Uterine adenomyosis: definition, symptoms, treatments

You probably know about endometriosis, but do you know about adenomyosis? This disease is an extremely painful and disabling form of endometriosis for women who suffer from it, even though it is a benign pathology (not life-threatening).

What is adenomyosis?

Adenomyosis is defined as a form ofendometriosis inside the uterus. It is due to a malformation of the junction zone between the mucous membrane that lines the uterus (the endometrium) and the muscle of the uterine wall (the myometrium). This will cause infiltration of endometrial cells into the endometrium, which thickens the volume of the uterus. The infiltration can be slight or deep (therefore more painful). This condition affects about 11-13% of women of childbearing age, usually those between 35 and 40 years old (in 25% of cases). They may suffer from both external endometriosis and adenomyosis.
This is a pathology that is quite frequent and fortunately benign. In the sense that it is not life threatening for the person suffering from it. On the other hand, there are certain forms that can be very painful to the point of handicapping the daily life of women who suffer from it.
This condition related to gynecology can take several forms. It can be:
diffuse, that is to say that there will be numerous foci scattered over the entire myometrium. This is the most severe type and the most difficult to treat.
focal, i.e. there are only a few foci, located in a specific part of the uterus
external, when it is the deep pelvic endometriosis that migrates into the myometrium

What are the differences between endometriosis and adenomyosis?

Even though in many cases the two are linked, they have points in common in terms of symptoms and the fact that this disease is the result of a migration of endometrial cells to other parts of the body.

Endometriosis is ectopic

It is characterized by a migration of endometrial cellsoutside the uterus: to the bladder, the utero-sacral ligaments, the ovaries, the rectum and many other parts of the body.

Adenomyosis is intrauterine

Adenomyosis is the result of endometrial cells migrating directly into the uterine muscle tissue, creating lesions.

What causes uterine adenomyosis?

The exact causes of its development are not yet known. The disease is found in women who have had several pregnancies, or in those who have a highly developed endometrium (endometrial hyperplasia). It is not possible today to establish a link between surgery or caesarean sections and the occurrence of adenomyosis. However, there is a link between this gynecological condition and certain patients who have had placental anomalies. The use of an IUD is not associated with adenomyosis.

What are the symptoms of adenomyosis?

It is estimated that in 2 cases out of 3, it is asymptomatic. But when it is not, we find these symptoms there:
  • Menorrhagia: These are very heavy and long periods that last more than 7 days, where patients lose a lot of blood. Women with adenomyosis suffer from menorrhagia in 50% of cases.
  • Dysmenorrhea: painful menstruation, which is estimated to affect 30% of patients with adenomyosis.
  • Metrorrhagia, which is blood loss outside the menstrual flow. They occur in 20% of cases.
  • Pain during sexual intercourse(dyspareunia)
  • A feeling of heaviness in the lower abdomen

How is adenomyosis diagnosed?

The diagnosis is made by imaging tests, after a clinical examination by your gynecologist. In addition, we are now able to determine the depth of damage and the presence and location of cells that have migrated. There are several techniques:
  • Ultrasound can show if the uterus is larger in size, if it has asymmetrical walls, if the myometrium is inflamed and thickened. It should be done in the second half of the cycle. An endovaginal examination (by inserting a vaginal probe) is more precise and is often performed. This will also allow the detection of any associated pathologies (uterine fibroid etc...)
  • Pelvic MRI is the second-line examination. It is performed outside the cycle to complete the diagnosis.
  • Hysteroscopy or hysterosalpingography do not really have any added value, except in the case of an infertility or fertility assessment.
Many women discover that they have adenomyosis when they try to get pregnant.

What are the treatments for adenomyosis?

Treatments can only relieve the symptoms; there is no treatment that can completely cure the disease. It is advisable to consult with your doctor or health care professional to evaluate the treatments available.

Hormonal or medicinal treatment

Hormonal treatment aims to block ovulation and suppress menstruation to reduce pain and symptoms.

An adapted contraception such as the continuous pill which will stop menstruation allows the endometrium to atrophy. The same applies to the hormonal IUD, but be careful, the hormonal IUD is only useful in the case of adenomyosis, not external endometriosis. In fact, it can only be treated with an oral contraceptive that will block the functioning of the ovaries.

The results of the medical treatment are very variable, since bleeding and pain persist despite the treatment being taken properly. They are also considered in the event of a planned pregnancy.

It is possible to take progestins in utero or Gn-RH agonists in case of diffuse adenomyosis.

Surgical treatment

There are also surgical treatments. In the most extreme stages,hysterectomy, i.e. removal of the uterus, can be considered. This is a radical treatment with possible complications and for those who no longer wish to become pregnant. However, this surgical operation is only performed if the disease causes intense pain and very significant bleeding. However, if endometriosis is associated, a hysterectomy will unfortunately not be sufficient.

Are adenomyosis and infertility related?

In the case of a severe stage, this pathology can indeed prevent the implantation of the embryo. In fact, it is the inflammatory reaction and the thickening of the junction zone between the endometrium and the myometrium that will prevent the embryo from implanting.
In addition, the risk of miscarriage in an affected woman is doubled.
An MRI scan during the MAP (medically assisted reproduction) assessment can show the thickness of the junction zone between the endometrium and the uterine muscle tissue. Thickening is an indicator of a decrease in the success rate of embryo implantation.
Therefore, medication with GnRH analogues taken for 3 to 6 months increases the chances of getting pregnant.

Is it possible to suffer from adenomyosis and endometriosis?

In 6 to 20% of cases, the two are linked. It is quite possible to suffer from both at the same time. But a woman can have adenomyosis without endometriosis and vice versa. Each woman and each degree of damage is different, and this is what complicates the diagnosis.


FAQs on adenomyosis

Why does adenomyosis hurt?

The migration of uterine lining cells within the uterine muscle tissue causes pain, especially during menstruation, since these uterine cells are under hormonal influence, and hormones fluctuate during the cycle.

Is adenomyosis a cancer?

No, it is not cancer! It is a gynecological pathology that is characterized by a migration of uterine mucosa directly into the myometrium. It is an endometriosis inside the uterus.

Can adenomyosis disappear?

There are solutions to reduce the symptoms, such as taking oral contraceptives, drug treatments or surgery. These different treatments reduce the symptoms, but do not cure it permanently.

How can Adenomyosis be treated naturally?

When suffering from this condition, external factors can play a key role in relieving pain and symptoms. One such factor is diet. Indeed, adopting a non-inflammatory diet helps to calm the inflammation of endometrial cells, which are under the influence of the cycle and hormones.

You will also like:

Adénomyose utérine : définition, symptômes, traitements

Vous connaissez sûrement l’endométriose, mais connaissez-vous l’adénomyose ? Cette maladie en est une forme extrêmement douloureuse et très handicapante pour le quotidien des femmes qui en souffrent, bien que ce soit une pathologie bénigne (n’engageant pas le pronostic vital).

 

Qu'est-ce que l'adénomyose ?

Elle se définit comme une forme d'endométriose interne à l’utérus. Elle est due à une malformation de la zone de jonction entre la muqueuse qui tapisse l’utérus (l’endomètre) et le muscle de la paroi utérine (le myomètre). Ce qui va provoquer des infiltrations de cellules de l’endomètre à l’intérieur de celui, ce qui épaissit le volume de l’utérus. L’infiltration peut être légère ou profonde (donc plus douloureuse). Cette pathologie touche environ 11 à 13% des femmes en âge de procréer, généralement celles de 35 à 40 ans (dans 25% des cas). Elles peuvent à la fois souffrir d’une endométriose externe, et d’une adénomyose.
C’est une pathologie qui est assez fréquente et heureusement bénigne. Dans le sens où elle n’engage pas le pronostic vital de la personne qui en souffre. En revanche, il y a certaines formes qui peuvent se révéler très douloureuses au point d’handicaper le quotidien des femmes qui en souffrent.
Cette affection liée à la gynécologie peut prendre plusieurs formes. Elle peut être :
diffuse, c’est-à-dire qu’il va y avoir de nombreux foyers éparpillés sur l’ensemble du myomètre. C’est le type le plus sévère et le plus difficile à traiter.
focale, c’est-à-dire qu’il y a uniquement quelques foyers, localisés dans une partie précise de l’utérus
externe, quand c’est l’endométriose pelvienne profonde qui vient migrer dans le myomètre

 

Quelles différences entre endométriose et adénomyose ?

Même si dans plusieurs cas, les deux sont liés, et qu’elles possèdent des points communs, au niveau des symptômes et par le fait que cette maladie soit le résultat d’une migration des cellules de l’endomètre vers d’autres parties du corps.

L'endométriose est extra-utérine

Elle se caractérise par une migration des cellules de l’endomètre, mais à l’extérieur de l’utérus : vers la vessie, les ligaments utéro-sacrés, les ovaires, le rectum, et encore bien d’autres parties du corps.

L'adénomyose est intra-utérine

L’adénomyose est le résultat d’une migration des cellules de l'endomètre, mais directement dans le tissu musculaire utérin, créant des lésions.

Quelles sont les causes de l'adénomyose utérine ?

On peine encore beaucoup à connaître les causes exactes de son développement. On retrouve cette maladie chez les femmes qui ont eu plusieurs grossesses, ou chez celles qui ont un endomètre très développé (hyperplasie endométriale). On ne parvient pas aujourd’hui à établir un lien entre des chirurgies ou césariennes et la survenue de l’adénomyose. Par contre, on retrouve un lien entre cette affection gynécologique et certaines patientes ayant eu des anomalies du placenta. La pause d’un stérilet n’a pas de lien.

Quels sont les symptômes de l'adénomyose ?

On estime que dans 2 cas sur 3, elle est asymptomatique. Mais lorsqu’elle ne l’est pas, on retrouve ces symptômes là :
  • Ménorragies : ce sont des règles très abondantes et longues, qui durent plus de 7 jours, où les patientes perdent énormément de sang. Les femmes atteintes d’adénomyose souffrent de ménorragies dans 50% des cas.
  • Dysménorrhées : ce sont des menstruations douloureuses, on estime qu’elles touchent 30% des patientes atteintes
  • Les métrorragies, qui sont des pertes de sang en dehors du flux menstruel. On les rencontre dans 20% des cas.
  • Une douleur pendant les rapports sexuels (dyspareunie)
  • Une sensation de pesanteur dans le bas-ventre

Comment diagnostiquer une adénomyose ?

Le diagnostic se fait par des examens d’imagerie, après un examen clinique par votre gynécologue. Par ailleurs, on est aujourd’hui en mesure de déterminer la profondeur de l’atteinte et la présence et localisation des cellules ayant migré. Il existe plusieurs techniques :
  • L’échographie permet de voir si l’utérus est plus gros au niveau de sa taille, s’il présente des parois asymétriques, si le myomètre est enflammé et épaissi. Elle doit être réalisée en deuxième partie du cycle. Un examen endovaginal (par introduction d’une sonde vaginale) est plus précis, c'est souvent ce qui est réalisé. Cela va aussi permettre de détecter les éventuelles pathologies associées (un fibrome utérin etc…)
  • L’IRM pelvienne est l’examen de deuxième intention. Elle est réalisée en dehors du cycle, pour compléter le diagnostic.
  • L’hystéroscopie ou l’hystérosalpingographie n’ont pas vraiment de valeur ajoutée, sauf dans le cas d’un bilan d’infertilité ou de fertilité.
En effet, beaucoup de femmes découvrent qu’elles ont de l’adénomyose lorsqu’elles essaient de tomber enceinte.

Quels sont les traitements de l'adénomyose ?

Les traitements permettent uniquement de soulager les symptômes, il n’y a aujourd’hui pas de traitement permettant d’en guérir totalement. Il est souhaitable de se rapprocher du corps médical, son médecin traitant ou son professionnel de santé pour évaluer les traitements.

Traitement hormonal ou médicamenteux

Le traitement hormonal a pour objectif de bloquer l'ovulation et de supprimer les règles pour réduire la douleur et les symptômes.

Une contraception adaptée comme la pilule en continu qui va arrêter les menstruations permet d’atrophier l’endomètre. Même chose pour le DIU hormonal, mais attention, le DIU hormonal n’est utile qu’en cas d’adénomyose, et non d'endométriose externe. En effet, elle ne peut être traitée que par un contraceptif oral qui va bloquer le fonctionnement des ovaires.

Le traitement médicamenteux à des résultats très variables puisque des saignements et des douleurs perdurent malgré que le traitement soit bien pris. Ils sont également envisagés en cas de projet de grossesse.

Il est possible de prendre des progestatifs in utero ou agonistes du Gn-RH, en cas d’adénomyose diffuse

Traitement chirurgical

Il existe aussi des traitements chirurgicaux. Dans les stades les plus extrêmes l’hystérectomie, c’est-à-dire l’ablation de l’utérus, peut être envisagée. C’est un traitement radical avec des complications éventuelles et pour celles qui ne souhaitent plus de grossesse. Cette opération chirurgicale n’est en revanche effectuée que si la maladie provoque des douleurs intenses et saignements très importants. Mais, si une endométriose est associée, l’hystérectomie ne sera malheureusement pas suffisante.

Est-ce que l'adénomyose et l'infertilité sont liés ?

En cas de stade sévère, cette pathologie peut en effet empêcher l’implantation de l’embryon. En fait, c'est la réaction inflammatoire et l'épaississement de la zone de jonction entre l'endomètre et le myomètre qui va empêcher l’embryon de s’implanter.
Par ailleurs, le risque de fausse couche chez une femme atteinte est multiplié par deux.
Un IRM lors du bilan de PMA (procréation médicalement assistée) permet de voir l’épaisseur de la zone de jonction entre l’endomètre et le tissu musculaire utérin. L'épaississement est un indicateur de la diminution du taux de réussite d'implantation de l'embryon.
Alors, un traitement médicamenteux avec des analogues de la Gn-RH pris pendant 3 à 6 mois favorisent les chances de tomber enceinte.

Est-il possible de souffrir d'adénomyose et d'endométriose ?

Dans 6 à 20% des cas, les deux sont liées. Il est tout à fait possible de souffrir des deux à la fois. Mais, une femme peut être atteinte d’adénomyose sans endométriose et inversement. Chaque femme et chaque degré d’atteinte est différent, c’est d’ailleurs cela qui complique le diagnostic.


La FAQ de l’adénomyose

Pourquoi l'adénomyose fait mal ?

La migration des cellules de la muqueuse utérine à l’intérieur du tissu musculaire utérin provoque une douleur, en particulier lors des menstruations, puisque ces cellules utérines sont sous influence hormonale, et les hormones fluctuent au cours du cycle.

Est-ce que l'adénomyose est un cancer ?

Non ce n’est pas un cancer ! C’est une pathologie gynécologique qui se caractérise par une migration de muqueuse utérine directement à l’intérieur du myomètre. C’est une endométriose interne à l’utérus.

Est-ce que l'adénomyose peut disparaître ?

Il existe des solutions pour réduire les symptômes, comme la prise de contraceptifs oraux, les traitements médicamenteux ou la chirurgie. Ces différents traitements permettent de réduire les symptômes, pas d’en guérir définitivement.

Comment soigner l'adénomyose naturellement ?

Lorsqu’on souffre de cette pathologie, des facteurs externes peuvent jouer des rôles clés dans le soulagement des douleurs et des symptômes. On pense notamment à l’alimentation. En effet, adopter une alimentation non-inflammatoire aide à calmer l’inflammation des cellules endométriales, qui sont sous l’influence du cycle et des hormones.

 

Vous aimerez aussi :