Bloated belly during menstruation: what causes bloating?

Who has never felt like putting on a few pounds and having a swollen lower abdomen as their period approaches? For many women, menstruation is a time of great hormonal changes. We explain why you feel bloated during menstrual bleeding!


Why is the belly swollen during menstruation?

The period of menstruation is often dreaded, it is possible to feel different disorders, headaches, migraines and chest pain. Some women will feel nausea and of course the famous stomach ache during their period.

A few days before your period, during PMS, it is possible to feel bloating and tightness in the lower abdomen.
These discomforts and bloated stomach during menstrual periods are manifested by:

  • Flatulence and gas that has a bad smell
  • Pain in the lower abdomen
  • Heaviness in the stomach
  • A noisy digestive tract!

The main causes of stomach pain during menstrual flow are hormones!
Certain diseases such as endometriosis can increase the swelling of the belly or make it last throughout the cycle. During menopause, it is also more common to be prone to bloating because of the hormonal change.

The onset of bloating before your period

A few days before the arrival of menstruation, after ovulation, the abdomen can start to expand. Contrary to what you may think at first, abdominal swelling does not come from the uterus but from your digestive system and your intestines :) Indeed, under the effect of hormones and in particular progesterone, the body relaxes and prepares itself for a possible pregnancy. This is a particular period of premenstrual syndrome.

Swollen belly and bloating during menstruation

Before menstruation, due to the increased production of progesterone, the muscular tissues around the intestine function at a slower pace. The intestinal transit then accumulates gas and stools. Some women are constipated and have stomach pain before their period.
Menstruation is a sign that theegg has not been fertilized, hormone levels drop and prostaglandins are released. They are responsible for the contractions of the uterus that lead to menstrual cramps in the first days of blood loss. During menstruation and on the action of the hormones that affect the colon, women can have diarrhea, farts and bloating.

The deflation of the belly after the period

Once menstruation has passed, the hormones will diminish and the intestines will return to normal function. The entire intestinal area will regain its tone. The abdominal girth should then begin to deflate a few days after the blood loss has stopped. If this is not the case, do not hesitate to contact a health professional who will also be able to tell you that there are no other reasons.

How can I avoid a bloated belly and reduce bloating during my period?

When it comes to menstruation and PMS, we are not all equal. To limit pain and aches in the abdomen during the week of your period, there are natural remedies and methods that do not require taking medication! Relaxation, meditation, relaxation, sports exercises, here are our best recommendations!

Reduce stress and anxiety

Stress and anxiety play a very important role on your well-being and your body. Stress affects pain management, muscle tension and therefore the digestive system.
How to reduce stress?

  • Physical activity is good for your mental health
  • Meditate and take time for yourself. Free your mind from worries and focus on the present moment and your breathing.
  • Get enough sleep! Fatigue increases adrenaline levels and therefore stress levels
  • Laugh! Release endorphins to reduce anxiety.
  • Socialize! Find comfort in interacting with people you feel comfortable with. This will help you secrete oxytocin, the love hormone!

Eat a healthy and varied diet

When you have pain in your belly and during your period, most women turn to comfort foods and dishes. Beware, this is not the right solution even if it is very tempting! To reduce discomfort during this period, food can have a positive effect on bloating.
Foods to focus on during your period, which will be like a natural treatment to relieve your bloating and painful cramps:

  • Eat as much fiber as possible , which promotes intestinal transit, limits water retention and at the same time has a satiety effect!
  • Favour soft, cooked vegetables that are easier to digest
  • Do not hesitate to consume vegetable soups
  • Drink a lot of water outside of meals, at least 1.5L per day.
  • Take vegetable charcoal which absorbs gas
  • Consume fennel which will help eliminate and feel lighter.

Foods to avoid to avoid bloating and abdominal pain:

  • All carbonated drinks and sparkling water
  • Chewing gum
  • Reduce sugars, especially fructose (fruit sugar)
  • Foods that ferment in the intestine such as dried vegetables, cabbage, celery, onions or raw vegetables, responsible for flatulence and intestinal gas

Taking care of yourself

When you have a swollen belly and abdominal pain, it's hard to feel good about your body. The ultimate trick to reducing stress, pain and feeling good is to take care of yourself. Taking care of yourself is not just about taking a hot bath once in a while. It is essential for your well-being and to feel good in your body. Taking care of yourself to reduce your pain is a life routine.
Easier said than done, but what are our tips for avoiding a rounded stomach during your period?

  • Get some rest when you feel tired or have a drop in energy.
  • Practice abdominal massages to activate blood circulation and promote digestion.
  • Do lymphatic drainage such as Renata França
  • Wear loose-fitting clothing that won't constrict the abdominal muscles and that you feel comfortable in.

If the discomfort is too great during certain phases of the menstrual cycle, consult your doctor, gynecologist or midwife!

Do some physical exercises

When you have a swollen lower abdomen during your period, sports can be a great ally in reducing pain, limiting water retention and improving blood circulation. Sport and physical activity will improve your bowel movements and strengthen your abdominal muscles.
Here are some exercises that can help you reduce bloating and get a flat stomach during your period:

  • Walk regularly and after each meal: 30 minutes of fast walking every day
  • Stretching, yoga, etc. to reduce muscle tension and stress levels
  • Belly breathing will naturally massage your intestines and improve your bowel movements. Breathing is also a natural treatment for pain, anxiety and many other problems! In addition, you can apply it at any time of your daily life.
  • Work on your abs to boost your transit and prevent bloating. Do deep abdominal exercises to stimulate your intestinal wall and facilitate your digestion during your period.
  • Twist to "spin" your bowels and relieve gas during menstruation. This will help your bowel function.

Period Belly Swelling FAQ

Does the belly swell before my period?

Before your period, it is possible that your belly swells. This is completely normal and is part of the various symptoms of menstruation and PMS. Indeed, under the action of hormones, your intestine and all the muscles around your intestinal transit slow down and do less work! This causes bloating, constipation and discomfort.

How to deflate the belly during the period?

To avoid or reduce abdominal pain related to bloating during menstrual bleeding, it is recommended to have a healthy, balanced diet, to practice regular physical activity to reduce stress and anxiety. Do not hesitate to take care of yourself during this period!

You will also like :

Ventre gonflé pendant les règles : quelles sont les causes des ballonnements ?

Qui n’a jamais eu l’impression de prendre quelques kilos et d’avoir le bas-ventre gonflé à l'approche de ses règles ? Les menstruations sont pour beaucoup de femmes des périodes de grands changements hormonaux. On vous explique pourquoi vous êtes ballonnée pendant les saignements menstruels !


Pourquoi le ventre est-il gonflé durant les règles ?

La période des menstruations est souvent redoutée, il est possible de ressentir différents troubles, des maux de tête, des migraines et des douleurs dans la poitrine. Certaines vont avoir des nausées et bien sûr le fameux mal au ventre pendant les règles.

Quelques jours avant la survenue de vos menstruations, pendant le SPM, il est possible de ressentir des ballonnements, des tiraillements dans le bas de l’abdomen.
Ces inconforts et l’estomac gonflé pendant les périodes menstruelles se manifestent par :

  • Des flatulences et des gaz qui ont une mauvaise odeur
  • Des douleurs dans le bas-ventre
  • Des lourdeurs dans l’estomac
  • Un tube digestif bruyant !

Les principales causes des maux de ventre pendant le flux menstruel sont les hormones !
Certaines maladies comme l’endométriose peuvent accentuer le gonflement du ventre ou le faire perdurer tout au long du cycle. Lors de la ménopause, il est aussi plus fréquent d’être sujette à des ballonnements à cause du changement hormonal.

Le début du ventre gonflé avant les règles

Quelques jours avant l’arrivée des menstruations, après l'ovulation, l’abdomen peut se mettre à se dilater. Contrairement à ce que vous pouvez penser en première intention, les gonflements abdominaux ne viennent pas de l’utérus mais de votre système digestif et de vos intestins :) En effet, sous l’effet des hormones et notamment de la progestérone, le corps se relâche, se détend et se prépare à une éventuelle grossesse. C’est une période particulière du syndrome prémenstruel.

Ventre gonflé et ballonnements pendant les règles

Avant les règles, sous l’effet de l’augmentation de la production de la progestérone, les tissus musculaires autour de l’intestin fonctionnent au ralenti. Le transit intestinal accumule alors des gaz et des selles. Certaines femmes sont constipées et ont des douleurs à l’estomac avant les menstruations.
Les règles sont le signe que l’ovule n’est pas fécondé, le taux d’hormones baisse et les prostaglandines sont libérés. Elles sont responsables des contractions de l’utérus qui entraînent des crampes menstruelles dans les premiers jours des pertes sanguines. Pendant les menstruations et sur l’action des hormones qui touchent le côlon, les femmes peuvent avoir des diarrhées, des pets et des ballonnements.

Le dégonflement du ventre après les règles

Une fois que les menstruations sont passées, les hormones vont diminuer et et les intestins vont se remettre à fonctionner à la normale. Toute la zone intestinale va retrouver sa tonicité. La sangle abdominale devrait alors commencer à se dégonfler quelques jours après la fin des pertes sanguines. Si ce n’est pas le cas, n’hésitez pas à contacter un professionnel de la santé qui pourra aussi vous indiquer qu’il n’y a pas d’autres raisons.

Comment éviter le ventre gonflé et réduire les ballonnements pendant les règles ?

Face aux règles et au SPM, nous ne sommes pas tous égaux. Pour limiter les douleurs et les maux à l’abdomen pendant la semaine de vos règles, il existe des remèdes et des méthodes naturelles, ne nécessitant pas de prise de médicaments ! Relaxation, méditation, détente, exercices sportifs, voici nos meilleures recommandations !

Réduire le stress et l'anxiété

Le stress et l’anxiété jouent un rôle très important sur votre bien-être et votre corps. Le stress joue sur la gestion de la douleur, la crispation des muscles et donc sur le système digestif.
Comment réduire son stress ?

  • Pratiquer une activité physique est bénéfique pour votre santé mentale
  • Méditez et prenez le temps pour vous. Libérez votre esprit, des soucis et concentrez vous sur le moment présent et votre respiration
  • Dormez suffisamment ! La fatigue augmente le taux d'adrénaline et donc le niveau de stress
  • Riez ! Libérer de l'endorphine pour réduire l'anxiété.
  • Socialisez-vous ! Trouvez du réconfort en échangeant avec des personnes avec qui vous vous sentez bien. Cela vous aidera à sécréter de l’ocytocine, l’hormone de l’amour !

Privilégier une alimentation saine et variée

Quand on a des douleurs dans le ventre et pendant les règles, la majorité des femmes se tournent vers des aliments et des plats réconfortants. Attention, ce n’est pas la bonne solution même si c’est très tentant ! Pour réduire son inconfort pendant cette période, l’alimentation peut avoir des effets positifs sur les ballonnements.
Les aliments à privilégier pendant vos règles, qui seront comme un traitement naturel pour soulager vos ballonnements et crampes douloureuses :

  • Manger le plus possible de fibres qui favorisent le transit intestinal, limitent la rétention d’eau et par la même occasion ont un effet de satiété !
  • Privilégier les légumes cuits et tendres qui auront plus de facilité à se digérer
  • N’hésitez pas à consommer des potages de légumes
  • Buvez beaucoup d’eau en dehors des repas, au moins 1,5L par jour.
  • Prenez du charbon végétal qui absorbe les gaz
  • Consommez du fenouil qui aidera à éliminer et à se sentir plus léger.

Les aliments à éviter pour éviter les ballonnements et douleurs abdominales :

  • Toutes les boissons gazeuses et les eaux pétillantes
  • Les chewing-gums
  • Réduisez les sucres et notamment le fructose (sucre des fruits)
  • Les aliments qui fermentent dans l’intestin comme les légumes secs, les choux, le céleri, les oignons ou les crudités, responsable de flatulences et de gaz intestinaux

Prendre soin de vous

Quand on a le ventre gonflé et qu’on a des douleurs à l’abdomen, difficile de se sentir bien dans son corps. L’astuce ultime pour réduire son stress, ses douleurs et se sentir bien c’est finalement de prendre soin de soi. Prendre soin de soi n’est pas juste le fait de prendre un bain chaud de temps en temps. C’est essentiel pour son bien-être et pour se sentir bien dans son corps. Prendre soin de soi pour réduire ses douleurs est une routine de vie.
Plus facile à dire qu’à faire mais alors quels sont nos conseils pour éviter d’avoir l’estomac arrondi pendant les règles :

  • Prenez du repos quand vous vous sentez fatiguée ou que vous avez une baisse d’énergie.
  • Pratiquez des massages abdominaux pour activer la circulation sanguine et favoriser la digestion.
  • Faite des drainages lymphatiques comme le Renata França
  • Portez des vêtements amples qui ne serreront pas la sangle abdominale et dans lesquels vous vous sentirez bien.

Si la gêne est trop importante pendant certaines phases du cycle menstruel, consultez votre médecin, gynécologue ou sage-femme !

Faire des exercices physiques

Quand on a le bas-ventre gonflé pendant les règles, le sport peut être un allié de choc pour réduire les douleurs, limiter la rétention d'eau et améliorer la circulation sanguine. Le sport et l’activité physique amélioreront votre transit, raffermira votre ceinture abdominale.
Voici quelques exercices qui pourront vous aider à réduire vos ballonnements et retrouver un ventre plat pendant les menstruations :

  • Marchez régulièrement et après chaque repas : 30 minutes de marche rapide tous les jours
  • Faites des étirements, pratiquez du yoga qui réduisent les tensions musculaires et votre niveau de stress
  • Respirez par le ventre qui massera naturellement vos intestins et améliorera votre transit intestinal. La respiration est aussi un traitement naturel contre les douleurs, l’anxiété et bien d’autres problèmes! En plus, vous pouvez l’appliquer à n’importe quel moment de votre quotidien.
  • Travaillez vos abdos pour relancer votre transit et prévenir les ballonnements. Faites des exercices de gainage pour travailler en profondeur votre sangle abdominale, qui stimuleront votre paroi intestinale et faciliteront votre digestion pendant les règles.
  • Faites des torsions pour “essorer” vos intestins et soulager les gaz pendant les menstruations. Vous aiderez ainsi à faire fonctionner votre transit.

 

La FAQ du ventre gonflé durant les règles

Est-ce que le ventre gonfle avant les règles ?

Avant les menstruations, il est possible que votre ventre gonfle. C’est tout à fait normal et ça fait partie des différents symptômes des règles et du SPM. En effet, sous l’action des hormones, votre intestin et tous les muscles autour de votre transit intestinal se ralentissent et font moins leur travail ! Cela provoque des ballonnements, de la constipation et de l'inconfort.

Comment dégonfler le ventre pendant les règles ?

Pour éviter ou diminuer les douleurs abdominales liées au ballonnements pendant les saignements menstruels, il est recommandé d’avoir une alimentation saine, équilibrée, de pratiquer une activité physique régulière pour réduire son stress et son anxiété. N’hésitez surtout pas à prendre soin de vous pendant cette période !

 

Vous aimerez aussi :