How to calculate your period and calendar of the menstrual cycle?

It is very common for women to wonder when their period will arrive. It can be for various reasons, such as, to organize their activities according to their cycle, for a baby project, to equip themselves with disposable or reusable sanitary protection.... So how can we reliably calculate the arrival of our menstruation?



How to calculate the date of your period?

Knowing the day of your period is both trivial and requires knowledge of the different phases of the menstrual cycle! To anticipate the arrival of your menstrual bleeding, you must first establish the average length of your cycle.

Determining the length of your menstrual cycle

A menstrual cycle starts on the 1st day of menstruation and ends the day before the next period.
In a simple way, it is enough to subtract the date of the first day of your last period from the day before your next period. It is preferable to repeat the operation on your last 3 cycles to obtain the average duration of your menstrual cycles.

Define your period and pregnancy calendar

It can sometimes be difficult to keep track of your menstrual periods and especially to remember all these dates on the calendar! Each woman is different, can have short, long, regular, irregular cycles... It is therefore useful to note down the dates of your menstrual losses, ovulation or any other change each month in a small notebook or paper menstrual calendar if you want to follow the occurrence of your monthly losses closely! Your general practitioner, gynecologist or health professional can also use an obstetric roulette to calculate this information in the context of a pregnancy!

Use a period application

A very practical method within reach of your smartphone is to use a period app to automatically track your period calendar and the day of your upcoming uterine bleeding and to better understand your symptoms throughout your cycle. There are plenty of menstrual apps on the market, it's up to you to choose the one that suits you best or to read our comparison! They all have their own specificities and some of them even go beyond the simple tracking of your period, offering features such as pill reminder,ovulation date, body temperature, ovulation calendar or pregnancy calendar... They all work on the same principle though: you just have to answer a few questions about yourself and your previous cycles.

Is it possible to calculate your period with an irregular cycle?

As we have seen, the menstrual cycle is calculated by subtracting the date of the day before the last period from the beginning of the previous one. But then, how to calculate its menstrual calendar when our cycle is particularly irregular and unpredictable?
For that, it is necessary to understand how the female cycle is divided. It is divided into three stages:

  • The follicular phase (before the release of the egg), lasts about 13 days
  • The ovulatory phase (release of the egg), lasts about 24 hours
  • The luteal phase (after the release), lasts about 14 days

On a classical cycle of 28 days, ovulation arrives on the 14th day, dividing the menstrual cycle in two. But in the case of a longer, shorter or irregular cycle, it is in fact the follicular phase that will last more or less time, the luteal phase does not vary, it lasts on average 14 days.
Thus, to know the day of your next menstrual flow when you have an irregular cycle, it can be useful to know how to spot your ovulation signs. You will then only need to add 14 days to this date to know your next menstrual flow.
The signs that indicate the approach of the ovulation period are the following:

  • Increase in your body temperature
  • Increased production of cervical mucus, with the texture of egg white
  • Stimulated sexual desire
  • Painful breasts or lower abdomen

All you have to do is pay attention to these symptoms and listen to your body to find your place in the cycle. Or use an ovulation test to confirm it! In the meantime, to prevent you from unpleasant surprises, you can wear menstrual panties as the fateful date approaches to be prepared for any eventuality.

When does ovulation occur during the menstrual cycle?

As we saw earlier, the female rhythm is made up of 3 phases, with ovulation generally occurring on the 14th day. This period corresponds to the moment when the ovary expels an egg and lasts only 16 to 32 hours. During sexual intercourse, the oocyte fuses with a spermatozoon and becomes an ovum, then a few days later an embryo that will nestle in the endometrium, the famous uterine wall. In the absence of fertilization, the uterus eliminates this mucous membrane, which causes the monthly blood loss.

For women who do not have a 28-day cycle, it is possible to know a posteriori their ovulation period by subtracting 14 days from the date of their last period. If an unprotected intercourse took place during this period, then it is possible that you are pregnant. You can then approach your health care professional for advice.

Is it possible to ovulate twice during the same cycle?

Although very rare, it is possible for both ovaries to produce an egg at the same time during the ovulation period. This is what gives rise to fraternal twins!
Be careful, however, this double ovulation is simultaneous and only occurs during the same window of opportunity, at the time of the ovulation period, which lasts about 16 to 32 hours. It is therefore not possible to have an ovulation on the 14th day of the cycle and a second ovulation several days later. If there can be a double ovulation, there is only oneovulatory phase per cycle!

Is it possible to get pregnant outside the ovulation period?

To put it simply: Yes, you must differentiate between the ovulation phase and your fertile period! Indeed, if ovulation only lasts 16 to 32 hours, theoocyte survives between 12 to 48 hours after its expulsion. Spermatozoa can survive up to 4 days in the body! It is therefore possible to have fertilizing intercourse a few days before or after the ovulation period itself, thus affecting the fertility window. Fertilization will then take place at the moment when the egg and the spermatozoon meet!

How does pregnancy affect the calculation of menstruation?

Pregnancy can impact the calculation of menstrual periods in two ways, which we will review.

At the beginning of the pregnancy

You have just become pregnant and in this case you observe a delay in your period. Pregnancy suppresses the menstrual flow because the endometrium becomes a soft nest in which the embryo implants. There is therefore no evacuation of the uterine lining and therefore no menstruation. A delay of more than a few days in your period should therefore alert you that a potential pregnancy has begun, especially if your cycle is regular!

After delivery

You have just given birth and in this case your period will not return until after you are back from childbirth. Right after the baby is born, you expel placental remains and other blood debris related to the pregnancy, the lochia, which can last 6 to 8 weeks. Then, the first post-delivery menstrual period can take place from 3 months to 18 months and more depending on whether or not you have been breastfeeding for a long time. These first periods are called the return of childbirth. The cycle will regularize itself afterwards to find your initial natural rhythm.


FAQ to calculate your period date

How to calculate the arrival of your period?

To calculate the arrival of your menstrual periods, you need to know how long your average menstrual cycle lasts: simply subtract the date of the day before your last period from the first day of your last period. Then add this number to the day of your last period to know thearrival of the next one!

How to know the date of my next period ?

You can calculate the arrival of your next period by hand or via an application. If you listen to your body, the symptoms of premenstrual syndrome will be able to guide you on the arrival of your menstrual losses (hormonal acne, chest pain, mood swings, cramps in the lower abdomen ...)

Does my period always come on the same date?

It is very variable and depends on each woman's cycle! Some women have a very regular cycle, while others have an irregular one. Stress, contraception and other factors can also influence the appearance of the flow.

What are the dangerous days of the menstrual cycle?

Calcul des règles et calendrier du cycle menstruel : comment faire ?

Il est très courant que les femmes se demandent quand leurs règles vont bien pouvoir arriver. Ce peut être pour des raisons diverses, comme, pour organiser ses activités en fonction de son cycle, pour un projet bébé, pour s’équiper en protection hygiéniques jetables ou réutilisables…. Alors comment peut-on calculer de façon fiable l’arrivée de ses menstruations ?



Comment calculer la date de ses règles ?

Connaître le jour de ses règles est à la fois trivial et nécessite en même temps une connaissance des différentes phases du cycle menstruel ! Pour anticiper l’arrivée de ses saignements menstruels, il faut d’abord établir la durée moyenne de son cycle.

Déterminer la durée de son cycle menstruel

Un cycle menstruel démarre au 1er jour des règles et se termine la veille des prochaines menstruations.

De manière assez simple, il suffit de soustraire la date du premier jour de ses dernières menstruations à la veille de celles du cycle d’avant. Il est préférable de répéter l’opération sur vos 3 derniers cycles pour obtenir la durée moyenne de vos cycles menstruels.

Définir son calendrier des règles et de la grossesse

Il peut être parfois complexe de suivre ses périodes menstruelles et surtout de se souvenir de toutes ces dates sur le calendrier ! Chaque femme est différente, peut avoir des cycles courts, longs, réguliers, irréguliers… Il est donc utile de noter ses dates de pertes menstruelles, voire d’ovulation ou tout autre changement chaque mois dans un petit carnet ou calendrier menstruel papier si l’on souhaite suivre la survenue de ses pertes mensuelles de près ! Votre médecin généraliste, gynécologue ou professionnel de santé pourra aussi s’aider d’une roulette obstétricale pour calculer ces informations dans le cadre d’une grossesse !

Utiliser une application de règles

Une méthode très pratique et à portée de smartphone est d’utiliser une application de règles pour tracker automatiquement son calendrier de règles et le jour de ses saignements utérins à venir et de mieux comprendre ses symptômes tout au long de son cycle. Il existe plein d’apps menstruelles sur le marché, à vous de choisir celle qui vous correspond le mieux ou de lire notre comparatif ! Elles ont toutes leurs spécificités et certaines vont même au-delà du simple suivi de ses règles, en proposant des fonctionnalités comme le rappel de la prise de pilule, la date d’ovulation, la température corporelle, un calendrier d’ovulation ou un calendrier de grossesse… Elles fonctionnent cependant sur le même principe : il vous suffit de répondre à quelques questions sur vous et vos cycles précédents.

Est-il possible de calculer ses règles avec un cycle irrégulier ?

Nous l’avons vu, le cycle menstruel se calcule en soustrayant la date de la veille des dernières règles au début des précédentes. Mais alors, comment calculer son calendrier menstruel lorsque notre cycle est particulièrement irrégulier et imprévisible ?
Pour cela, il faut bien comprendre comment se découpe le cycle féminin. Il est divisé en trois étapes :
  • La phase folliculaire (avant la libération de l’ovocyte), dure environ 13 jours
  • La phase ovulatoire (libération de celui-ci), dure environ 24 heures
  • La phase lutéale (après la libération), dure environ 14 jours
Sur un cycle classique de 28 jours, l’ovulation arrive au 14ème jour, divisant en deux le cycle menstruel. Mais dans le cas d’un cycle plus long, plus court ou irrégulier, c’est en fait la phase folliculaire qui va durer plus ou moins longtemps, la phase lutéale ne variant pas, elle dure en moyenne 14 jours.
Ainsi, pour connaître le jour de son prochain flux menstruel lorsqu’on a un cycle irrégulier, il peut être utile de savoir repérer ses signes d’ovulation. Il vous suffira alors de rajouter 14 jours à cette date pour connaître vos pertes menstruelles à venir.
Les signes qui indiquent l’approche de la période d’ovulation sont les suivants :
  • Augmentation de votre température corporelle
  • Production plus importante de glaire cervicale, à la texture du blanc d’oeuf
  • Désir sexuel stimulé
  • Seins ou bas-ventre douloureux
Il ne vous reste plus qu’à être attentive à ces symptômes et à l’écoute de votre corps pour vous situer dans le cycle. Ou d’utiliser un test d’ovulation pour le confirmer ! En attendant, pour vous prévenir des mauvaises surprises, vous pouvez porter à l’approche de la date fatidique une culotte menstruelle pour être parée à toute éventualité.

Quand se déroule l'ovulation durant le cycle menstruel ?

Nous l’avons vu précédemment, le rythme féminin est composé de 3 phases, l’ovulation intervenant en général au 14ème jour. Cette période correspond au moment où l’ovaire expulse un ovocyte et ne dure que 16 à 32 heures. Lors d’un rapport sexuel, l’ovocyte fusionne avec un spermatozoïde et devient un ovule puis quelques jours plus tard un embryon qui viendra se nicher dans l’endomètre, cette célèbre paroi utérine. En l’absence de fécondation, l’utérus élimine cette muqueuse, ce qui provoque les pertes sanguines mensuelles.

Pour les femmes qui n’ont pas un cycle de 28 jours, il est possible de connaître a posteriori sa période d’ovulation en soustrayant 14 jours à la date de ses dernières règles. Si un rapport non protégé a eu lieu à cette période, alors il est possible que vous soyez enceinte. Vous pouvez alors vous rapprocher de votre professionnel de santé pour des conseils.

Est-il possible d'ovuler deux fois durant le même cycle ?

Bien que très rare, il est possible que les deux ovaires produisent en même temps un ovocyte chacun durant la période d’ovulation. C’est ce qui donne les faux jumeaux !
Attention cependant, cette double ovulation est simultanée et ne se produit que durant la même fenêtre de tir, au moment de la période d’ovulation, qui dure 16 à 32h environ. Il n’est donc pas possible d’avoir une ovulation au 14ème jour du cycle puis une deuxième ovulation plusieurs jours après. S’il peut y avoir une double ovulation, il n’y a en revanche qu’une phase ovulatoire par cycle !

Peut-on tomber enceinte en dehors de la période d'ovulation ?

Pour faire simple : Oui ! Il faut en fait différencier la phase d’ovulation de votre période de fécondité ! En effet, si l’ovulation ne dure que 16 à 32 heures, l’ovocyte survit entre 12 à 48h après son expulsion. Les spermatozoïdes quant à eux, peuvent survivre jusqu’à 4 jours dans l’organisme ! Il est donc possible d’avoir eu un rapport fécondant quelques jours avant ou après la période même d’ovulation, jouant ainsi sur la fenêtre de fertilité. La fécondation s’effectuera alors au moment où l’ovule et le spermatozoïde se rencontreront !

Comment une grossesse impacte-t-elle le calcul des règles ?

Une grossesse peut impacter le calcul des périodes menstruelles de deux façons, nous allons les passer en revue.

Au début de la grossesse

Vous venez de tomber enceinte et dans ce cas vous observez un retard de règles. La grossesse supprime le flux menstruel puisque l’endomètre devient un nid douillet dans lequel l’embryon s’implante. Il n’y a donc pas d’évacuation de cette muqueuse utérine et donc pas de menstruation. Un retard de règles de plus de quelques jours doit donc vous alerter qu’une potentielle grossesse a démarré, surtout si votre cycle est régulier !

Après l’accouchement

Vous venez d’accoucher et dans ce cas vos pertes menstruelles ne reviendront qu’après votre retour de couches. Juste après la mise au monde de bébé, vous expulsez des restes placentaires et autres débris sanguins liés à la grossesse, les lochies, qui peuvent durer 6 à 8 semaines. Ensuite, les premières menstruations post-accouchement pourront avoir lieu 3 mois à 18 mois et plus en fonction d’un allaitement prolongé ou non par exemple. Ces premières règles s’appellent le retour de couches. Le cycle se régularisera par la suite pour retrouver votre rythme naturel initial.


La FAQ pour calculer sa date de règles

Comment calculer l'arrivée de ses règles ?

Pour calculer l’arrivée de ses périodes menstruelles, il convient de savoir combien de temps dure son cycle menstruel moyen : il suffit de soustraire la date de la veille des dernières règles au premier jour des précédentes. Il suffit ensuite d’additionner ce chiffre au jour de vos dernières périodes menstruelles pour connaître l’arrivée de celles à venir !

Comment connaître la date de mes prochaines règles ?

Vous pouvez tout à fait calculer à la main ou via une application l’arrivée de vos prochaines règles. Si vous êtes à l’écoute de votre corps, les symptômes du syndrome prémenstruel pourront vous aiguiller sur l’arrivée de vos pertes menstruelles (acné hormonale, douleurs à la poitrine, sautes d’humeur, crampes au bas ventre…)

Est-ce que les règles arrivent toujours à la même date ?

C’est très variable et cela dépend du cycle de chaque femme ! Certaines sont réglées de façon particulièrement régulières, pour d’autres, le cycle est irrégulier. Le stress, la contraception et d’autres facteurs peuvent aussi influer sur l’apparition du flux.

Quels sont les jours dangereux du cycle menstruel ?