How long does a menstrual panty last?

More and more popular, the menstrual panties seduce by their reusable character. For how long can we use it? How longdoes it last? We explain you the signs to spot, indicating when it is necessary to change it.

On average, the life of a menstrual panty can go from 2 to 7 years. It depends on the models, but also on their quality. The more a menstrual panty is made of well-chosen materials, the longer it can be used. At Elia, for example, our models have an average life span of 5 to 7 years. If you want to enjoy them for as many years as possible, you should take care of them by maintaining them daily.

How to choose a long-lasting menstrual panty?

To be able to use your menstrual panties for a maximum of time, it is necessary to choose them well. It must be of quality, but also adapted to your needs.

Natural and non-toxic materials of manufacture

To begin with, find out about the materials used in the manufacture of your menstrual panties. At Elia, we choose quality materials. There are several certifications to confirm the societal and environmental commitments:

  • Organic cotton: the part in contact with the skin, but also the outer layer of our menstrual panties are in organic cotton without toxins. That brings an incomparable softness.
  • Eucalyptus fibers (Tencel): it is about the absorbing part retaining the moisture, but also the odors to offer a feeling of freshness all the day;
  • The PUL: it is the waterproof layer of our period panties. It retains liquids while offering optimal ventilation.

An absorption capacity adapted to your menstrual flow

Another essential point is that your period panties must be adapted to your needs, i.e. your flow. Models are available for light, intermediate or heavy flows. We also offer models designed to accompany women during their postpartum period in case of heavy discharge, urine leakage or bleeding.

You may also find it useful to have several pairs of menstrual underwear to alternate between at different times of the menstrual cycle. Your absorbent underwear will last longer since you will use several of them, they wear out less quickly.

Is the menstrual panties profitable?

Thanks to its lifespan extending over several years, the menstrual panties are very profitable. A savings calculator allows you to evaluate when the purchase of your menstrual panties is profitable compared to the use of disposable sanitary protections.

In addition to being very economical, a menstrual panty will also be ecological. On average, the use of a menstrual panties during 5 to 7 years will avoid you to use approximately 2 500 disposable sanitary protections. However, the latter take between 500 and 800 years to decompose: a nice gesture for the planet but also for your wallet.

If you take care of it, it is possible to extend the life of your menstrual panties. It will be able to accompany you during 5 to 7 years during your periods. It offers you comfort and efficiency thanks to a careful design with quality products.


How to lengthen the life of a menstrual panties?

Fortunately, there are some good gestures to know to optimize the life of its menstrual panties. They are very easy to apply daily.

To wash correctly its panties of rule

First step impossible to circumvent, the washing of its menstrual panties. It is essential to follow well the recommendations provided by the manufacturer at the time of the purchase of your underwear:

  • The rinsing: rinse the menstrual panties with cold water after each use to eliminate the blood. No hot water, it could fix the blood on the fabric;
  • The washing: wash the panties with the machine with 30° maximum not to damage the fibres. You can also wash your period panties by hand if you wish;
  • Protection: use a washing net to protect the fabric, especially if there is lace. This will avoid rubbing with other clothes;
  • Laundry: choose a suitable laundry detergent, without softener or bleach, that does not contain chemicals. We also advise against glycerin-based detergents, a greasy agent that can clog the pores of the underwear fibers. You can turn to a specially designed detergent;
  • The drying: make dry the menstrual panties with the free air quite flat, especially not with the tumble dryer or close to a source of heat.

If some odors persist after the washing, you can add drops of essential oil of lemon or tea tree to the antibacterial and antiseptic properties to eliminate them.

Do not wear menstrual panties for more than 12 hours at a time

Period panties can be worn for 12 hours straight, including overnight, but this should not be exceeded. The panty needs to be rinsed after a while to prevent the pores of the fibers from clogging. It will also be more comfortable for you to change your protection after this time.

Do not bathe with a traditional menstrual panty

Even if they are absorbent with waterproof parts, menstrual panties are not made for bathing. Especially in hot water. For your bathings, you can turn to a menstrual bathing suit 1 piece or 2 pieces.


The different reasons to recycle your menstrual panties

Like any other garment, your menstrual panties can end up being damaged over the years. It is thus important to recognize certain signs indicating that it is time to change it.

Menstrual panties are no longer absorbent

If you find that your period panties are not absorbing blood, white discharge or bladder weakness as well as they used to, it's a sign. A menstrual panty can be worn for 12 hours. If you need to change them more often, it may be a sign to throw them away. Before you do, you can use baking soda to restore its absorbent properties:

  • Rinse your period panties completely: there should be no blood left;
  • Fill a container with hot water and immerse it in it;
  • Add a spoonful of percarbonate of soda and mix;
  • Leave it overnight, the next day, wash the panties in the machine.

The percarbonate of soda makes it possible to unclog the pores of the fibres of the panties. These being unblocked, they find their capacity of absorption.

Seams are loosened

To be effective, your period panties must stay in place and not move. Quality seams that do not come apart are therefore essential. If you feel the seams loosening on your models, it may mean they are at the end of their life. You can try to mend them, but you will have to be careful to avoid unpleasant surprises.

The panties are no longer comfortable to wear

In this case, the period panties must be replaced. It must be comfortable to wear to offer you maximum well-being, especially in a period like menstruation.




You will also like:

Quelle est la durée de vie d’une culotte menstruelle ?

De plus en plus populaire, la culotte menstruelle séduit par son caractère réutilisable. Pendant combien de temps peut-on s’en servir ? Quelle est sa durée de vie ? Nous vous expliquons les signes à repérer, indiquant quand il faut la changer.

 

Combien de temps dure une culotte menstruelle ?

En moyenne, la durée de vie d’une culotte menstruelle peut aller de 2 à 7 ans. Cela dépend des modèles, mais aussi de leur qualité. Plus une culotte de règles sera confectionnée dans des matériaux bien choisis, plus longtemps elle pourra être utilisée. Chez Elia par exemple, nos modèles ont une durée de vie moyenne de 5 à 7 ans. Si vous voulez en profiter pendant un maximum d’années, il convient d’en prendre soin en les entretenant au quotidien.

Comment choisir une culotte de règle résistante au temps ?

Pour pouvoir utiliser sa culotte menstruelle un maximum de temps, il faut bien la choisir. Elle doit être de qualité, mais aussi adaptée à vos besoins.

Des matériaux de fabrication naturels et non toxiques

Pour commencer, renseignez-vous bien sur les matériaux utilisés dans la confection de votre culotte de règles. Chez Elia, nous choisissons des matières de qualité. Il existe plusieurs certifications pour confirmer les engagements sociétal et environnemental :

  • Coton bio : la partie en contact avec la peau, mais aussi la couche extérieure de nos culottes menstruelles sont en coton bio sans toxines. Cela apporte une douceur inégalable.
  • Fibres d’eucalyptus (Tencel) : il s’agit de la partie absorbante retenant l’humidité, mais également les odeurs pour offrir une sensation de fraîcheur toute la journée ;
  • Le PUL : c’est la couche imperméable de nos culottes de règles. Elle retient les liquides tout en offrant une aération optimale.

Une capacité d’absorption adaptée à son flux menstruel

Autre point essentiel, votre culotte de règles doit être adaptée à vos besoins, c’est-à-dire à votre flux. Les modèles sont disponibles pour flux légers, intermédiaires ou abondants. Nous proposons également des modèles prévus pour accompagner les femmes durant leur post-partum en cas de pertes abondantes, de fuites urinaires ou de saignements.

Il pourra par ailleurs être utile d’avoir plusieurs culottes menstruelles afin d’alterner selon les moments du cycle des règles. Vos sous-vêtements absorbants dureront ainsi plus longtemps puisque vous en utiliserez plusieurs, ils s'usent moins vite.

La culotte menstruelle est-elle rentable ?

Grâce à sa durée de vie s’étendant sur plusieurs années, la culotte de règles est très rentable. Un calculateur d'économie vous permet d’évaluer à quel moment l’achat de votre culotte menstruelle est rentabilisée par rapport à l’utilisation de protections hygiéniques jetables.

En plus d’être très économique, une culotte de règles sera également écologique. En moyenne, l’usage d’une culotte menstruelle pendant 5 à 7 ans vous évitera d’utiliser environ 2 500 protections hygiéniques jetables. Or, ces dernières mettent entre 500 à 800 ans à se décomposer : un beau geste pour la planète mais aussi pour votre portefeuille.

Si vous en prenez soin, il est possible d’allonger la durée de vie de votre culotte menstruelle. Elle pourra vous accompagner pendant 5 à 7 ans lors de vos règles. Elle vous offre confort et efficacité grâce à une conception soignée avec des produits de qualité.

Comment allonger la durée de vie d’une culotte menstruelle ?

Heureusement, il existe quelques bons gestes à connaître pour optimiser la durée de vie de sa culotte menstruelle. Ils sont très faciles à appliquer au quotidien.

Laver correctement sa culotte de règle

Première étape incontournable, le lavage de sa culotte menstruelle. Il est indispensable de bien suivre les recommandations fournies par le fabricant lors de l’achat de votre sous-vêtement :

  • Le rinçage : rincez la culotte menstruelle à l’eau froide après chaque usage pour éliminer le sang. Pas d’eau chaude, elle pourrait fixer le sang sur le tissu ;
  • Le lavage : lavez la culotte à la machine à 30° maximum pour ne pas abîmer les fibres. Vous pouvez également laver votre culotte de règles à la main si vous le souhaitez ;
  • La protection : utilisez un filet de lavage pour protéger le tissu, notamment s’il y a de la dentelle. Cela évitera les frottements avec les autres vêtements ;
  • La lessive : choisissez une lessive adaptée, sans adoucissant ou agent blanchissant, ne contenant pas de produits chimiques. Nous déconseillons également les lessives à base de glycérine, un agent gras pouvant boucher les pores des fibres du sous-vêtement. Vous pouvez vous tourner vers une lessive spécialement conçue ;
  • Le séchage : faites sécher la culotte menstruelle à l’air libre bien à plat, surtout pas au sèche-linge ou proche d’une source de chaleur.

Si quelques odeurs persistent après le lavage, vous pouvez ajouter des gouttes d’huile essentielle de citron ou d’arbre à thé aux propriétés antibactériennes et antiseptiques pour les éliminer.

Ne pas porter la culotte menstruelle plus de 12 heures d’affilée

Une culotte de règles peut être portée pendant 12 heures de suite, y compris la nuit, mais il convient de ne pas dépasser cette durée. La culotte a besoin d’être rincée au bout d’un certain temps pour empêcher les pores des fibres de s’encrasser. Il sera par ailleurs plus confortable pour vous de changer de protection au bout de ce laps de temps.

Ne pas se baigner avec une culotte menstruelle classique

Même si elles sont absorbantes possédant des parties imperméables, les culottes de règles ne sont pas faites pour se baigner. Surtout dans de l’eau chaude. Pour vos baignades, vous pouvez vous tourner vers un maillot de bain menstruel 1 pièce ou 2 pièces.

Les différentes raisons de recycler sa culotte menstruelle

Comme tout vêtement, votre culotte menstruelle peut finir par s’abîmer au fil des années. Il est donc important de reconnaître certains signes indiquant qu’il est temps de la changer.

La culotte menstruelle n’est plus absorbante

Si vous trouvez que votre culotte de règles absorbe moins bien le sang, vos pertes blanches ou vos fuites urinaires, c’est un signe. Une culotte menstruelle peut être portée durant 12 heures. Si vous devez la changer plus souvent, cela peut indiquer qu’il faut la jeter. Avant d’en arriver là, vous pouvez utiliser du percarbonate de soude pour restaurer ses propriétés absorbantes :

  • Rincez complètement votre culotte de règles : il ne doit plus y avoir de sang ;
  • Remplissez un récipient d’eau chaude puis plongez-la dedans ;
  • Ajoutez une cuiller de percarbonate de soude puis mélangez ;
  • Laissez poser pendant la nuit, le lendemain, lavez la culotte à la machine.

Le percarbonate de soude permet de désincruster les pores des fibres de la culotte. Ceux-ci étant débouchés, ils retrouvent leur capacité d’absorption.

Les coutures se relâchent

Pour être efficace, votre culotte de règles doit tenir bien en place et ne pas bouger. Des coutures de qualité ne se défaisant pas sont alors indispensables. Si vous sentez un relâchement de ces dernières sur vos modèles, cela peut signifier qu’elles sont en fin de vie. Vous pouvez essayer de les raccommoder, mais il faudra être vigilante pour éviter les mauvaises surprises.

La culotte n’est plus agréable à porter

Dans ce cas, le remplacement de la culotte de règles s’impose. Elle doit être confortable à porter pour vous offrir un maximum de bien-être, surtout dans une période comme celle des menstruations.

 

Vous aimerez aussi :