Nausea during and before menstruation: a premenstrual symptom

Many women experience discomfort and disorders related to their periods. Some have nausea and vomiting before and during their period. But why?

Are nausea and menstruation related?

The arrival of menstruation is suggestive of various symptoms such as stomach ache during menstruation. How is nausea a symptom of menstruation?

Doctors don't really explain why or how menstrual flow and nausea are related, but it's likely that the significant hormonal changes that occur in our bodies create the urge to vomit in addition to PMS.

Why does menstruation cause nausea and vomiting?

Menstruation can cause nausea and vomiting. Hormonal changes with the drop in progesterone and estrogen can cause digestive problems. The main cause is pain. Indeed, under the effect of the close contractions of the uterus, the oxygen supply in the muscles is less important what causes a tightening of the zone and pains present in the lower part of the belly, the back and the thighs.
Some women may also experience nausea and digestive problems during ovulation.

An excess of prostaglandin

The important secretion of prostaglandin encourages and favors the contractions of the uterus which will be necessary to expel the unfertilized endometrium during the menstrual cycle. If the body manufactures a large quantity of them, the contractions of the uterus will be greater and more frequent and cause pain which is responsible for discomfort, pain and discomfort during the period!
In addition, prostaglandins are not necessarily present in the uterus and will sometimes end up in the digestive tract, resulting in transit problems, diarrhea and nausea.

A strong pain linked to menstruation

Different causes can cause pain during menstruation and can lead to nausea before and during menstruation:
Catamenial migraines are headaches that appear before menstruation and last until the 2nd or 3rd day of the period. They can cause dizziness, nausea and vomiting.
Stomach pains and aches accentuated by the insertion of a copper IUD. Indeed, the copper IUD encourages painful and abundant flows
Endometriosis can cause painful periods to the point of vomiting.

Is it normal to feel nauseous before your period?

When the urge to vomit appears in the morning and/or evening and is triggered a few days before menstruation, it is probably part of PMS. After ovulation, sex hormones such as estrogen levels drop in the blood and symptoms such as a bloated belly, stomach pain, sore breasts and nausea appear. They will disappear a few days after the blood loss occurs.
If the nausea appears in the morning, before the menstrual bleeding arrives, it is possible that you are pregnant. In fact, vomiting is a sign of early pregnancy. In this case, don't hesitate to take a pregnancy test if you don't have your period a few days after the potential date of the end of your cycle (amenorrhea).
Certain diseases such as endometriosis or ovarian diseases can also cause nausea and digestive problems. The same applies to menopause.

Beware of the risk of pregnancy

As we saw before, nausea can be one of the symptoms of pregnancy! Here are some other symptoms that are close to PMS that could alert you:

  • Constipation, bloating and flatulence,
  • Migraines and back pain,
  • Mood swings,
  • Cramps in the lower abdomen and legs,
  • Nausea and vomiting,
  • Significant fatigue.

An absence of menstruation or amenorrhea is also one of the major signs of pregnancy in women and should alert you! If in doubt, consult your doctor and take a pregnancy test.

How to reduce nausea during and before your period?

There are several methods to prevent this discomfort as menstruation approaches. Let's discover them together!

A healthy diet and good hydration

Overall, you should eat foods that you can tolerate during this menstrual period! Here are some diet tips to follow to reduce nausea:

  • Don't get up too fast on an empty stomach: snack on a small snack when you wake up when you get out of bed slowly
  • Avoid foods that are too rich, too fatty or dishes with sauce: prefer simple foods, such as pasta, rice, potatoes, nuts or healthy proteins
  • Don't eat foods that taste or smell too strong (spices, garlic...) and ventilate when you cook so that cooking smells are not too unpleasant
  • Drink regularly! Ginger infusions are also known to relieve the stomach

Bonus: peppermint essential oil

Peppermint essential oil is also known to soothe nausea, motion sickness and vomiting during menstruation in general. You can consume it orally on a small sugar cube: ask your pharmacist for the dosage adapted to your situation.

Taking medication

When nausea systematically leads to vomiting and does not stop when the stomach is empty, it is possible to have anti-emetic drugs prescribed. Some metopimazine-based medications are available over the counter for short-term treatment, but when symptoms persist outside of menstruation, it is important to seek medical advice, especially if symptoms are accompanied by fever. An adapted treatment, under the advice of your doctor or gynecologist, can help you get better.

Rest and limit stress

In general, take it easy and avoid shaking your stomach too much during your period! Stress is responsible for an increase in gastric acids in the stomach, which can cause ulcers, nausea, vomiting and bloating. High anxiety, a common symptom of premenstrual syndrome, can also lead to nausea. Avoid stressful situations as soon as possible to avoid reinforcing this condition. Focus on meditative activities, such as relaxation, and make sure you get enough sleep.

Nausea during menstruation FAQs

Why do I feel nauseous during my period?

Nausea is a common symptom of premenstrual syndrome and can even continue during your period. Uterine contractions and hormonal changes upset the natural balance of your stomach, which can then play tricks on you. These are the main causes of nausea.

How to get rid of nausea during your period?

Several methods exist to relieve these cramps and nausea such as adopting a healthy diet, which does not disgust you, taking anti-emetic medication for the most persistent cases. In general, rest, avoid stress and situations that can make you anxious. Take care of your health! If nausea is too disabling on a daily basis, consult your doctor who will help you find the potential causes of this disorder!

You may also like:

Nausées pendant et avant les règles : un symptôme prémenstruel

Beaucoup de femmes connaissent des inconforts et troubles liés à leurs règles. Certaines ont pendant leurs menstruations des nausées et des vomissements avant et pendant les règles. Mais pourquoi ?

 

Nausées et règles sont-elles liées ?

L’arrivée des menstruations est évocatrice de différents symptômes comme le mal de ventre pendant les règles. En quoi les nausées sont un symptôme des règles ?

Les médecins n’expliquent pas vraiment pourquoi ni comment le flux menstruel et l’état nauséeux sont liés mais il est probable que les changements hormonaux importants qui se produisent dans notre corps engendre, en plus du syndrome prémenstruel, des envies de vomissements.

Pourquoi les règles provoquent-elles des nausées et vomissements ?

Les menstruations peuvent provoquer des nausées et vomissements. Les changements hormonaux avec la chute de la progestérone et des œstrogènes peuvent provoquer des troubles digestifs. La principale cause est la douleur. En effet, sous l’effet des contractions rapprochées de l’utérus, l’apport en oxygène dans les muscles est moins important ce qui entraîne une crispation de la zone et des douleurs présentes dans le bas du ventre, le dos et les cuisses.
Certaines femmes peuvent aussi avoir des nausées et troubles digestifs pendant l’ovulation.

Un excès de prostaglandine

La sécrétion importante de prostaglandine encourage et favorise les contractions de l’utérus qui vont être nécessaires à l’expulsion de l’endomètre non fécondé pendant le cycle menstruel. Si le corps en fabrique en grande quantité, les contractions de l’utérus seront plus grandes et fréquentes et provoquent des douleurs qui sont responsables de mal-être, douleurs et malaises pendant les règles !
Par ailleurs, les prostaglandines ne sont pas forcément présentes dans l’utérus et vont parfois se retrouver dans les voies digestives avec pour conséquence, les problèmes de transit, de diarrhées et de nausées.

Une forte douleur liée aux règles

Différentes causes peuvent provoquer des douleurs pendant les périodes menstruelles et peuvent donner des nausées avant et pendant les menstruations :
Les migraines cataméniales sont des maux de tête qui apparaissent avant les menstruations et qui durent jusqu’au 2eme ou 3eme jour des règles. Elles peuvent provoquer des vertiges, un état nauséeux et des vomissements.
Les douleurs et maux de ventre accentuées par la pose d’un DIU en cuivre. En effet, le stérilet en cuivre favorise les flux douloureux et abondants
L'endométriose peut donner des règles douloureuses jusqu’à provoquer des vomissements.

Est-il normal d'avoir des nausées avant les règles ?

Quand l’envie de vomir apparaît le matin et/ou le soir et qu’elle se déclenche quelques jours avant les menstruations, elle fait sûrement partie du SPM. Après l’ovulation, les hormones sexuelles comme le taux d’oestrogènes, chutent dans le sang et des symptômes comme le ventre ballonné, les douleurs dans le ventre, les seins douloureux et les nausées apparaissent. Elles disparaîtront quelques jours après la survenue des pertes sanguines.
Dans le cas où les nausées apparaissent le matin, avant l’arrivée des saignements menstruels, il est possible que vous soyez enceinte. En effet, les vomissements sont le signe d’un début de grossesse. Dans ce cas là, n’hésitez pas à faire un test de grossesse si vous n’avez pas vos menstruations quelques jours après la date potentielle de votre fin de cycle (aménorrhée).
Certaines maladies comme l’endométriose ou maladies des ovaires peuvent aussi provoquer des nausées et troubles digestifs. Même chose pour la ménopause.

Attention au risque de grossesse

Comme nous l’avons vu juste avant, un état nauséeux peut être un des symptômes d’une grossesse ! Voici quelques autres symptômes qui se rapprochent du SPM qui pourraient vous alerter:

  • La constipation, des ballonnements et des flatulences,
  • Des migraines et douleurs dans le dos,
  • Des sautes d’humeur,
  • Des crampes dans le bas du ventre et dans les jambes,
  • Des nausées et vomissements,
  • Une fatigue importante.

Une absence de règles ou une aménorrhée est aussi un des signes majeurs de grossesse chez les femmes et doit vous alerter ! En cas de doute, consultez votre médecin et faites un test de grossesse.

Comment réduire les nausées pendant et avant les règles ?

Il existe plusieurs méthodes pour se prémunir de cet inconfort à l’approche des menstruations. Découvrons-les ensemble !

Une alimentation saine et une bonne hydratation

Globalement, il faut s’alimenter avec des aliments que vous tolérez pendant cette période menstruelle ! Voici quelques conseils d’alimentation à suivre pour réduire les états nauséeux :

  • Ne vous levez pas trop vite à jeun : grignoter au réveil au saut du lit un petit encas avant d’en sortir lentement
  • Évitez les aliments trop riches, trop gras ou les plats en sauce: préférez des aliments simples, comme les pâtes, le riz, la pomme de terre, des fruits à coque ou des protéines saines
  • Ne manger pas d'aliments au goût ou à l’odeur trop prononcés (épices, ail…) et aérez lorsque vous cuisinez pour que les odeurs de cuisine ne soient pas trop incommodantes
  • Buvez régulièrement ! Les infusions de gingembre sont également connus pour soulager l’estomac

En bonus : l'huile essentielle de menthe poivrée

L’huile essentielle de menthe poivrée est également connue dans son rôle pour apaiser les nausées, le mal des transports et les vomissements pendant les règles de manière générale. Vous pouvez la consommer par voie orale sur un petit morceau de sucre : rapprochez vous de votre pharmacien pour la posologie adaptée à votre situation.

La prise de médicaments

Lorsque les nausées débouchent systématiquement sur des vomissements et ne s’arrêtent pas lorsque l’estomac est vide, il est possible de vous faire prescrire des médicaments antiémétiques. Certains médicaments à base de métopimazine sont vendus sans ordonnance en pharmacie, pour les traitements de courte durée, mais lorsque les symptômes persistent en dehors des règles, il est important d’obtenir un avis médical, surtout si les symptômes s’accompagnent de fièvre. Un traitement adapté, sous l’avis de votre médecin ou gynécologue pourra vous aider à aller mieux.

Se reposer et limiter le stress

De manière générale, ménagez-vous et évitez de trop secouer votre estomac pendant vos menstruations ! Le stress est responsable d’une augmentation des acides gastriques présents dans l’estomac et qui peuvent causer ulcères, nausées, envie de vomir, ballonnements… Une forte anxiété, symptôme courant du syndrome prémenstruel, peut également déboucher sur un état nauséeux. Évitez donc les situations stressantes dès que possible pour ne pas renforcer cet état. Privilégiez les activités méditatives, comme la relaxation et veillez à respecter votre quota de sommeil.

 

La FAQ des nausées durant les règles

Pourquoi a-t-on la nausée pendant les règles ?

La nausée est un symptôme fréquent du syndrôme prémenstruel et peut même perdurer pendant les règles. Les contractions utérines et les variations hormonales ont raison de l’équilibre naturel de votre estomac qui peut alors vous jouer des tours. Ce sont donc les causes principales dans le cas des nausées.

Comment faire passer la nausée pendant les règles ?

Plusieurs méthodes existent pour soulager ces crampes et nausées comme adopter une alimentation saine, qui ne vous écœure pas, prendre des médicaments antiémétiques pour les cas les plus persistants. De manière générale, reposez-vous, évitez le stress et les situations qui peuvent vous rendre anxieuse. Prenez soin de votre santé ! Si les nausées sont trop handicapantes au quotidien, consultez votre médecin qui vous aidera à trouver les causes potentielles de ce trouble !

 

Vous aimerez aussi :