protection, such as tampons or pads. It is a restrictive form of heavy menstruation. Menorrhagia is the term used to describe menstrual bleeding.

How do I know if my period is bleeding?

Menstruation is said to be hemorrhagic when blood loss exceeds 90 ml, the equivalent of a full coffee cup. The volume of blood loss then becomes embarrassing. Typically, the women concerned have to renew their sanitary protection very often (sometimes every hour for several consecutive hours), day and night.

Menstrual bleeding can also be distinguished by its abnormally long duration: 7 days or more. The loss of large blood clots is also frequent.

Types of bleeding and bleeding periods

Menorrhagia can be divided into three types. We distinguish:

  • Hypermenorrhea: the menstrual flow is very abundant (more than 90 ml), but the duration of the period is normal (between 3 and 7 days maximum);
  • Macromenorrhea: the menstrual flow is normal to abundant (between 35 and 90 ml), but the duration of the period is too long (more than 7 days);
  • Polymenorrhea: the menstrual flow is both very abundant and very long.

How to tell the difference between bleeding periods and heavy periods

A period is considered heavy when the total volume of bleeding exceeds 40 ml.

To calculate their menstrual flow and see if their periods are normal (35 to 40 ml), heavy or hemorrhagic, women can refer to the Higham score. The principle is to fill in a menstrual evaluation grid for a given period, indicating

  • The total number of lightly, moderately or heavily soaked pads or tampons;
  • The total number of small or large blood clots lost (less than or greater than 1 cm).

A number of points is assigned for each pad, tampon or clot. A total score of 100 or more is indicative of bleeding.

What are the different causes of menstrual bleeding?

Women can have bleeding periods for a variety of reasons.

The copper IUD

The IUD (intrauterine device) can causeinflammation of the uterus, and thus a thickening of the endometrium (the mucous membrane lining the inner side of the uterus, where menstruation comes from). The result? When theendometrium disintegrates in the absence of fertilization, bleeding is heavier than usual.

In most cases, the body eventually gets used to the presence of the IUD. In most cases, the body gets used to the presence of the IUD and the flow tends to decrease a few months after insertion, although it is often still heavy.

The presence of a uterine fibroid or an ovarian cyst

A fibroid is a tumour located in the muscle cells of the uterus. It is benign, so it cannot develop into cancer. Often silent, this pathology is symptomatic in 20 to 50% of cases. Symptoms include menorrhagia, pain, and frequent urination.

Also benign, the ovarian cyst is a tumor usually filled with fluid. In 90% of cases, it resolves itself. This is called a functional ovarian cyst. Conversely, organic cysts usually require management.

Endometriosis

Endometriosis is characterized by the presence of endometrial fragments outside the uterus and is particularly painful. It is not uncommon for people affected by this chronic gynecological disease to have abundant menstrual bleeding.

Other causes

Menstrual bleeding can also be the result of

  • Hormonal imbalance (excess of estrogen or deficiency of progesterone, or both - these imbalances are observed in particular at puberty or during the premenopause) ;
  • Uterine polyps (benign growths);
  • Early miscarriage;
  • Adenomyosis (a particular form of endometriosis affecting the uterus or the myometrium, i.e. the uterine muscle);
  • Endometrial hyperplasia or hypertrophy (increase in the volume of the lining of the uterus caused by hormonal imbalance);
  • A bleeding disorder (hemophilia or Von Willebrand disease, for example);
  • Certain diseases or conditions, such as lupus erythematosus, kidney failure, liver dysfunction and other endocrine disorders;
  • Or endometrial cancer.

Women should be reassured that endometrial cancer is linked to very heavy bleeding in less than 1% of cases of menorrhagia.

What are the treatments for bleeding periods?

The treatment of menstrual bleeding depends directly on its cause. This is why the cause must be systematically investigated by a specialist.

Medical treatments

When the copper coil is the cause of bleeding, the problem can be solved by replacing it with a hormonal coil containing levonorgestrel (a synthetic hormone similar to progesterone). This will limit the thickening of the endometrium, thus reducing the menstrual flow.

Taking a progestin-only pill, i.e. a low dose of progesterone, can also be considered. This contraceptive treatment will also regulate the growth of the endometrium. Another solution: a hormonal treatment in tablets, always based on progesterone, can be implemented. This treatment should be taken for 10, 15 or 20 days per month, but preferably for a short period of time because of the risk of associated meningioma (benign meningeal tumor). It is therefore to be preferred, for example, while waiting for a surgical intervention.

Ultrasound, a non-surgical treatment

Ultrasound can destroy benign tumors, cellular lesions or low-risk localized cancers by heating, without damaging the surrounding healthy tissue. No incision or anesthesia is required.

Surgical treatments

Ovarian cysts, fibroids or uterine polyps may require surgery depending on their size, number and impact on menstruation. The same is true for adenomyosis or endometrial hypertrophy. Several surgical techniques exist.

Operative hysteroscopy

Also called gynecological endoscopy, operative hysteroscopy consists of operating inside the uterine cavity through the natural channels. The operation is performed outside the menstrual period - or outside the bleeding period for women in the premenopausal phase - ideally in the first part of the menstrual cycle. This is because at this time the uterine mucosa is thinner. The surgeon's work is then easier.

For polyps or fibroids, operative hysteroscopy is only indicated if the tumor or tumors are located under the uterine mucosa. Indeed, when they are interstitial (i.e. located inside the uterine wall), it is impossible for the surgeon to access them with the hysteroscope.

Hysterectomy

Hysterectomy is a radical procedure. The entire uterus is removed. The surgeon may also remove other organs, such as the cervix, ovaries, or fallopian tubes, during the same procedure. In women approaching menopause, only the ovaries are usually removed.

Patients may choose to have a hysterectomy, even if they have not tried medical treatment or light surgery beforehand.

Uterine embolization

This minimally invasive procedure is designed to block the uterine arteries that supply blood to fibroids or endometriosis lesions (in the case of adenomyosis, or endometriosis inside the uterus). It is used as an alternative to hysterectomy for women who wish to keep their uterus.

However, there is a risk of failure. The risk of uterine necrosis, although rare, cannot be excluded.

Why is it necessary to check your anemia regularly in case of menstrual bleeding?

Menstrual bleeding can cause iron deficiency anemia, i.e., a lack of iron. Iron is an essential element: it is used to produce red blood cells, which play an essential role in oxygen transport. That's why it's important tohave regular blood tests to check your health. If necessary, your doctor may prescribe iron supplements.

Iron deficiency anemia can cause fatigue, paleness, headaches, shortness of breath, dizziness or lightheadedness.

Menstrual panties for bleeding periods

Pads and tampons, even for very heavy flows (super plus), are not always enough to control a very heavy blood flow. Much more absorbent, washable menstrual pants can hold the equivalent of 3 to 4 conventional tampons. They are thus particularly recommended in the event of hemorrhagic periods.

In addition to being effective (maximum absorption for the "hemorrhagic" range, sufficiently wide band to prevent the risks of leakage), the periodical panties are comfortable, but also refined.

Their secret? They include a layer of eucalyptus fiber (Tencel) with anti-odour, antibacterial and ultra-absorbent properties, guaranteeing dry protection all day long, but also at night. This layer is complemented by a waterproof PUL membrane, for enhanced anti-leak protection.

At only two to three millimeters thick, Elia period pants are inconspicuous under your clothes. It's almost like wearing regular lingerie! Another great advantage: our entire collection is made of organic cotton. More respectful of the environment, the culture of organic cotton consumes 91% less water compared to traditional cotton. Wearing menstrual panties signed Elia, it is also to make a gesture for the planet!

The FAQ of hemorrhagic periods

When do we talk about bleeding periods?

Menstrual bleeding is characterized by very heavy bleeding (more than 90 ml), sometimes accompanied by clots, a flow that is difficult to control with conventional sanitary protection (tampons, pads, etc.) and an abnormally long duration (more than 7 days).

How to stop menstrual bleeding?

Menstrual flow can be reduced by taking non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs), but only on medical advice and prescription. If you have a bleeding disorder, you may be prescribed anti-fibrinolytics.

How can you tell heavy periods from bleeding?

A heavy period is said to occur when the blood flow is between 40 and 90 ml. Beyond that, it is called a hemorrhagic period. To know the volume of menstrual blood in order to know if they have a heavy period or a hemorrhagic period, women can refer to the Higham score.

What are the remedies for menstrual bleeding?

Several solutions can be offered to women with bleeding periods, such as hormonal contraceptive treatment, ultrasound or even surgery (operative hysteroscopy, hysterectomy and uterine embolization).

Règles hémorragiques : causes, traitement et conseils

Un tiers des femmes auraient des règles importantes. Jusqu’à 15 % d’entre elles souffriraient de règles hémorragiques. Les causes peuvent être nombreuses. Heureusement, il existe des solutions pour réguler son flux menstruel. Elia vous donne plus en détail de ce phénomène pour le moins invalidant.

Qu’est-ce que des règles hémorragiques ?

Les règles hémorragiques se traduisent par un écoulement sanguin très abondant donc difficile à maîtriser avec des protections hygiéniques classiques, de type tampons ou serviettes. C'est une forme contraignante des règles abondantes. Pour désigner une hémorragie de règles, on parle de ménorragie.

Comment savoir si mes règles sont hémorragiques ?

Les règles sont dites hémorragiques lorsque la perte de sang excède 90 ml, soit l’équivalent d’une tasse à café pleine. Le volume de sang perdu devient alors gênant. Typiquement, les femmes concernées doivent renouveler très souvent leur protection hygiénique (parfois toutes les heures pendant plusieurs heures consécutives), de jour comme de nuit.

L’hémorragie de règles se distingue aussi parfois par sa durée, anormalement longue : 7 jours, voire plus. La perte de caillots de sang importants est, de plus, fréquente.

Les types de saignements et de règles hémorragiques

Les ménorragies se décomposent en trois types. On distingue :

  • Les hyperménorrhées : le flux menstruel est très abondant (plus de 90 ml), mais la durée des règles est normale (entre 3 et 7 jours maximum) ;
  • Les macroménorrhées : le flux menstruel est normal à abondant (entre 35 et 90 ml), mais la durée des règles est trop longue (plus de 7 jours) ;
  • Les polyménorrhées : le flux menstruel est à la fois très abondant, mais aussi très long.

Comment faire la différence entre règles hémorragiques et règles abondantes 

Les règles sont considérées comme abondantes lorsque le volume total de saignements dépasse 40 ml.

Pour calculer leur flux menstruel et voir si leurs règles sont plutôt normales (35 à 40 ml), abondantes ou hémorragiques, les femmes peuvent se référer au score de Higham. Le principe est de remplir une grille d’évaluation des menstruations sur une période de règles donnée, en indiquant :

  • Le nombre total de serviettes ou de tampons légèrement, modérément ou très imbibés ;
  • Le nombre total de petits ou gros caillots sanguins perdus (inférieurs ou supérieurs à 1 cm).

Un nombre de points est attribué pour chaque serviette, tampon ou caillot. Un score total de 100 ou plus est révélateur de règles hémorragiques.

Quelles sont les différentes causes des hémorragies de règles ?

Les femmes peuvent avoir des règles hémorragiques pour des raisons diverses et variées.

Le stérilet en cuivre

Le stérilet ou dispositif intra-utérin (DIU) au cuivre peut être responsable d’une inflammation de l’utérus, donc d’un épaississement de l’endomètre (muqueuse tapissant la face utérine interne, d’où proviennent les règles). Conséquence ? Lorsqu’en l’absence de fécondation, l’endomètre se désagrège, les saignements sont plus importants que d’ordinaire.

Dans la plupart des cas, le corps finit par s’habituer à la présence du stérilet. Quelques mois après sa pose, le flux a ainsi tendance à diminuer, même s’il reste souvent abondant.

La présence d’un fibrome utérin ou d’un kyste ovarien

Le fibrome est une tumeur localisée au niveau des cellules musculaires de l’utérus. Elle est bénigne, elle ne peut donc pas dégénérer en cancer. Souvent silencieuse, cette pathologie est symptomatique dans 20 à 50 % des cas. Parmi ces symptômes, la ménorragie, des douleurs, mais aussi des envies fréquentes d’uriner.

Également bénin, le kyste ovarien est une tumeur généralement remplie de liquide. Dans 90 % des cas, il se résorbe de lui-même. On parle alors de kyste ovarien fonctionnel. À l’inverse, les kystes organiques nécessitent en principe une prise en charge.

L’endométriose

Particulièrement douloureuse, l’endométriose se caractérise par la présence de fragments d’endomètre en dehors de l’utérus. Il n’est pas rare, pour les personnes touchées par cette maladie gynécologique chronique, d’avoir des règles abondantes, voire hémorragiques.

Les autres causes

L’hémorragie de règles peut également être la conséquence :

  • D’un déséquilibre hormonal (excès d’œstrogènes ou carence de progestérone, voire les deux – ces déséquilibres s’observent en particulier à la puberté ou au cours de la préménopause) ;
  • De polypes utérins (excroissances bénignes) ;
  • D’une fausse couche précoce ;
  • D’une adénomyose (forme particulière d’endométriose touchant l’utérus ou le myomètre, c’est-à-dire le muscle utérin) ;
  • D’une hyperplasie ou hypertrophie endométriale (augmentation du volume de la muqueuse de l’utérus causée par un dérèglement hormonal) ;
  • D’un trouble de la coagulation (hémophilie ou maladie de Von Willebrand, par exemple) ;
  • De certaines maladies ou pathologies, comme le lupus érythémateux, une insuffisance rénale, un dysfonctionnement du foie et autres troubles endocriniens ;
  • Ou encore d’un cancer de l’endomètre.

Que les femmes se rassurent : le cancer de l’endomètre est lié à des saignements très abondants dans moins de 1 % des cas de ménorragie.

Quels sont les traitements pour des règles hémorragiques ?

Le traitement d’une hémorragie de règles dépend directement de sa cause. C’est pourquoi celle-ci doit systématiquement être recherchée par un spécialiste.

Les traitements médicaux

Lorsque le stérilet au cuivre est la cause des règles hémorragiques, le problème peut être résolu en le remplaçant par un stérilet hormonal au lévonorgestrel (hormone de synthèse proche de la progestérone). Ce dernier aura pour effet de limiter l’épaississement de l’endomètre, donc de diminuer le flux menstruel.

La prise d’une pilule progestative, c’est-à-dire faiblement dosée en progestérone, peut aussi être envisagée. Ce traitement contraceptif viendra, de la même manière, réguler la croissance de l’endomètre. Autre solution : un traitement hormonal en comprimés, toujours à base de progestérone, peut être mis en place. Ce traitement est à prendre à raison de 10, 15 ou 20 jours par mois, mais de préférence sur une courte durée en raison du risque de méningiome associé (tumeur bénigne des méninges). Il est donc à privilégier par exemple dans l’attente d’une intervention chirurgicale.

Les ultrasons, traitement non chirurgical

Les ultrasons permettent de détruire les tumeurs bénignes, les lésions cellulaires ou les cancers localisés à faible risque par échauffement, sans endommager les tissus sains environnants. Ils ne nécessitent ni incision ni anesthésie.

Les traitements chirurgicaux

En fonction de leur volume, de leur nombre, mais aussi de leur impact sur les règles, les kystes ovariens, fibromes ou polypes utérins peuvent nécessiter une intervention chirurgicale. Il en va de même pour l’adénomyose ou l’hypertrophie endométriale. Plusieurs techniques de chirurgie existent.

L’hystéroscopie opératoire

Encore appelée endoscopie gynécologique, l’hystéroscopie opératoire consiste à opérer l’intérieur de la cavité utérine par les voies naturelles. L’intervention est réalisée en dehors de la période de règles – ou hors période de saignements pour les femmes en phase de préménopause, – idéalement en première partie de cycle menstruel. Car à cette période, la muqueuse utérine est plus fine. Le travail du chirurgien est alors facilité.

Pour les polypes ou fibromes, l’hystéroscopie opératoire est indiquée seulement si la ou les tumeurs sont localisées sous la muqueuse utérine. En effet, lorsqu’ils sont interstitiels (c’est-à-dire situés à l’intérieur de la paroi utérine), il est impossible pour le chirurgien d’y accéder avec l’hystéroscope.

L’hystérectomie

L’hystérectomie est une intervention radicale. L’intégralité de l’utérus est retirée. Le chirurgien peut aussi enlever, au cours de la même intervention, d’autres organes, comme le col de l’utérus, les ovaires ou les trompes. Chez les femmes approchant de la ménopause, seuls les ovaires sont en principe retirés.

Les patientes peuvent choisir l’hystérectomie, même si elles n’ont pas tenté un traitement médical ou une chirurgie légère préalables.

L’embolisation utérine

Cette intervention mini-invasive a pour but de bloquer les artères utérines irriguant notamment les fibromes ou les lésions d’endométriose (dans le cas d’une adénomyose, ou endométriose interne à l’utérus). Elle est utilisée en alternative avec l’hystérectomie pour les femmes souhaitant conserver leur utérus.

Il existe cependant un risque d’échec. Les risques de nécrose utérine, bien que rares, ne sont pas non plus à exclure.

Pourquoi faut-il régulièrement contrôler son anémie en cas d’hémorragie des règles ?

Une hémorragie de règles peut provoquer une anémie ferriprive, c’est-à-dire un déficit en fer. Or, le fer est un élément essentiel : il sert à produire les globules rouges, lesquelles jouent un rôle primordial dans le transport de l’oxygène. C’est pourquoi il est important de réaliser un bilan sanguin régulier afin de faire le point sur votre état de santé. Si besoin, une supplémentation en fer peut vous être prescrite par votre médecin.

L’anémie ferriprive entraîne notamment fatigue, pâleur, maux de tête, essoufflement à l’effort, étourdissements ou vertiges.

La culotte menstruelle pour les règles hémorragiques

Les serviettes et tampons, même pour flux très abondants (super plus), ne suffisent pas toujours à contrôler un flux sanguin très abondant. Beaucoup plus absorbantes, les culottes menstruelles lavables peuvent recueillir l’équivalent de 3 à 4 tampons classiques. Elles sont donc particulièrement recommandées en cas de règles hémorragiques.

En plus d’être efficaces (absorption maximum pour la gamme « hémorragique », bande suffisamment large pour prévenir les risques de fuites), les culottes périodiques sont confortables, mais aussi raffinées.

Leur secret ? Elles intègrent une couche en fibre d’eucalyptus (Tencel) aux propriétés anti-odeurs, antibactériennes, ultra absorbantes, garantissant ainsi une protection au sec tout au long de la journée, mais également de la nuit. À cette couche s’ajoute une membrane imperméable en PUL, pour une protection anti-fuites renforcée.

Avec seulement deux à trois millimètres d’épaisseur, les culottes de règles Elia passent inaperçus sous vos vêtements. C’est presque comme si vous portiez de la lingerie classique ! Autre atout de taille : l’ensemble de notre collection est conçue en coton bio. Plus respectueuse de l’environnement, la culture du coton bio consomme 91 % d’eau en moins en comparaison du coton traditionnel. Porter des culottes menstruelles signées Elia, c’est donc aussi faire un geste pour la planète !

La FAQ des règles hémorragiques

Quand parle-t-on de règles hémorragiques ?

L’hémorragie de règles se caractérise par des saignements très abondants (plus de 90 ml) et parfois accompagnés de caillots, un flux difficilement maîtrisable avec des protections hygiéniques classiques (tampons, serviettes…) et une durée anormalement longue (plus de 7 jours).

Comment arrêter l'hémorragie des règles ?

Le flux menstruel peut être réduit en premier recours par la prise d’anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens (AINS), mais uniquement sur avis et prescription médicale. Si vous souffrez de troubles de la coagulation, il peut vous être prescrit des anti-fibrinolytiques.

Comment différencier les règles abondantes d'une hémorragie ?

Les règles sont dites abondantes lorsque le flux sanguin est compris entre 40 à 90 ml. Au-delà, on parle de règles hémorragiques. Pour connaître leur volume de sang menstruel afin de savoir si elles ont des règles abondantes ou hémorragiques, les femmes peuvent se reporter au score de Higham.

Quels sont les remèdes de l'hémorragie des règles ?

Plusieurs solutions peuvent être proposées aux femmes souffrant de règles hémorragiques, comme un traitement contraceptif hormonal, des ultrasons ou encore de la chirurgie (hystéroscopie opératoire, hystérectomie et embolisation utérine).